Brisbane - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
These are incredibly sweet. I made them into cake pops and covered with white chocolate. They taste better the next day, though. The flavours mellowed out and weren't so insanely rich. The white chocolate covering then makes them more moist inside, all creamy and dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Antipasto Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This was delicious. Definitely tasted better after a night in the fridge! Didn't use Parmesan for personal tastes but kept rest of recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I had fresh chicken, not frozen but otherwise kept everything the same. This was absolutely delicious! The taste was amazing and the house smelt wonderful. Will definitely make this again, so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Beaker's Vegetable Barley Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This soup was absolutely fantastic! Added a few more sticks of celery than written but kept it the sane otherwise. Made it in the slow cooker as it's my biggest pot. Stuck everything in and cooked on high for 5 hours. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Mosaic Dessert Bars

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Just made this for my fiancé and he loved it. We are in Australia and therefore used an Aussie jelly brand. Will make again, it's very pretty for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Anna's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The only thing I changed was the choc chips - used dark rather than semi sweet. These cookies were perfect. Delicious and just the right texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Pork Chops in Beer

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were incredible! Used home brewed beer and rich ketchup and the chops came out with just the right flavor. Will make this again regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
It's actually a bit hard to rate this accurately considering it seems to be impossible to buy black beans in most Australian supermarkets! So I used a mixture of other beans and thought the dressing was fantastic. Hopefully I can get some black beans sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Adobo Chicken with Ginger

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I've never had Adobo chicken before so I can't comment on authenticity as other reviewers have, but I thorough enjoyed it. I loved the tangy flavour and the sauce was amazing over rice and veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Baked Apricot Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I love recipes with only four ingredients that taste delicious, and are simple too. As written, this produces a lot of sauce, so I'll make rice next time too and pour the mixture over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Just had this with chicken breasts and rice, lovely flavour! Next time I might decrease the vinegar, just for personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Crab Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Simple recipe that tastes great! I had red peppers on hand so used that instead of green. Good recipe if your new years resolution is to eat healthy like mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Leftover Scalloped Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I was very pleased to find a way to use up my leftover scalloped potatoes! For a vegetarian soup I used vegetable stock and for added flavour I used a bit of thyme, sage and garlic powder. I added one bunch of broccoli flowerettes for colour. Oh, the "orange" bits in the soup are from the sweet potato I subbed into my original Scalloped Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ay Sontespli

Cooking Level: Professional

Ethiopian Cabbage Dish

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I usually follow recipes as written, but as so many doubled the spices, I did too (minus the salt & pepper). The result - DELICIOUS! This was a fantastic, easy recipe we both loved, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Would love to give it 5 stars but I had to sub red capsicum as we didn't have the pepperoncini. Tasted healthy and fresh with a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Mom's Sushi Rice

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I thought the 3 cups was only for rinsing the rice, because it just barely covers the rice in the saucepan. It doesn't say in the written instructions how much water to add to the rice, and because I knew it would be 5 cups yield, I filled my regular saucepan up to the top with water. Well, I wasted nearly half a bag of rice. It's is so gluggy and disgusting. Too much water. It would be great if the recipe could be altered to say, "then place into a saucepan along with the konbu and 3 CUPS of water" if this is the case and you only need 3 cups. As someone who has never made sushi rice before, I have absolutely no idea if this is what you do so any help would be very much appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Honey Mustard Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I have used this recipe for many years and loved it. It is fantastic just as it is and without fail has been a hit. I also bbq it on a medium heat to prevent it from blackening too much with the honey. I've found it works well with any mustard, all have a unique flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angwyrd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked French Toast

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was very yummy, but also incredibly sweet. I put slivered almonds on top instead of pecans and I would urge anyone making this to add some type of nuts. It makes it delicious. But it sticks terribly to the pans, so put down a layer of foil or non stick paper before you bake these. I used a whole french stick and used two pans with one layer of bread. I halved the egg mix and caramel mix between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beat and Bake Orange Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The egg flavour totally overwhelms the orange taste in this. Three eggs is a lot, and although the cake was moist, it was a bit too crumbly. It has a scrambled egg/cakey taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andy Broadley

Toads in the Hole I

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
My wife is English and this being my first attempt at making this, I was a little nervous but she smiled and gave me a big "well done, LOVE IT" , so what else can I say other than great recipe , only change added onions , thank you and have posted a photo , kind regards Andy and his English wife Suzy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States