Israel - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Champion Dip

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I served this dip with a tray of crudites and my kids were fighting over the last cucumber spear. Even though I used a very heavy hand with the spice I still felt the dip was missing something. I added a tsp. of salt and a scant tsp. of sugar and it all came together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Sponge Pie I

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Light and luscious. I upped the lemon juice to 1/2 cup for a stronger lemon flavor. Next time I'll make it crustless for an even lighter dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bramboracky (Czech Savory Potato Pancakes)

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
These were good. Not quite like Jewish latkes - the seasoning gives it a different flavor - but tasty. Like others, I used a tsp. of cumin instead of caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pudding Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I was short on time so I made these into bars. Used oil instead of butter, replaced 1/4 c. flour with cocoa for a richer chocolaty taste, and then used a mixture of vanilla pudding and chocolate pudding, as well as peanut butter chips and chocolate chips. I baked it for around 12 minutes. It was delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
These muffins were everything they promised to be. I baked them as-is, no modifications, and they were delicious. A friend who was over at my place was raving about how delectably yummy they are. This one's a keeper. It's not the low fat or healthy recipe of the year, but well worth the indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Four-Cheese Pasta Florentine

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is an easy, creamy casserole. I used a soft white cheese rather than a brick of cream cheese. The one thing it sorely needed was flavor. I added 2 tsp. salt, 2 tsp. granulated garlic, 1 tsp. garlic, and 1 tsp. Italian seasoning. That helped give it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamaican Me Crazy Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
A filling, flavorful chili. I used ground chicken rather than beef to make it more healthy, and used a mixture of red and yellow pepper to make it more colorful. And I found that the cooking time was way too long — after ten minutes of simmering it started burning and sticking to the bottom of the pot. Once you do all the browning and sauteing doesn't need more than 15 cooking time tops. I served it over rice which was interesting; next time I may try mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Drew's World Famous Triple Rush Hot Chocolate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
WOW!!!!! I was leery of the combo of flavors, but it was incredible. I used half cup of milk—otherwise it would be way too strong—and also heated up all the milk so I wouldn't have a lukewarm drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Split Pea Soup I

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was thick and delicious - a perfect soup for cold winter nights. Even though I cooked it for four hours, the peas were still a little hard; next time I'd cook them for five hours. I'd also leave out the potatoes - they were bland and didn't add anything to the soup. I did, though, add a sweet potato I had lying around, and it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I found the consistency of this unpleasantly gelatinous, and it wasn't quite sweet enough either. I'll be going back to Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce, also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Oat Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
In 1 word: WOW! I loved these... they are so easy to make and come out perfect with only the recipe - as is. I guess lower fat substitutions can work out well here. I added some walnuts because they are just so good with bananas :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made these lovely muffins today and they came out nothing like the photo. Mine look like straight raisin-brand muffins (dark and bran-full). I used frozen blueberries and the outcome is moist and tasty. Not too sweet even though I upped the sugar a bit based on what other reviews suggested. All in all I like this muffin and will likely make again soon (with fresh blueberries this time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Cucumber Salad With Thai Sweet Chili Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I was bored of my regular cucumber salad so I tried this. It seems like the quantities are way off here. I used twice the amount of cucumbers but between the vinegar and chili sauce the salad was so sharp. It was edible the first time I served it, but after marinating for another day we just couldn't stomach it. I'm not trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was good. I didn't have gravy mix so I used a mix of onion soup mix and a liquid gravy base. Like others, I added about a 1/2 cup red wine to the crock pot and that gave it a touch of sweetness which helped balance the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Coconut Cookies

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is an excellent recipe that I tried because my mom loves coconut. It is super easy and just works. Tasty right out of the oven too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Shanghai Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Excellent. The only suggestion I have is to double the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Simple Oven Barbequed Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Totally loved it, so easy, and tastes like the real outdoor thing. Two comments -1) sprinkle a bit of oil on the chicken breasts before covering 2) VERY loosely with the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Pancakes

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
The only thing this shares with a pancake is the ingredients. It's an entirely different texture—kind of like a baked custard, very eggy and dense, sweet but not overly so. The family liked it but didn't love it; I loved the ease of preparations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Crinkles II

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
So here's the deal. The dough was utterly impossible to work with - soooo sticky, we had to add more and more and more flour just to be able to form cookies. But once we baked them, the cookies were delicious. Would I make them again? No way. But they do taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Sugar Biscotti

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Can't say I liked them - although dipped into coffee it was ok. The yield is off: the recipe made 20 cookies rather than 40.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States