New South Wales - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Zippy

Jay's Signature Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
A SOLID recipe but after making it 4-5 times, I've finally mastered it (with the following tweaks). 1.) use a full tablespoon of salt 2.) add an extra tablespoon of olive oil 3.) brush it with olive oil, once on the stone (or in the pan) 4.) par-cook the dough for up to 10 minutes A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Cutting the spirals was much easier and quicker than I expected. Well worth the effort, because the sausages tasted so much better done this way! We cooked the spirals over the fire, which added extra crispness and smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin Diane

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It is extremely quick to prepare. Good for the working person who wants to eat tasty and soon. I do agree that one must be careful with the lemon, but surely that is the same with salt, pepper etc. I followed it exactly(being careful of lemon). I did add salt as the recipe didn't seem to have any and ate it with small baby potatoes. I was cooking for one, so the sauce was sufficient, but certainly not enough for more people. I have never heard of lemon pepper and certainly cannot find it, so just used ordinary pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Tomato Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I always grind my own spices. I didn't use anywhere near the amount of tomatoes suggested. I also put in a chilli instead of pepper. Curries are usually rather hot. I liked it well enough. Served with plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Avocado, Beet and Arugula Salad with Chevre Tartine

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Really lovely salad! I used toasted pine nuts instead of hazelnuts. Can be served up with all sorts of other things to keep it interested. I put some smoked salmon and cherry tomatoes on the plate with it. It looked and tasted really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It was a good combination of ingredients and pretty quick and easy to make. However, I made it exactly to the recipe and to be honest it was a bit boring. I would have enjoyed it a bit more with some more interesting flavors. It did all get eaten so it wasn't a bad recipe, just not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Quick Sesame Green Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really good. I have to say I didn't follow exactly though. Instead I used CdIP's review idea of leaving out the miso paste and adding sesame oil, so I guess in this case it's not a true review of the recipe. Anyway, it was really enjoyed by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken Mole

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very interesting flavor and a really good mole 'cheat' recipe. We wrapped the chicken in tortillas with some adobo sour cream. Also, I added anise seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Lemon Pudding Cake II

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Really easy and delicious. I used fresh lime juice actually as I didn't have any lemons on hand. Turned out perfectly. Did take a little longer than recommended to cook. If/when I make it again, I will probably beat the egg whites first and remove them (for convenience) so I can use my mixing bowl for both sets of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
My mother only ever cooked fish in crumbs, but she used crushed Corn Flakes. I found it very good. I used ordinary bread crumbs as I found the rest of the ingredients seasoned enough. My Old Bay Mix (found the recipe here on AR) is highly spiced. I did find it hard to make the crumbs stick to the fish and I had to put the fillets back into the egg/milk and then the crumbs again. The first lot were well soaked and on the second try the crumbs stuck very well and the coating was quite thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Quick Asian Beef Noodle Soup

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I didn't have high expectations for this but was really surprised with the great flavours! Only changes that I made were that I used chicken stock rather than water, and I used cut up pieces of beef steak rather than ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Honey-Mustard Baked Chicken

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
It was OK. I forgot to put in salt and pepper which didn't help. The honey is too much and makes it too sweet. I had to put in more soya to take some of the sweetness away. I used Ceylon curry powder. I cook and grind my spices from a genuine Indian and Sri Lankan recipes. I wouldn't use shop curry powders. I don't like chicken breasts, so I used wings. I must say that the chicken was delicious, but I couldn't eat the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Chestnut, Lentils and Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Based on the recipe without modifications, I gave four stars because it was a good and healthy dish. Everyone seemed to like it and ate it all up. However, it wasn't outstanding. I felt it lacked a bit of interesting flavors. Could have perhaps benefited from some added spices or herbs. As other reviewers also said, it came out a bit watery so we had it as a soup rather than a stew, which was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Pork Chops with Bourbon Tomatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I was rather disappointed. I used less sugar than stated, but I found it rather sickly sweet. I couldn't finish it. I am going to make it again, but with very little sugar. I never add rum, cognac, whisky to a recipe without flambeing it. It tastes so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Chicken Fry

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I tried to make it exactly to the recipe except that I also added a splash of fish sauce for saltiness and I would have to give it five stars. I'm not sure if I would or not without the fish sauce though. The onions came out beautifully caramelized and I served it over rice with some fresh vegetables. My kids really enjoyed it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Cranberry Apple Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I didn't have any trouble with it at all. I didn't cut the apples particularly fine, and the moment that I put the oil and sugar together there was a lot of liquid. I did beat the egg well before adding it. I can't find cranberries - fresh or frozen so I used dried ones. The apples I used were Canada Gris. It was pleasant, too much fruit and not enough cake. I don't think I would bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I thought it was great. Put in some parsley and a wee bit of chilli as I like it hot. The only thing I change is the green pepper. I put it in at the same time as the mushrooms otherwise it becomes a mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Vietnamese Beef And Lettuce Curry

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is an odd recipe. With adjustments of different spices it can taste good. I used curry powder and ground cilantro, and it was all eaten up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Grilled Salmon, Snap Peas and Spring Mix Salad with Chow Mein Noodles

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
A really nice way to cook and serve salmon! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Low-Cal Roasted Sweet Potato Bites

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Delicious! However, took much longer than 20 minutes to cook right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States