Jamaica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Country Fried B.L.T. with Fresh Herb Aioli

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
i love this very handy n easy there is also room for u to add any of ur favourite ingredients r just leave it the way it is superb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Strawberry Fields

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
this is a very simple and delicious salad i love it i tried a little fruit wine with mine and voila the rest is history go wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Photo by Stephanie

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This cake was great! The only thing I did differently was use white Jamaican rum in the batter,and for the glaze I used a dark Jamaican brandy. But absolutely no changes required, this was super moist,tasty,and the hit at any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
awesome two of my favorite foods chocolate and bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maleka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portmore, Saint Catherine, Jamaica

Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Wow, just wow. I'm so impressed with how this recipe turned out. I was so hesitant while preparing it, and the vinegar gave it such a weird smell before baking. I also substituted applesauce for the oiland added chocolate chips. The finished product was a big hit for my Easter dinner. No one believed it had no eggs, oil or butter. And it tasted even the next day out the fridge. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Bread I

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I have never had beer bread before, so when saw this recipe it sounded delicious and easy enough. I was right, it is super fast and couldn't be easier to make. I don't usually have self rising flour on hand so I made my own by combining 1 cup flour and 1 tbsp baking powder. The only beer I had on hand at the time was a case of Samuel Adams after going thru them my son and I decided on the Sam Adams Chocolate Beer -- definitely the perfect choice. Oh yes, I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup as noted by a few other reviewers. The next time I made it I followed some other suggestions and added a cup of Mexican Blend and Cheddar Jack Cheeses. Thats also good. This recipe is definitely a keeper. My husband and son ask for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This cake is really good. I made it when my sisters their husbands and children/grandchildren visited and everyone asked for the recipe. For the most part I followed the recipe exactly as is except for a few minor changes.... 1. I only had Captain Morgan Tatoo (dark rum) on hand, so thats what I used. It is incredibly flavorful. 2. Eliminated the nuts......I don't like nuts but no one missed the nuts. 3. I replaced the run called for in the glaze with Orange Juice since I am allergic to alcohol (unless its cooked off). Again, a fantastic cake. It is definitely a keeper in my house. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Wow..this was excellent! This was the first time I've ever used zucchini in baking. Absolutely follow substitution advice for less fat content; applesauce instead of oil made a big difference. And also used part brown sugar and honey in place of white sugar. Nuts would have been great but I was fresh out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Oh my God...EXCELLENT!!! I love wings but hate going out to buy them. This recipe was awesome. Took the advice on baking cuz I hate fried stuff. And DEFINITELY don't skip the fridge step!! Sauce wasn't hot enough for me though so I'll look through the stores for somethin to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Spiced Shark Steaks

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great recipie! My entire family loved it, including my 2 year old. Like everyone else I cut down on the salt. I eliminated the soy sauce and sub Jamaican sweet pineapple sauce by Nells Old Time. I also added 1 tbsp of fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Garlic Asparagus

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Excellent! I like asparagus but rarely cook it. Had to find a recipe for Xmas cuz my sister likes it. This was so easy, and everyone raved about it!! Followed the popular suggestions, using butter and olive oil, stir-fry and toss for 6-8 minutes, and garlic from the jar. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This turned out very well...My Hubby ate evry bit. The tip to use 1cup milk & the other H2O for lactose intolerant people was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Absolutely delish recipe~plan to use as Christmas gifts this year. They are soooo easy to make and taste divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babydollskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loved this recipe but added some vanilla and nutmeg to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: March Town, Hanover, Jamaica
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rhubarb Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
yummy! This is an awesome recipe. I used organic whole wheat flour and less sugar than recommended. It was great! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: March Town, Hanover, Jamaica
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamaican Oxtail with Broad Beans

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I LOVE IT ,ITS A GOOD CHANGE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Easy Broccoli Quiche

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Pretty good quiche but sorta bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the Stoned cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nine Miles, Saint Ann, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tofu Parmigiana

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This was my first time making tofu. It tasted delicious, i was very surprised. I followed other reviews and froze my tofu and baked it. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiburdan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: May Pen, Clarendon, Jamaica
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lasagna I

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Loved it! Easy to make even though I was a little concerned about using the uncooked noodles... it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Alysse Simone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Run-Down

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This is another traditional jamaican dish made simlpe and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Displaying results 41-60 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States