Jamaica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spiced Apple Drop Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
very good i substituted almonds for walnuts and added finely chopped apples along with the shredded loved it, my kids loved them so that makes it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Kahlua® Chocolate Cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
wasnt bad when i made it first seem lacking so when i re-made it i added another 1/2 ounce chocolate and a teaspoon of instant coffee and a teaspoon of amaretto as well came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Fettucine with Green Peas&Ham in coconut sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
EVEN THOUGH ITS MINE I FIGURED I SHOULD RATE IT I REALLY ENJOYED MAKING THIS WAS THE FIRST FETTUCINE RECIPE I TRIED AND I MUST SAY IT CAME OUT WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made this pudding last night and I must say it was right on the ball. I hate deviating from a recipe and giving a good rating but there had to have been a baseline. I made the following changes I used a 9" x 13" casserole baking dish. Since I doubled the recipe I used 2 less eggs, 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon mixed spice, I used the bread crust and ends. Great way to get the kids to eat them and also used 2 packets of whole milk powder to make the 4 cups of needed millk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey-Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portmore, Saint Catherine, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
A great recipe!! Used a lot of different tips from other users, including onion and garlic, frozen carrots and peas and definitely adding oyster sauce. I've already made it a few times. Last night I tried it with brown rice...still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Salad I

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe all though, I would cut down the amount of french dressing as it made the ground beef just a tad sweet. Otherwise they were a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes III

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe, It was very creamy, not dry and not cakey like most of the recipes I've found. Although I would NOT use the lemon zest, I didnt like the citrusy tang it gave it althought it wasnt overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Knead Knot Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
love these simple and easy also excellent to use in your bread machine if u have one available!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Oh Wow...amazing. Absolutely amazing and so juicy. Doubled up on lme juice and brown sugar for the marinade because I only had overproof white rum in the house (Ahh good ol' Wray & Nephew...a Jamaican staple). This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Ok, so this recipe came out good. I made a lot of alterations though to cut down on fat and calories. 1. Replace eggs with distilled white vinegar, one tbsp for each egg so 4 tbsp total. 2. Replce oil completely with unsweetened applesauce, equal conversion. 3. Cut sugar in half, and used brown instead of white. Even though applesauce is unsweetened it adds enough sweet taste. Other reviews helpful with a lil more vanilla and touch of nutmeg. I also tossed in raisins 'cuz, well I'm jsut used to that in carrot cake. Also, a little bit of water (less than 1/3 cup) was added. Cake came out very nice!! Didn't get around to doing with frosting yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lamb Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
i really love this i added mushrooms to mine n i love the fact that any veg u love can be added thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Grilled Chicken with Mango-Riesling Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
very good recipe,even though i dont eat mango everyone loved it .i added a tablespoon of honey n ginger to the marinade to enhance the flavour you know giving it that good old island kick (lol) n it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Mini Meatball Subs

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I loved these they r quick n easy n were a life saver lol. Had great flavour n i tried different cheses as well like feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Chocolate Oil Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
A great recipe, the cake was delicious! I am curious about the uses of baking soda and powder in an eggless cake because I've tried a similar recipe that called for both, while this one only needed bakng soda. I also made some changes. First I used brown instead of white sugar, and cut the amount in half because I used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil and added 2 crushed ripe bananas. Tossed in some raisins too. Would have been even better if I had pistachios. This is a new staple for me as I love chocolate but am trying to watch my calorie intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana-Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was excellent. I chose this recipe since I had 2 overripe bananas to make use of, but was out of cranberries and nuts (had to settle for just raisins). Made quite a few changes: used only brown sugar (1 2/3 cups total), and used applesauce instead of oil (equal amount) and distilled vinegar for eggs (1 egg = 1 tbsp). Absolutely fabulous results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pomegranate Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
A simple ice-cream recipe n very delicious.I substitute cherry juice for pomegrante n it was great,i like the fact that you can use almost any of your favourite juices n it will come out great.Thumbs up to Peaches n her boys i suspect u won with this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Country Fried B.L.T. with Fresh Herb Aioli

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
i love this very handy n easy there is also room for u to add any of ur favourite ingredients r just leave it the way it is superb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Strawberry Fields

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
this is a very simple and delicious salad i love it i tried a little fruit wine with mine and voila the rest is history go wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Photo by Stephanie

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This cake was great! The only thing I did differently was use white Jamaican rum in the batter,and for the glaze I used a dark Jamaican brandy. But absolutely no changes required, this was super moist,tasty,and the hit at any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
awesome two of my favorite foods chocolate and bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maleka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portmore, Saint Catherine, Jamaica

Displaying results 21-40 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States