Brisbane - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Ay Sontespli

Leftover Scalloped Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I was very pleased to find a way to use up my leftover scalloped potatoes! For a vegetarian soup I used vegetable stock and for added flavour I used a bit of thyme, sage and garlic powder. I added one bunch of broccoli flowerettes for colour. Oh, the "orange" bits in the soup are from the sweet potato I subbed into my original Scalloped Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I usually follow recipes as written, but as so many doubled the spices, I did too (minus the salt & pepper). The result - DELICIOUS! This was a fantastic, easy recipe we both loved, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Would love to give it 5 stars but I had to sub red capsicum as we didn't have the pepperoncini. Tasted healthy and fresh with a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Creamy Coconut Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I found this to be an easy cake to make. as your end result is worth while waitting for. I made two, as I new one wouldn't make it all the way through to the end of the process, I gave it three days to sponge up all the creamy goodness, my family loved this one and I will definetly be makeing this one again . I have a few thourghts on adding a little extra next time I'll let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri-anne Forsyth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Sushi Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I thought the 3 cups was only for rinsing the rice, because it just barely covers the rice in the saucepan. It doesn't say in the written instructions how much water to add to the rice, and because I knew it would be 5 cups yield, I filled my regular saucepan up to the top with water. Well, I wasted nearly half a bag of rice. It's is so gluggy and disgusting. Too much water. It would be great if the recipe could be altered to say, "then place into a saucepan along with the konbu and 3 CUPS of water" if this is the case and you only need 3 cups. As someone who has never made sushi rice before, I have absolutely no idea if this is what you do so any help would be very much appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I have used this recipe for many years and loved it. It is fantastic just as it is and without fail has been a hit. I also bbq it on a medium heat to prevent it from blackening too much with the honey. I've found it works well with any mustard, all have a unique flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angwyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked French Toast

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was very yummy, but also incredibly sweet. I put slivered almonds on top instead of pecans and I would urge anyone making this to add some type of nuts. It makes it delicious. But it sticks terribly to the pans, so put down a layer of foil or non stick paper before you bake these. I used a whole french stick and used two pans with one layer of bread. I halved the egg mix and caramel mix between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beat and Bake Orange Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The egg flavour totally overwhelms the orange taste in this. Three eggs is a lot, and although the cake was moist, it was a bit too crumbly. It has a scrambled egg/cakey taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy Broadley

Toads in the Hole I

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My wife is English and this being my first attempt at making this, I was a little nervous but she smiled and gave me a big "well done, LOVE IT" , so what else can I say other than great recipe , only change added onions , thank you and have posted a photo , kind regards Andy and his English wife Suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was amazing! I love dishes that are simple to prepare and cook but taste delicious and this fits the bill! Pecans, honey and mustard sure do work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Tuna-Stuffed Avocados

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
So easy to prepare and just melted , served with Pork mignon and poatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was AMAZING. Followed recipe as is and loved every bite. Definitely tastes better after a night in the fridge; all the flavours melded so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was my first time at making pasta and I was so impressed at how delicious they turned out! Used my pizza cutter to cut them, like other reviewers suggested and they came out great. I'll never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wow, what a kick for the taste buds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Orange Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These were good, very different. They're like cupcake cookies. If you sliced the top off a cupcake and added frosting, then this is what these would taste like. They firm up a little bit more though. There's good yield in this recipe and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Cool and refreshing. I used caster sugar (superfine sugar) so it would melt easier in the blender. I doubled the ingredients, but didn't have room in the blender for 20 ice cubes, so just used 14. Everyone really enjoyed it. I might add a bit less sugar next time, but everyone else said the sugar content was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These are wonderful!! I followed some of the other reviewers advice. I doubled the recipe, but only did 1 1/2 cups of peeled and shredded red delicious apples with juice, and 1 1/2 cups of chopped grannie smith (didn't chop it too small or too big). I didn't have brown sugar and just used all white for the recipe, including the topping. I added 2 tsp vanilla and about 1 1/2 tsp of chinese five spice. Other than that I kept the recipe the same as if you were doubling it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I've been cooking this for 10 years and my husband and sister love it. I still get requests for this when my sister visits from Sydney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Limerick, County Limerick, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli

7-Layer Meatless Tortilla Pie

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Used this as a base recipe: added a whole lot of seasonings, lime juice, sour cream, jalapeno, chipotle pepper, sliced black olives and sliced green onions. A great way to use up an entire packet of flour tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Well I can't even imagine what I did wrong with this one, but for nothing could I get this cake to rise like the pictures of other people's wonderful looking cakes. Thinking maybe I'd just missed the right amount of baking soda/powder somehow in the first batch, I decided to have a second go (it was due to be the centrepiece of our Easter table this year after all), but to no avail. Still REALLY flat. I have four layers now - but only because I've baked four cakes. I've been baking for years and using allrecipes for a large number of those years and I've never had this problem. Really disappointed. Will update review once we've tried it tomorrow with the buttercream (hopefully that goes better - but then I didn't think I could mess up a cake either!). Oh dear. UPDATE: Well I've long since given up on trying to get this cake to rise, but it's now one of my standby's for all chocolate cake occasions. I've just learnt to expect a short cake, and bulk it up with frosting - such a shame ;P. Definitely the tastiest chocolate cake around, no matter the height:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States