Jamaica - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Simply awesome! I can choose between two different type of Sour Creams. The lighter(cheaper too) version which is also the more creamy, is the perfect one for this recipe. Otherwise I did everything exactly according to instruction. I love Parsley and Chive so much, therefor decided to doubled the amount on them. This Dip will from now on be the most of the time to find in our fridge. I just found a way to make a homemade Mayonnaise. I think this will make this recipe even better. That's a 5 Star recipe for me. Simple, inexpensive and unbelievable good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubadoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
Photo by Scubadoc

Black Magic Cake

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Awesome recipe! I made it, let it proper cool out and then put it in the fridge. No additional frosting. My family but I'm too are very happy that I'v found a way to make this cake by myself. It taste much better than buying a ready mix from the Supermarket. I also uploaded a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubadoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

Homemade Melt-In-Your-Mouth Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Unfortunately the recipe did not work out like I hoped. Now I try to finde out why the ingredients did not combine with the coconut oil. Maybe to much heat in the oil? I live in the tropics and I am wondering if I need to heat the oil at all even our coconut oil is always liquid? I will try it again but not before I found an reasonable explanation. Maybe somebody out there can help me on this. Still think it's a nice recipe and the picture of this recipe looks realy good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubadoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I usually don't review recipes, but WOW! I've struck gold. These pancakes are PERFECTION. I've been searching for a long time for the perfect pancake recipe & this is it. It's light, fluffy, sweet, just wonderful. I followed the recipe to the "T" but I poured a larger amount in the pan because I like my pancakes a little bigger than the recommended. I will never make another pancake recipe again. Can't wait to try it next time with some chocolate chips & fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diamondcandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegetarian Chickpea Sandwich Filling

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I added some cayenne pepper to make it a little spicier and substituted tartar sauce for the mayonnaise. This is a perfect alternative to the usual chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Discovery Bay, Saint Ann, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Chicken Stir Fry

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
very good recipe...i tried it today, made no adjustments and it came out just perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mandeville, Manchester, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nutty Butter Munchies

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
lovely really enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Foolproof Rosemary Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
i enjoyed this didn't discard the tips because i liked them use a 1/3 cup yogurt added some of the rosemary and coated the wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Mini Pumpkin Pies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
i'm not really a pumpkin fan but everyone who had these gave them rave reviews i added some chopped pecans for a little crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Black Forest Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
lovely lovely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Cranberry Walnut Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
excellent cookies made these for my kids and they loved them will definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Spiced Apple Drop Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
very good i substituted almonds for walnuts and added finely chopped apples along with the shredded loved it, my kids loved them so that makes it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Kahlua® Chocolate Cheesecake

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
wasnt bad when i made it first seem lacking so when i re-made it i added another 1/2 ounce chocolate and a teaspoon of instant coffee and a teaspoon of amaretto as well came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Fettucine with Green Peas&Ham in coconut sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
EVEN THOUGH ITS MINE I FIGURED I SHOULD RATE IT I REALLY ENJOYED MAKING THIS WAS THE FIRST FETTUCINE RECIPE I TRIED AND I MUST SAY IT CAME OUT WELL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Bread Pudding II

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made this pudding last night and I must say it was right on the ball. I hate deviating from a recipe and giving a good rating but there had to have been a baseline. I made the following changes I used a 9" x 13" casserole baking dish. Since I doubled the recipe I used 2 less eggs, 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 teaspoon mixed spice, I used the bread crust and ends. Great way to get the kids to eat them and also used 2 packets of whole milk powder to make the 4 cups of needed millk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey-Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portmore, Saint Catherine, Jamaica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
A great recipe!! Used a lot of different tips from other users, including onion and garlic, frozen carrots and peas and definitely adding oyster sauce. I've already made it a few times. Last night I tried it with brown rice...still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Salad I

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Great recipe all though, I would cut down the amount of french dressing as it made the ground beef just a tad sweet. Otherwise they were a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Cheesecakes III

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe, It was very creamy, not dry and not cakey like most of the recipes I've found. Although I would NOT use the lemon zest, I didnt like the citrusy tang it gave it althought it wasnt overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Manchester, Jamaica
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No-Knead Knot Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
love these simple and easy also excellent to use in your bread machine if u have one available!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica

Caribbean-Spiced Roast Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Oh Wow...amazing. Absolutely amazing and so juicy. Doubled up on lme juice and brown sugar for the marinade because I only had overproof white rum in the house (Ahh good ol' Wray & Nephew...a Jamaican staple). This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRLD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Andrew, Kingston, Jamaica
Living In: Spring Valley, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 76) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States