Brisbane - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked French Toast

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was very yummy, but also incredibly sweet. I put slivered almonds on top instead of pecans and I would urge anyone making this to add some type of nuts. It makes it delicious. But it sticks terribly to the pans, so put down a layer of foil or non stick paper before you bake these. I used a whole french stick and used two pans with one layer of bread. I halved the egg mix and caramel mix between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beat and Bake Orange Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The egg flavour totally overwhelms the orange taste in this. Three eggs is a lot, and although the cake was moist, it was a bit too crumbly. It has a scrambled egg/cakey taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy Broadley

Toads in the Hole I

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My wife is English and this being my first attempt at making this, I was a little nervous but she smiled and gave me a big "well done, LOVE IT" , so what else can I say other than great recipe , only change added onions , thank you and have posted a photo , kind regards Andy and his English wife Suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Dijon Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was amazing! I love dishes that are simple to prepare and cook but taste delicious and this fits the bill! Pecans, honey and mustard sure do work well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Tuna-Stuffed Avocados

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
So easy to prepare and just melted , served with Pork mignon and poatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was AMAZING. Followed recipe as is and loved every bite. Definitely tastes better after a night in the fridge; all the flavours melded so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Egg Noodles

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was my first time at making pasta and I was so impressed at how delicious they turned out! Used my pizza cutter to cut them, like other reviewers suggested and they came out great. I'll never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Wow, what a kick for the taste buds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Orange Cookies

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
These were good, very different. They're like cupcake cookies. If you sliced the top off a cupcake and added frosting, then this is what these would taste like. They firm up a little bit more though. There's good yield in this recipe and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Cool and refreshing. I used caster sugar (superfine sugar) so it would melt easier in the blender. I doubled the ingredients, but didn't have room in the blender for 20 ice cubes, so just used 14. Everyone really enjoyed it. I might add a bit less sugar next time, but everyone else said the sugar content was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
These are wonderful!! I followed some of the other reviewers advice. I doubled the recipe, but only did 1 1/2 cups of peeled and shredded red delicious apples with juice, and 1 1/2 cups of chopped grannie smith (didn't chop it too small or too big). I didn't have brown sugar and just used all white for the recipe, including the topping. I added 2 tsp vanilla and about 1 1/2 tsp of chinese five spice. Other than that I kept the recipe the same as if you were doubling it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts Pierre

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I've been cooking this for 10 years and my husband and sister love it. I still get requests for this when my sister visits from Sydney.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SERENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Limerick, County Limerick, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ay Sontespli

7-Layer Meatless Tortilla Pie

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Used this as a base recipe: added a whole lot of seasonings, lime juice, sour cream, jalapeno, chipotle pepper, sliced black olives and sliced green onions. A great way to use up an entire packet of flour tortillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Well I can't even imagine what I did wrong with this one, but for nothing could I get this cake to rise like the pictures of other people's wonderful looking cakes. Thinking maybe I'd just missed the right amount of baking soda/powder somehow in the first batch, I decided to have a second go (it was due to be the centrepiece of our Easter table this year after all), but to no avail. Still REALLY flat. I have four layers now - but only because I've baked four cakes. I've been baking for years and using allrecipes for a large number of those years and I've never had this problem. Really disappointed. Will update review once we've tried it tomorrow with the buttercream (hopefully that goes better - but then I didn't think I could mess up a cake either!). Oh dear. UPDATE: Well I've long since given up on trying to get this cake to rise, but it's now one of my standby's for all chocolate cake occasions. I've just learnt to expect a short cake, and bulk it up with frosting - such a shame ;P. Definitely the tastiest chocolate cake around, no matter the height:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Mmmm...can you hear that? That's the sound of my arteries clogging! And you know what? I just don't care, because this is magnificent! The only change I made was to throw in a little fresh chopped marjoram from my garden, as I like to eat something I've grown with every meal. Really lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Christmas Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I've been meaning to review this recipe for a while - it's wonderful! I made this in November ready for our solstice celebration in December...and we're still eating it in March! This is quite a lot of work (but that appeals to me), and certainly isn't "cheap" to make, but the number of servings it provides and the fact that it keeps brilliantly in the pantry means it is excellent value for money and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake V

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Lovely! Mine turned out a smidgen flat, so I simply cut it in half, sandwiched it with passionfruit icing, then iced the top. gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was alright, but I won't make it again. The cream cheese mix tasted like dry vanilla ice cream. It was creamy, but dry and essentially flavourless other than the vanilla. I added chocolate sauce to the top, but the cake itself was too dry and not like the cheesecakes that are so creamy and soft and delicious. Mine didn't crack and I used half the flour stated. Next time I'll make one that is creamier and has more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Chicken Nachos

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
How great are these!? You can really be creative and come up with all sorts of different combinations with cheese and salsa, depending on who you are feeding. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Sunday Morning Lemon Poppy Seed Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These pancakes are absolutely gorgeous. High, fluffy with just the right amount of lemon flavour. I served these with Nigella's blueberry and maple syrup sauce and it went together perfectly. Thanks for this lovely recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSEM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States