Pakistan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Samia Asaad

Thai Pineapple Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Thanks Nelly for the wonderful recipe. However, I made few variations to it by adding mushrooms, zucchini and spring onions instead of bamboo shoots. It turned out very well and the family loved the coco nutty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samia Asaad

Colonial Brown Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Great Recipe. I also used 1tbsp vinegar in each 1 cup of milk as a substitute for buttermilk and it turned out really well. Besides this I also added crushed almonds on the top that made it very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made it without the icing in a bunt cake mold and yet it turned out very well and the family loved it. Thanks Autumn/Fall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samia Asaad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lipardo's Puto Seco

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
It's one of the best sugar cookies I've ever baked so far. It's simple, easy to make, less greasy and tasty. In every recipe, you're free to make some adjustments based on your preferences. To sum it up, it's so nutritious and delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Lourdes V. Lipardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Photo by Fato

Deep Dish Brownies

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I have made these brownies many times and they turn out great every time! thanx to them i have come to be known as the BEST brownie maker!They are definitely NOT deep dish,but are the most FUDGIEST brownies ever!follow the suggestions by previous reviewers: (1) use 2 eggs (2)omit the baking powder (3) increase the cocoa powder by 1/4 cup i made them in a medium sized round pan and sprinkled walnuts on top before baking..DIVINE!! the reason for 4 stars is becaiuse of the changes that need to be made to the original recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Wow, it was just PERFECT.I made just one change and used one cup brown sugar and one cup white sugar, instead of both white.Brown sugar gives it a perfect color.Cake turned out pretty soft and moist, though next time I will squeeze some of the juice out of the shredded carrots so the cake is a bit firm so when I cut it ,it doesnt brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SadieKhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SadieKhan

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Better than the ones I had previously made using a youtube recipe,but mine turned out a bit dry,guess it has got to do with the cooking oil I used instead of margarine.A bit labor intense hopefully my next try will be better than this one.Thank you :) Update: I have a small coffee shop and trust me this recipe is a great hit at my cafe`. When I use margarine these babies come out perfectly moist.Love it so does my customers. Thank you again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SadieKhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Apple Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I just made an apple pie , not exactly followed the recipe mentioned here,I just used the filling recipe and made the crust using 2 cups all purpose flour with one tsp salt and 1/2 cup shortening. my pie turned out so yummy.I also added some golden syrup into the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SadieKhan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe last night with my boys and we all agree it is hands down the best chocolate chip recipe ever. Next time I`ll put a little less chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Islamabad, Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Living In: Placentia, California, USA

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This cake is absolutely fabulous! A treat for all chocolate lovers! And oh soooo easy! This recipe is very forgiving, it is quite difficult to go wrong with this one if you keep a few tips in mind. First of all, make sure you use LARGE eggs, otherwise you will end up with brownies instead of a luscious cake. Do not cut back on the soda or the baking powder, as they are the key to the cake structure. I also upped the cocoa to one cup and the result was any chocolate lover's fantasy. The cake was very moist, almost creamy yet with the firmness of a cake. I topped it with toblerone ganache and it worked perfectly with the bittersweet taste of the cake. Make sure you line the pan with parchment. The cake is so fudgy that IT WILL stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tortillas II

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Super recipe - didn't have to change a thing. For people who are having a hard time rolling these out, you might want to knead these for a bit to get the dough to a nice, silky consistency. I covered and kept them for about half and hour instead of 15 minutes. The finished tortillas were so good and they were not crispy at all. Used these with the Pico de gallo chicken quesadillas recipe from this site. Yummy! Having the leftovers for lunch today :)Almost forgot to mention - I substituted butter for the lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pico de Gallo Chicken Quesadillas

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
These were excellent. I followed the directions exactly, although I omitted the cilantro and jalapeno because I didn't have those on hand - just used a tiny green chilli instead. Made these with the Tortillas II recipe from this site and wowie! Pico de gallo rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Smoked Salmon Pasta

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was alright but not amazing. As other reviewers suggested, I used crushed garlic instead of powder. I didn't have any Romano cheese so I used a bit of cheddar and then we sprinkled powdered Parm on top. Still this could have probably used some cream. Although on the up side, the skim milk made it a lot healthier and it wasn't a terrible dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
this cake is superb. i am baking this cake in a 18x10 dish. i just put second layer of my cake into oven. and i was hardly able to stop my self from keep on "trimming the sides" of the first one. even without any frosting, its superb. i did not have baking soda so i used 3 teaspoons of baking powder. still it came out great. though next time i sure will try it with baking soda and check the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dua-e-meer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Just a hint for all those living around the equator, keep some ice cubes handy while blending during hot summers. Add a couple of ice cubes in intervals and soft butter will surface in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon for the Family or a Crowd

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great idea, tried this and it was so much easier and better than using a frying pan. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Great recipe. I'm not really an experienced cook so I read the reviews carefully. I added some veggies as some suggested and used milk instead of cream in order to reduce calories. I also added the flour tablespoon by tablespoon and found that I only needed 4 tablespoons and not 3/4 cup as the recipe suggested. I also needed less butter. I added mushrooms and carrots as well which made it really hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ath-Thareed. (shredded bread with broth and meat).

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBA Khan.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Living In: Dammam, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mixed Vegetable Pulao

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Italian Beef for Sandwiches

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I made this first time for my retirement party in 2008. Made a double batch and it was a hit. I am made it a second time several months ago and was not enough because some of our friends like to pile up the meat. I am making a 7 lb roast tomorrow to celebrate a group birthday dinner. Can't wait. I love Portillo's Italian Beef but this is better than that. I am already salivating. Rose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 46) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States