Jamaica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Almond Bear Claws

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very time consumning but the end result is wonderful once u have time on your hands try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Excellent! My husband and guests rave about this lasagna. Whenever I make this, I always make an extra one for the freezer or a needy family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Exceptional recipe! I added vanilla beans, a dash of nutmeg and a splash of cinnamon to the batter, all which added a lot of flavor. One thing that I would implement the next time I make these muffins is to melt the butter for the cinnamon-sugar streusel topping instead of mashing it. That step was time consuming. Also, I should have ignored every one (well most every one) elses reviews about there being too much streusel. I was conservative with mine and my muffins would have been much more beautiful and tasty had I used all of it. Thanks for posting such a delish recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken In Basil Cream

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
i love it its easy and u can add your favourite herb to give it that zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Awesome recipe....I really enjoyed the flavor of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Chicken Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Great recipe....I really enjoyed the flavor.....tasted like a dish i would get in a restaurant. I first tried this when my cousin made it for me over the holidays and wanted to try it for myself. I would only caution to use less whipping cream than indicated in the ingredients. I used about 1 pint of heavy cream and it was very liquidy. Of course you can thicken with flour or corn starch. Awesome recipe....try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Pasta

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I thought this was a very tasteful dish. The flavor intensified overnight which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kowloon's Chinese Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I started making the marinade but i didn't have any whiskey on had. I tasted the marinade and didn't like the flavor at all. I ended adding some more ingredients,baked it, and dosed it in BBQ sauce. Everyone seem to like...they didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Egg Rolls

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I believe i completely butchered this recipe. So I'll give it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pot Stickers Traditional

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Everyone loved these at my new years eve party. I used ground beef and cole slaw mix instead. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I left out the chicken....it was still good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot and Sweet Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
The sauce was good but very strong. When I put my garlic in they turned green! I used a stainless steel pan, so i don't know if that had anything to with it. I contemplated dumping it, then decided to add the crushed red peppers....the sauce looked festive, so i ended up serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Dumplings I

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I dont eat apples, but my husband and son really loves anything with apples. So I made this for them. Well, they truly loved it...they raved about it and have since asked me to make it several times. I did follow the suggestions of others and diced the apples then dipped them in a sugar, cinnamon mixture then wrapped them in dough the with a pat of butter. I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and I heat the sauce over medium heat until bubbly (but do not boil)..Hubby said its the best apple dumpling he has ever had. Thank you for the recipe and suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Light Oat Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I have finally found my family's favorite bread...Its one we can all agree on. The first time I made this we sat at the table and ate it all hot from the breadmachine. I have since made it several times. I do however use butter instead of margarine; I also added about 3-tbsp honey to the recipe...Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Wow! I will never go back to making scrambled the old fashioned way. This is a good basic recipe that comes out perfect everytime. I usually add the following: 1/4-tsp black pepper, 1/2-tsp crushed red pepper, 1-tsp dried parsley and 8oz package of Kraft Crumbles Mexican Blend Cheese. I like the crumbles instead of shredded because you get a more cheesy bite. I also sometimes add cubed ham or pork sausage. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
OK...WOW!!!! This is one delicious cheesecake. One minor change; I substituted 1-can sweetened condensed milk for the sugar...It makes for a more creamy texture. I also baked it in a moist oven (place a large pan of hot water on the rack directly below the cheesecake about 20 minutes prior to putting the cheesecake in the oven -- this warms up and creates moisture in the oven). I baked it for 1-hour without opening the oven then when I turned the oven off I left the cheesecake in the oven for 5-hours then refrigerated it. It came out perfectly and was sooo yummy. BTW, do not overbeat the mix otherwise the cheesecake will crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Followed the ingredients exactly....However instead of brushing the sauce on I dipped the chicken in the sauce to coat then place it on a foil lined baking pan and poured the remaining sauce over it and marinated it for about 6 hours then baked covered in a 400 degree oven for 30 mins then uncovered for another 30 minutes. It was very good. Although hubby said it tasted like BBQ Chicken as opposed to Teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chickpea Curry

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is quite good. I followed the recipe exactly with a few minor changes...I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil instead of Vegetable Oil; 1-Tsp Ground Ginger instead of Ginger Root; 1/2-Tsp Ground Cloves instead of Whole Cloves and 1-Tsp Ground Cinnamon instead of Cinnamon Sticks. Let it simmer for about 45 minutes. Served it over White Rice. This dish is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PORUSGIRL

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This cornbread is really good. Its moist and full of flavor. I doubled the recipe except the following ingredients: I used only 1-cup butter; 1 cup brown sugar; 6 eggs; 6 teaspoons baking powder; 1/4 teaspoon salt. I also did not use the Chile peppers because my SIL cannot eat spicy foods and did not want to risk it. After mixing the batter, I let it stand for 20 minutes so it would crown before pouring into the pan. This was served to my inlaws and they just raved about it...The whole thing was eaten in under 30 minutes. Thanks for the recipe...again, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Wow, these were absolutely fantastic. I read many reviews before I made these so I made some changes to the recipe based on all the reviews......I doubled the recipe and made the following changes. I used 4-teaspoons baking powder, 1-teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2-teaspoon nutmeg, 1-tablespoon vanilla, 1/2-teaspoon salt, 3-cups milk, 3 eggs lightly beaten and 1-stick butter......I melted the butter then added the milk to the butter and heated it (just heat, do not boil). So I had 3 bowls - 1 with the dry ingredients all sifted together, 1 with the warm liquids and 1 with the eggs lightly beaten. I then added the liquids to the dry ingredients and mixed a bit then added the eggs to the mixture. Mixed with a wire wisk until it was well blended together. I let it sit on the counter for 10-minutes before cooking. Served with bacon and eggs. This was made for 4-people and none was left. The kids told me these are best pancakes they have ever had and to never use bisquick again. Thank you so much for the fine recipe. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-76 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States