New South Wales - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Aioli

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I have been making aioli for 40 years or more. 4 cloves of garlic is far too much for 2 eggs and 1 cup of oil, but it depends on the size of the cloves. I certainly don't bother to chill anything and I don't use a blender or a whisk......just a plain old wooden spoon. The trick (like mayonnaise) is to go slowly, oh so slowly with the oil in the beginning. I the whole thing won't 'take' after a while and it looks curdled, use another yolk in another bowl and pour the mix into it , slowly, until it has taken and then go ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

David's Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I took the advice and just used regular all purpose flour and 8 whole eggs instead of only the yolks. I made 24 regular sized cupcakes with this recipe, and they came out so good. I can see why some people would say they are cornbread-esque. But they are a big-crumbed yellow cake, very delicious-- but if you are looking for a fine crumb or something light and airy this isn't it. This is a dense, moist yellow cake. It's exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I have tried this recipe, but prefer my own in leaving out the sugar and using approx. the same amount of marsala. Even though this is alcohol when I'm a tea-totaller it does give it a lovely smooth flavour similar to the brown sugar, but the marsala is better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

Chef John's Bourbon Glazed Carrots

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I liked it. I only put in a small amount of sugar and just added little by little. Actually as carrots are already a sweet vegetable, it doesn't need much. The only other thing.....if I put alcohol in a dish, I prefer to flambee it. The sauce tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I have already found this same recipe on another site. I made it exactly as stated. I used Roquefort and I made my own mayonnaise - with fresh eggs, lemon juice etc. which means that it turns out a beautiful bright yellow. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stew VI

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Absolutely nothing wrong with this recipe! Of course, there will always be some people who don't vary any recipe to suit their own tastes and preferences. I start by frying off a cup each of finely diced onion, carrot and celery in a little butter, with some grated garlic & ginger. this is the base that the browned meat sits on during cooking - it mostly breaks down and adds thickness and flavour to the gravy. I do coat the meat in seasoned flour (2 Tbs each of plain & cornflour, + salt & pepper) before browning and the leftover flour mix gets addad as per this recipe. I still use the chunky cut vegetables, sometimes adding other veges that are in season, like beans, parsnips, sweet potato or baby corn. My recipe always includes a good splash of Worcester sauce and, because people eat with their eyes before the food reaches their mouthe, I always darken the stew by stiring in some Parisian browning essence, a few drops at a time, till the colour is a rich brown. Oh yes, one more suggestion: for a couple of dollars, you can usually find a heat diffusion plate that sits under your pot during simmering. It ensures you get an even amount of heat across the bottom of your pot and definitely helps to avoid sticking and burning. And like all stews and braises, so much better if you can cook it the day before - overnight in the refrigerator and gently reheated for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia

Chef John's Beef Braciole

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This was OK. It just didn't have the flavour punch I was looking for. The raisins were the best part as they added a little touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I just knew this was going to be good. I don't know what crescent roll dough is and even if I did I wouldn't be able to find it. I reduced the ingredients to a yield of 6 and I used a 6 1/2" square tin. The filling was just enough. I did find it a bit too sweet, so will reduce the sugar a little next time. A couple of days later the sweetness wasn't so apparent. I put a few in the deep freeze to see what gives. I also thought that next time I may try rum or cognac instead of the vanilla. Anyway.....it was awful nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding with Praline Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
A good old bread pud, but far too sweet. I didn't use bread, but stale brioche. Also I don't see the need to put everything one by one. I mixed it all together and left it for 30 mins to soak well. I dislike dried fruit cooked, so used some cherries and raspberries. The praline sauce was a delicious addition. Note. One usually makes bread pud with stale bread. It used to be the dessert of the poor and was taken down to the baker for him to cook with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Grilled Lamb Steaks

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I thought it was great. I followed it faithfully, except for the honey. I used far less. I had some vinaigrette left over and used it for a salad. Also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Raspberry Sour Cream Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I thought it was delicious. I followed the recipe and it just fitted nicely into a 10" tin. I am going to make it again using other fruit as I just loved the creamy base. The crumble top was also good. I don't care for nuts, so may leave them out next time. There was a post saying that it doesn't do well left over. I agree. I made it late in the day, left it out overnight and cut it up fairly early the next morning. Had a little taste. Great. Firm. Later in the day it had turned into a soggy mush. After putting it into the fridge, it firmed up again and was great. Does one defrost the frozen rasps or are they put in frozen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Lime Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I thought it was delicious. I only had a couple of wings, so reduced the ingredients appropriately. I did think that the amount of honey was too much for the lime juice, so I added bit by bit, until I got the right mix for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zippy

Jay's Signature Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
A SOLID recipe but after making it 4-5 times, I've finally mastered it (with the following tweaks). 1.) use a full tablespoon of salt 2.) add an extra tablespoon of olive oil 3.) brush it with olive oil, once on the stone (or in the pan) 4.) par-cook the dough for up to 10 minutes A+!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

Curly-Q Grilled Sausages

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Cutting the spirals was much easier and quicker than I expected. Well worth the effort, because the sausages tasted so much better done this way! We cooked the spirals over the fire, which added extra crispness and smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin Diane

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
It is extremely quick to prepare. Good for the working person who wants to eat tasty and soon. I do agree that one must be careful with the lemon, but surely that is the same with salt, pepper etc. I followed it exactly(being careful of lemon). I did add salt as the recipe didn't seem to have any and ate it with small baby potatoes. I was cooking for one, so the sauce was sufficient, but certainly not enough for more people. I have never heard of lemon pepper and certainly cannot find it, so just used ordinary pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Indian Tomato Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I always grind my own spices. I didn't use anywhere near the amount of tomatoes suggested. I also put in a chilli instead of pepper. Curries are usually rather hot. I liked it well enough. Served with plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Avocado, Beet and Arugula Salad with Chevre Tartine

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Really lovely salad! I used toasted pine nuts instead of hazelnuts. Can be served up with all sorts of other things to keep it interested. I put some smoked salmon and cherry tomatoes on the plate with it. It looked and tasted really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It was a good combination of ingredients and pretty quick and easy to make. However, I made it exactly to the recipe and to be honest it was a bit boring. I would have enjoyed it a bit more with some more interesting flavors. It did all get eaten so it wasn't a bad recipe, just not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Seattle2Sydney

Quick Sesame Green Beans

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really good. I have to say I didn't follow exactly though. Instead I used CdIP's review idea of leaving out the miso paste and adding sesame oil, so I guess in this case it's not a true review of the recipe. Anyway, it was really enjoyed by everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Chicken Mole

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very interesting flavor and a really good mole 'cheat' recipe. We wrapped the chicken in tortillas with some adobo sour cream. Also, I added anise seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States