Pakistan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

American Lasagna

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is GREAT.I made Lasagna first time and it came out perfect.I used oven ready lasagna sheets .Everyone loved it.I am going to make it again tommorow for play date
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sialkot, Punjab, Pakistan

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
great and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I loved the recipe. I had individually frozen tilapia fillets and used them I did not have cajun seasoning in the house so in a small bowl, I mixed 1 tsp each of cumin powder, corriander powder, chilli powder and like a 3/4 tsp salt and a 3/4 tsp black pepper powder. As my husband and I are spicy food eaters it was perfect for us. I rubbed the spices on both sides of the frozen fillets and followed the rest of the recipe, same amount of cooking time with lemon and greased dish. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I love it! I love it! I love it! Simply too good! I did follow a few suggestions by other reviewers: sauteed minced garlic and used only 1 1/2 cup of milk! I also added one TBS of mayonnaise. I didnt have parmesan, so i used cheddar instead and it turned out just fine! . I used two tsp of crushed green chillies to add more flavor! This recipe is a keeper! I will try it with fettucine next! Thank you for sharing the secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Lemon Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I tried this recipe. It turned out well in the taste however the filling was comparatively hard. I guess it’s because of the amount of gelatin. Since my family has a sweet tooth I had made a fresh strawberry sauce as a topping to go with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Special Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I've halved the recipe, it has now been more then an hour and the dough has not doubled in size!! I'm panicking now!! edit: the dough rose "almost" double in two hours. Now I'm waiting for the rolls to double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meenah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islamabad, Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Rolls II

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I put them in a glass roasting pan. and these scorched from th botton. i kept waiting for them to brown on the top but that never happened. and after 30 minutes they were scorched at the bottom. and the filling was all dry. im so upset. is it because of the glass? and the sugar did go all gooey and leak out either. it just came out and got stuck to the bottom of the bun and got burnt :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xephyr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sialkot, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I am new to cooking and found this recipe definitely very easy to make and even more delicious!the best part is the use of cocoa powder rather than chocolate squares! i follwed the recipe exactly as directed,though made it in a 7inch pan,and the cme out perfect,even looked exactly like the picture given.however,could somebody tell me if this is as much as they are supposed to rise?i mean arnt they a little thin?or is that how they are supposed to be?pleae let me know! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

Microwave Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Just tried this recipe. Yummy! I had loads of apple at home, but didnt know what to do with them so this was just perfect. It tasted wonderful, and even better with a scoop of almond ice cream :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fato

Classic Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
a very simple yet very delicious recipe,with ingredients that are always there at home!i made this,though didnt have celery,but it turned out great!also as recommended by reviews,i cut down the sugar...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

Best Chocolate Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
i was looking for a good chocolate cake recipe and this has to be it for me .. really yummy.. all my friends loved it. i tried it a couple of times, sometimes the sugar doesnt mix properly ! one way to resolve this is to crush the sugar before adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
You can also roll the dough between clear plastic wraps! works just as fine. Also, in order to ensure that the pie crust does not raise from the middle and the sides don't fold in here is a tip: After lining the pie tin with the dough, press in butter paper cut into a round shape and fill the tin with rice or baking beans. Bake in the oven, and then remove the rice/beans and save them for future use! the pie will be perfectly flat at the bottom and the sides will not fold in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scottish Shortbread IV

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Excellent recipe! The dough was a bit crumbly, and was difficult to transfer after the cutouts, but the baked result was too good and totally worth the effort! I flavored the cutouts individually with granulated sugar, a few with whole almods and the rest with freshly ground cinnamon. Thank you very much for sharing this absolutely delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Chocolate Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
it's the best recipe a chocolate lover can ever have! simple and delicious with no effort at all! simple euphoric!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bushra Khan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
it's one of the best recipes i have come across and it's very simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bushra Khan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
OMG, so good! The only thing different I did was to cut the oil down to 1 cup, use fresh tomatoes, add 1 tsp. of red chili, and 1/2 tsp of crushed chili pepper (I like my food HOT). Next time, I will cut down the simmering time to 20 mintes on medium- that way I have more broth left. Thank you so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Caramel Flan

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My brother wanted creamy flan. He was sick of me buying them from the grocery store all the time, so I decided to make this highly rated flan. And he loves it!!! I too was a bit scared with the water and towel bit but everything turned out beautifully. I took the advice of one reviewers (my heartfelt thanks) and kept my pan in the oven til I was ready with the caramel and then poured it in the warm pan. I then put it back in the warm oven and left it there til I had the flan mixture prepped. What a wonderful idea. Oh, I don't know what the other's mean about it being a cheesecake or a different sweet dish and not flan... to me it's flan. Not eggy... no hard... just rich creamy flan! Wonderful! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baklava

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I can't stop eating this (not good for the diet- LOL). No problems with the phyllo dough. I got the twin pack from Walmart & used the plastic sheet they were rolled in to use as a buffer between the dough & the damp towel. Used a small chopper for the pecans halves, then transfered them to a skillet to roast. Then, I added cinnamon & 1/4 cup sugar to the pecans. Those who are confused on how to do the dough & nut steps- NOTE: do 2 sheets & butter 4 times (so there are 8 sheets total) & then do butter & sprinkle 2-3 TBSP. of pecans after laying of each 2 sheets. Do this until you have 8 sheets left & go back to just butter & dough. Cut butter (salted) to half & used that with butter spray. PERFECT. I baked it at 325 for about 40 mins. until top was golden. Those having problems with the top layer sliding off- TIP: while cutting into sqaures/diamnonds, use your fingers to press down (not to hard but still quite firmly) on the top layer as you cut along. I had no top layer falling off with me. I had made 1 1/2 of the syrup recipe & found it a bit much. I'll make the exact amount next time. I also made the syrup ahead of time & had it in the fridge even before I got started on chopping the nuts. Overall, this was so easy to make, best baklava I have ever had, & was fun to do (took me 45 mins. to do the layering, 10 for the syrup & 40 mins to cook). EXCELLENT RECIPE & thank you for posting this Donna. To the ladies who gave such helpful suggestions: YOU ROCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I made it exactly as the recipe directed. It turned out to be perfect! Great consistency,texture, color. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
an excellent easy , and a quick recipie only thing i added to the recipie was a layer of saute'd chopped onions and diced fresh mushrooms with little bit of oregano added to the mashed potato , and then layered it with cheese my kids cant have enough of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-46 (of 46) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States