Perth - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by aquariusgal

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Awesome!! Very additictive ......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Was looking for a way to use up a bunch of extra hot dog buns from a BBQ and came across this recipe- turned out great! One trick I used was to pop the torn up buns into the oven for 5 minutes to crisp them up a bit which made for great texture in the end. Also, I threw in dried cranberries instead of raisins which worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aquariusgal

Beef Samosas

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I used spring roll wrapper, instead of phyllo sheets because it's easier to wrap and also to deep fry. Love the texture n it's also less oily than phyllo sheets! The filling is really authentic - no changes! Love these Samosas better than commercial ones which are way too salty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Bobotie

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
We have South African friends who introduced us to this dish. We are a family of 7 and we all love it! Mummy loves the budget! ;-) With the yellow rice (also on this site, from Deoni) and some green beans or some salad, YUM, YUM, YUM! Sometimes we are in the mood for extra flavour, so I add a sprinkle of ground chilli and extra chutney, but it always goes down well as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp with Lobster Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I doubled the 1 cup of water, sugar, cornstarch, and 1/4 cup of cold water. Added 1 chicken and 1 beef bullion cube with an extra 1/2 cup of water. Was much closer to the Shrimp with Lobster Sauce I have at my local Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Noodle Casserole II

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I liked the flavor and my kids did too. However, it either needs more liquid in the sauce or the noodles need to be par-boiled first. I cooked it for 45 minutes and the noodles were still grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
We thought this one was okay... It lacked oomph and richness. The kids slathered on the sauces, and it all went, but next time I will go with the brown onion soup rather than the mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
yes i have tried this and it is so easy. I have made cinnamon Rolls before but never in 90min. so yea it was great, my family made sure they didn't last long though. As for the drip tray underneath while in the oven, well it does mention that in the video, but i have one in the oven all the time for no matter what i cook. saves cleaning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This was YUMMY! I did a mix of white and regular balsamic. Also used fresh roma tomatoes instead. Even my 2 year old ate it- and that says a lot. This meal is definitely in my meal rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I followed one reviewer's suggestion and used just under 1/2 cup of lard instead of 2 tablespoons and that worked beautifully for me. I feel like without it it would have been too dry. Also added a splash more of water, probably a half a teaspoon or so. This made 18 smallish tortillas for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

Fig Cake I

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Really tasty, and a great way to use up my fresh figs. It freezes very well also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I think the recipe calls for too much onion and too little mayo. I added probably another teaspoon of mayo and it's still a little dry, but in the interest of trying to keep it on the healthy side I didn't add any more. I also only used about a quarter of an onion and that is plenty. Lastly, I added quite a bit of garlic to make this more exciting. Still needed some tomato and hot sauce to pull it together for me. Thanks for the recipe, I think it's a good base but needs a bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Photo by Tiffany

Peppermint Meringues

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Very happy with this recipe. For anyone having issues getting their eggs white to peak- the key is to separate the yolk and the whites while they are still cold (right out the fridge). Then you can wait for the eggs whites to come to room temperature. If you try to separate the eggs if they've been on the counter awhile, there's a good chance the yolk will mix in. You may not notice even notice it, but even the tiniest amount of yolk will prevent the whites from forming peaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mulligatawny Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Definitely double! We had this as a main course and ate so much. It was delicious. I'm not a big soup eater, and I loved this. Unless you hate curry, I can't see why someone wouldn't like this. I followed the recipe fairly closely. When I doubling I did not double the butter. Added a bit more curry and a few dashes of cayenne pepper. Also, I added the chicken when I added the broth. Wanted to make sure it had plenty of time to cook. Wonderful, will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

General Tao Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This tasted great! Definitely took way longer than 50min... but perhaps that's because I'm new to the recipe. Made a few changes based on recommendations. -Added a can of water chestnuts. -Steamed frozen broccoli and added it afterwards. -Used 1 tablespoon and a half of fresh ginger -Used just over 3 tablespoons of vinegar -Used 2 heaping tablespoons of ketchup. -Added 3 teaspoons of fresh garlic Tasted great with Basmati Rice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Easy to make and a good use for a glut of lemons in the garden. Will make this again for sure, nice gift to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Cakes by Melt® Buttery Spread

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
My husband's comment when tasting"these are nice you should make these again" really about sums up my opinion too. Easy to make although I used sage and onion stuffing mix instead of the bread crumbs. I will make these again, nice with a salad for a light summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I use this recipe constantly with whatever vegetables I have on hand. My two favorites are sweet corn or zucchini and onions. This is a perfect recipe and I'm so happy I found it. I recommend just a small dash of something like garlic powder of even a bit of actual garlic to give it a flavor boost, but aside that, great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Shuunk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA

To Die For Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this for the first time last night (31/12/2011)for New Years eve potluck party, it was so easy and quick to make. Honestly i was worried about how it was going to turn out as i was already late getting to the party... i put in butter once melted and used real garlic (mince 5 cloves), heavy / thickened cream, then the cheeses, salt and pepper to taste. Things to watch out for pls taste ur sauce to make sure it is not too salty before putting in the fettuccine and always keeps stirring ur sauce for beautiful consistency. Anyway it turned out excellent & tastes awesome! Had so many compliments and saw ppl helping themselves to seconds ?? Great Start to the New Year 2012 thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My hubby and I LOVED this chili! It's so simple, and so good! I only used one pound of lean ground beef, added a green bell pepper and used a bit more tomato sauce. Delicious with Hot Pace Picante and McCormick Chili Seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karis T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States