Jamaica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Oh Wow...amazing. Absolutely amazing and so juicy. Doubled up on lme juice and brown sugar for the marinade because I only had overproof white rum in the house (Ahh good ol' Wray & Nephew...a Jamaican staple). This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Ok, so this recipe came out good. I made a lot of alterations though to cut down on fat and calories. 1. Replace eggs with distilled white vinegar, one tbsp for each egg so 4 tbsp total. 2. Replce oil completely with unsweetened applesauce, equal conversion. 3. Cut sugar in half, and used brown instead of white. Even though applesauce is unsweetened it adds enough sweet taste. Other reviews helpful with a lil more vanilla and touch of nutmeg. I also tossed in raisins 'cuz, well I'm jsut used to that in carrot cake. Also, a little bit of water (less than 1/3 cup) was added. Cake came out very nice!! Didn't get around to doing with frosting yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Lamb Kabobs

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
i really love this i added mushrooms to mine n i love the fact that any veg u love can be added thumbs up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Grilled Chicken with Mango-Riesling Marinade

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
very good recipe,even though i dont eat mango everyone loved it .i added a tablespoon of honey n ginger to the marinade to enhance the flavour you know giving it that good old island kick (lol) n it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Mini Meatball Subs

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I loved these they r quick n easy n were a life saver lol. Had great flavour n i tried different cheses as well like feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Chocolate Oil Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
A great recipe, the cake was delicious! I am curious about the uses of baking soda and powder in an eggless cake because I've tried a similar recipe that called for both, while this one only needed bakng soda. I also made some changes. First I used brown instead of white sugar, and cut the amount in half because I used unsweetened applesauce in place of oil and added 2 crushed ripe bananas. Tossed in some raisins too. Would have been even better if I had pistachios. This is a new staple for me as I love chocolate but am trying to watch my calorie intake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana-Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was excellent. I chose this recipe since I had 2 overripe bananas to make use of, but was out of cranberries and nuts (had to settle for just raisins). Made quite a few changes: used only brown sugar (1 2/3 cups total), and used applesauce instead of oil (equal amount) and distilled vinegar for eggs (1 egg = 1 tbsp). Absolutely fabulous results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Pomegranate Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
A simple ice-cream recipe n very delicious.I substitute cherry juice for pomegrante n it was great,i like the fact that you can use almost any of your favourite juices n it will come out great.Thumbs up to Peaches n her boys i suspect u won with this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Country Fried B.L.T. with Fresh Herb Aioli

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
i love this very handy n easy there is also room for u to add any of ur favourite ingredients r just leave it the way it is superb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Strawberry Fields

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
this is a very simple and delicious salad i love it i tried a little fruit wine with mine and voila the rest is history go wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Photo by Stephanie

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This cake was great! The only thing I did differently was use white Jamaican rum in the batter,and for the glaze I used a dark Jamaican brandy. But absolutely no changes required, this was super moist,tasty,and the hit at any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
awesome two of my favorite foods chocolate and bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maleka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portmore, Saint Catherine, Jamaica

Grandma's Eggless, Butterless, Milkless Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Wow, just wow. I'm so impressed with how this recipe turned out. I was so hesitant while preparing it, and the vinegar gave it such a weird smell before baking. I also substituted applesauce for the oiland added chocolate chips. The finished product was a big hit for my Easter dinner. No one believed it had no eggs, oil or butter. And it tasted even the next day out the fridge. A definite winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beer Bread I

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I have never had beer bread before, so when saw this recipe it sounded delicious and easy enough. I was right, it is super fast and couldn't be easier to make. I don't usually have self rising flour on hand so I made my own by combining 1 cup flour and 1 tbsp baking powder. The only beer I had on hand at the time was a case of Samuel Adams after going thru them my son and I decided on the Sam Adams Chocolate Beer -- definitely the perfect choice. Oh yes, I increased the sugar to 1/3 cup as noted by a few other reviewers. The next time I made it I followed some other suggestions and added a cup of Mexican Blend and Cheddar Jack Cheeses. Thats also good. This recipe is definitely a keeper. My husband and son ask for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This cake is really good. I made it when my sisters their husbands and children/grandchildren visited and everyone asked for the recipe. For the most part I followed the recipe exactly as is except for a few minor changes.... 1. I only had Captain Morgan Tatoo (dark rum) on hand, so thats what I used. It is incredibly flavorful. 2. Eliminated the nuts......I don't like nuts but no one missed the nuts. 3. I replaced the run called for in the glaze with Orange Juice since I am allergic to alcohol (unless its cooked off). Again, a fantastic cake. It is definitely a keeper in my house. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porus, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Wow..this was excellent! This was the first time I've ever used zucchini in baking. Absolutely follow substitution advice for less fat content; applesauce instead of oil made a big difference. And also used part brown sugar and honey in place of white sugar. Nuts would have been great but I was fresh out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Oh my God...EXCELLENT!!! I love wings but hate going out to buy them. This recipe was awesome. Took the advice on baking cuz I hate fried stuff. And DEFINITELY don't skip the fridge step!! Sauce wasn't hot enough for me though so I'll look through the stores for somethin to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Spiced Shark Steaks

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great recipie! My entire family loved it, including my 2 year old. Like everyone else I cut down on the salt. I eliminated the soy sauce and sub Jamaican sweet pineapple sauce by Nells Old Time. I also added 1 tbsp of fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Garlic Asparagus

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Excellent! I like asparagus but rarely cook it. Had to find a recipe for Xmas cuz my sister likes it. This was so easy, and everyone raved about it!! Followed the popular suggestions, using butter and olive oil, stir-fry and toss for 6-8 minutes, and garlic from the jar. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Tetrazzini

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This turned out very well...My Hubby ate evry bit. The tip to use 1cup milk & the other H2O for lactose intolerant people was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spanish Town, Saint Catherine, Jamaica
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States