Brisbane - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was amazing! I love dishes that are simple to prepare and cook but taste delicious and this fits the bill! Pecans, honey and mustard sure do work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Tuna-Stuffed Avocados

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
So easy to prepare and just melted , served with Pork mignon and poatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was AMAZING. Followed recipe as is and loved every bite. Definitely tastes better after a night in the fridge; all the flavours melded so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was my first time at making pasta and I was so impressed at how delicious they turned out! Used my pizza cutter to cut them, like other reviewers suggested and they came out great. I'll never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wow, what a kick for the taste buds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Orange Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These were good, very different. They're like cupcake cookies. If you sliced the top off a cupcake and added frosting, then this is what these would taste like. They firm up a little bit more though. There's good yield in this recipe and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Cool and refreshing. I used caster sugar (superfine sugar) so it would melt easier in the blender. I doubled the ingredients, but didn't have room in the blender for 20 ice cubes, so just used 14. Everyone really enjoyed it. I might add a bit less sugar next time, but everyone else said the sugar content was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These are wonderful!! I followed some of the other reviewers advice. I doubled the recipe, but only did 1 1/2 cups of peeled and shredded red delicious apples with juice, and 1 1/2 cups of chopped grannie smith (didn't chop it too small or too big). I didn't have brown sugar and just used all white for the recipe, including the topping. I added 2 tsp vanilla and about 1 1/2 tsp of chinese five spice. Other than that I kept the recipe the same as if you were doubling it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I've been cooking this for 10 years and my husband and sister love it. I still get requests for this when my sister visits from Sydney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Limerick, County Limerick, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli

7-Layer Meatless Tortilla Pie

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Used this as a base recipe: added a whole lot of seasonings, lime juice, sour cream, jalapeno, chipotle pepper, sliced black olives and sliced green onions. A great way to use up an entire packet of flour tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Well I can't even imagine what I did wrong with this one, but for nothing could I get this cake to rise like the pictures of other people's wonderful looking cakes. Thinking maybe I'd just missed the right amount of baking soda/powder somehow in the first batch, I decided to have a second go (it was due to be the centrepiece of our Easter table this year after all), but to no avail. Still REALLY flat. I have four layers now - but only because I've baked four cakes. I've been baking for years and using allrecipes for a large number of those years and I've never had this problem. Really disappointed. Will update review once we've tried it tomorrow with the buttercream (hopefully that goes better - but then I didn't think I could mess up a cake either!). Oh dear. UPDATE: Well I've long since given up on trying to get this cake to rise, but it's now one of my standby's for all chocolate cake occasions. I've just learnt to expect a short cake, and bulk it up with frosting - such a shame ;P. Definitely the tastiest chocolate cake around, no matter the height:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Mmmm...can you hear that? That's the sound of my arteries clogging! And you know what? I just don't care, because this is magnificent! The only change I made was to throw in a little fresh chopped marjoram from my garden, as I like to eat something I've grown with every meal. Really lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've been meaning to review this recipe for a while - it's wonderful! I made this in November ready for our solstice celebration in December...and we're still eating it in March! This is quite a lot of work (but that appeals to me), and certainly isn't "cheap" to make, but the number of servings it provides and the fact that it keeps brilliantly in the pantry means it is excellent value for money and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake V

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Lovely! Mine turned out a smidgen flat, so I simply cut it in half, sandwiched it with passionfruit icing, then iced the top. gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was alright, but I won't make it again. The cream cheese mix tasted like dry vanilla ice cream. It was creamy, but dry and essentially flavourless other than the vanilla. I added chocolate sauce to the top, but the cake itself was too dry and not like the cheesecakes that are so creamy and soft and delicious. Mine didn't crack and I used half the flour stated. Next time I'll make one that is creamier and has more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Chicken Nachos

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
How great are these!? You can really be creative and come up with all sorts of different combinations with cheese and salsa, depending on who you are feeding. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These pancakes are absolutely gorgeous. High, fluffy with just the right amount of lemon flavour. I served these with Nigella's blueberry and maple syrup sauce and it went together perfectly. Thanks for this lovely recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSEM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Leek White Bean Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I love this soup. I've been making it for ages and really should have reviewed it before now. I found it delicately flavoured, nourishing and so healthy. I used quinoa instead of cous cous and it works really well. Thanks for this lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSEM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I really enjoyed this. I did change it up a bit and didn't add carrots simply because our family wouldn't like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
UPDATE: Tried receipe with increased filling today (1/2 again as much). DH said "deadly" and groaned. Goodness! Gooey heaven:) Not that this recipe needs more praise, or that you'd doubt it's fantasticness in light of all the positive reviews and high star ratings, but I wanted to add my 2c. It ROCKS! Living in Australia it's hard to come by a real cinnamon roll and until this recipe turned up I wouldn't have believed *I* would be able to pull off such an exceptional product. I wouldn't have even made the attempt! But oh my goodness - YUM! My husband and I, with restraint, polished the whole pan off in 3 days, but frankly I could have eaten my half in one sitting. I took the recommendation of other viewers and mixed the butter, sugar and cinnamon together then spread/sprinkled over the dough. Absolutely no leakage during or after baking. Good thing - forgot the baking paper. I made the rolls the night before and put the loaded pan in the fridge overnight. I then put the cold rolls into a cold oven, turned it on and baked for around 35 mins. Turned out beautifully! They rose some during the night and finished rising during baking. As the DH doesn't care for creamcheese, I subbed an icing found on another receipe (1tsp corn syrup, 1/2tsp vanilla essence, 1 1/4 cup sifted confectioners sugar and 2 1/2Tbs half&half) and all was well in the house. Thank you so much Marsha for sharing this receipe. It will make many appearances on our table for many, many years to come!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States