US Virgin Islands - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by SAHARA2

Maple Cannellini Bean Salad with Baby Broccoli and Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I just made this and it is pretty good. I used 1 large diced carrot because I did not have squash. I also used a leek instead of onion. Quick, easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Hazelnut Salad with Strawberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I LOVE this salad and dressing. The only change I make is adding some honey to the dressing ...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IslandJill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Butterscotch Oatmeal

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is the yummiest, creamiest oatmeal I've ever had. I made this for a church breakfast and reduced to about 1/3 amount of sugar so people could sweeten to taste. I also browned some crushed pecans in butter and sprinkled them on top, and called it "Butter Pecan" because butterscotch oatmeal doesn't sound healthy to me. It was plenty sweet and everyone loved it as-is, even going back for seconds! I am using the same base today for the church breakfast and will add dried cranberries and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel in STX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked French Toast

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Oh yeah; it was good. Ended up using the changes Michelle Mullis suggested. Only change I made from there was cutting that recipe in half to share between my wife and I. I ate most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Cookies II

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is one of the best spritz/butter cookie recipes I've used. However, I did make some slight changes. I reduced my flour by a 1/4 cup, I added a 1/4 cup more butter and also used almond extract with the vanilla. Also, I found that 400 degrees F was to high even for just 8 minutes but 375 degrees F was perfect at 8 minutes....nice color and texture! I've saved this recipe and will share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I wanted to bake Christmas cookies with my boys and needed a recipe that was good for rolling and cutting. I also wanted cookies that were soft. So, as someone who had never baked cookies before, this recipe was perfect! I actually baked as written and also rolled some dough out for cutting, and both methods worked well. If you want to roll out the dough, try wrapping the dough in some wax paper and putting in the fridge for about 30 min to an hour. Then roll out between two pieces of wax paper. Dip cookie cutters in cold water just prior to cutting. Also, I added about 1/4 tsp of almond essence for extra flavor. Yum Yum Yum!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made these into rolls they were a hit!! I rolled 3 small balls and put into a muffin tin! Turned our great like pull apart rolls! Yummy!!! I made these for a thanksgiving dinner and none were left!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I really was not that impressed with this dish. My husband ended up finishing this. It's edible but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I was skeptical about this one but my family enjoyed it. I don't like swiss chard or pinto beans so I used about one bag of kale and one can of canellini beans instead. I also didn't put it in the oven at the end. I just left it on the heat a little longer to melt the goat cheese. Overall, great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Oh yes! This is my number one burger recipe. So glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sophie's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I didn't have any zucchini but did have a big, light-green mystery squash, as long as my arm. It was not as moist as zucchini, but I pulsed it in the food processor and added the quantity specified. I did add walnuts. Before putting it in the oven, I also topped the bread with fresh, toasted coconut pulp that I happened to have in the fridge, left over from making coconut milk. So the top was crunchy-coconuty! We all loved it and I will make it again, maybe trying to substitute with some whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel in STX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twice Baked Potato Poppers

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
this was really good! I used red salsa as I didn't have any green one. But I will make again! Even my picky husband ate it and enjoyed it! I do have a pic coming when I get a min! Definitely will make again!! Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Creamy Broccoli Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. I did like the flavor I did use Veggie stock instead of Chicken stock and it did taste good. I do think it was missing something but I am not sure what. Good Flavour base! Will make again maybe will add in some other seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I was debating what to give my kids for dinner and thought about something quick...pancakes!!! We devoured those cakes and they we're GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vibzmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I had a pancake recipe that I was using for years. It was good! But the notion of vinegar in pancake really intrigued me. So I tried it and loved it. If you're a little put off by the vinegar like I was, let me ease your mind. I found out that the process of adding vinegar to milk is the same as using buttermilk! After adding my own little tweaks (I used 3 tbsp of sugar instead of 2 and added 2 tsp of vanilla for added flavor), this is my new pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Crab Stuffed Manicotti

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was very easy to make.....however, if like me you want to taste crab in every bite....please increase the crab amount. When I made this dish as the recipe requested, I only tasted a hint of crab. My second batch turned out better than the first by these simple additions...I used 3/4 amount of the ricotta cheese and I bought 1 pound of real crab legs in addition to the can lump crab......way, way, better!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portuguese Sweet Bread I

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I love this recipe...tweaked it a litte...instead of all milk I used 3/4 milk and 1/4 heavy cream, I also used real butter and increased the amount to 5 tablespoons (I know..wow right - you don't watch carbs when planning on eating sweet bread). I was actually trying for a sweet butter bread. But the end results were fantastic!!..it only last 2 days in my house. Not sure about the other reviewers who said it ran over..never happened to me...also, put your crust color to light...that should clear up the darkening of the crust. Thanks so much for sharing this simple to make goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anna's Retreat, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Pineapple Fried Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Loved this dish, although I wish it had called for something green, or that I had thought of it. That's the only reason I didn't give it a 5. Next time I'll add fresh cilantro on top, or as a last minute stir-in. I served it with a lime wedge on each plate. Can't wait to try it with shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel in STX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Black Bean Cakes

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Delicious!!!I altered the recipe a little by taking away the jalapeno, as I am very sensitive to spicey food, anyway the cakes were delicious, I did add an extra egg, which made it very moist. This is a keeper and the teens loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot, Tomato, and Spinach Quinoa Pilaf

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I loved this dish. I had some quinoa sitting in my pantry and needed to do something with it. This was perfect. I didn't have any bouillon cubes so substituted half of the water with beef broth. I also omitted the carrot since I didn't have any and added more spinach and some salt at the end. Overall, quick, easy, delicious dish that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States