Maharashtra - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This cake was a success and I got a lot of compliments when I made it for company. The only reason for giving 4 stars and not five is that I made a few modifications after reading other reviews, which I believe improved the cake. To begin with I used 2 apples and I grated them instead of chopping them. I increased the cinamon to 2 tsps. and the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1/2 tsp of salt. I used a 9x5 inch loaf pan and layered like this - spread half the batter then topped with half the brown sugar cinnamon mixture, swirled it into the batter and then added a layer of half the apples and repeated this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Beans Curry (Tangy and Spicy gravy)

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I love it. Its so yummy and easy to cook with minimum ingredients found in any Indian Kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desi_Gal_Gayatri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Made this cake twice already. The first time followed the recipe exactly. It was great the first day when just baked. But when I ate the leftovers out of the fridge the next day, the cake totally changed consistency. It was hard and too dense. Warming it in the microwave for a few secs set it right. Guess the mayo sort of solidified in the fridge or something. The next time, instead of mayo used 1/2 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. This time it was perfect. Great flavor and texture even the next day straight out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksg

Chewy Oatmeal Cookies I

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My first attempt at making cookies and I was very pleased ! The only reason why I'm rating only 4 stars and not the full 5 is that I didn't stick exactly to the recipe, made the following changes: used whole wheat flour, no nuts, doubled the chocolate chips. However, these were not really chewy. They turned out crisp on the outside and soft and cake like on the insides. We loved them. Will definite make these again !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Chicken Burgers with Feta

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved it. Instead of the fresh basil and sun dried tomatoes, I used a basil pesto and sundried tomato pesto.. I shallow fried them for just a bit before putting them on the BBQ so it didn't crumble.. put 2 eggs instead of one. Instead of bread crumbs, just pulverized a toast. :) Nailed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pune, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
If really light and fluffy pancakes are what you are looking for then this is definitely your recipe. However I took the suggestions of some other reviewers and diddle some changes. I reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, increased the sugar to 3 tbsps and added 1 tbsp of vanilla extract. The taste was good though not excellent. Also the batter is thicker than most pancake batters but it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Health Nut Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
A good healthy fibre rich muffin. Made a few changes though - used all whole wheat flour, 2 bananas, brown sugar, I cup milk with a tbsp of lemon instead of buttermilk. I was happy with the results. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
The recipe was perfect. Even the baking time was perfect. Only minor alteration that I made was to add 1 tsp of baking powder and to mash the bananas (as suggested by other reviewers) and add a tsp of cinnamon powder. I ended up with a loaf that was just perfectly moist and had the perfect taste - just the right sweetness. I'm definitely gonna make this more !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this recipe for Christmas Eve dinner today, and it was great! We didn't have all the ingredients, so I made a few substitutions (red onion instead of sweet onion and brown sugar instead of white sugar). I did not bother putting the potatoes, onions, and olive oil mixture in a Ziploc bag. I just dumped it in the same large bowl I used for the beets and mixed everything with my hands. Anyway, it complemented the turkey and other sides perfectly-- thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by my recipes

CHICKEN KORMA

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
i keep making this recipe...its loved by everyone in my house ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Not an authentic Alfredo sauce but definitely a delicious cheese sauce. I guess the difference is the absence of cream. Followed the recipe exactly. Only difference was that instead of garlic powder I added 2 cloves of grated garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My-Hop Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This is a great recipe. Followed it exactly. Except let the batter sit for just about 30 mins. Used milk and increased the lemon as suggested. Lovely light, fluffy pancakes !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Peanut Butter Squares

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Yummy! I made some alterations to this recipe, thanks to the helpful reviewers here. Used 1 and 3/4 cups of graham cracker crumbs, used 1 tbsp of butter for the chocolate topping and 2 cups of milk chocolate chips. I also used natural peanut butter, but that's just my personal preference. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I've followed dozens of cookie recipes from this site, and this recipe is in my top five. I don't deviate from the instructions except for using 1/2 cup of milk chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. I bake them for just 12 minutes, and they come out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coctilis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Egg Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Awesome. I was so excited when it turned out so good. Olive oil flavor comes out so clear. Will try it with different variations. I am sure I will never BUY a mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Risotto

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Great tasting risotto, but is extremely heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gagan Gupta
Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Risotto with Tomato, Corn and Basil

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
The risotto was rich with universally appealing taste. All quantities and directions were perfect. I made this using a Maggi cube for broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gagan Gupta
Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Perfect brownies but bad frosting ! The brownies themselves are delicious ! They turn out perfect. Nice and crusty on top and nice and gooey on the inside. I followed the recipe exactly and beat it by hand not in an electric beater. Also the baking time is important. Mine was perfect on 30 mins. However the icing was a huge disappointment. Overly sweet and also the honey added a strange flavor. I chose not to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Niqui Khan

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Lovely so so so soft bread. Reduced sugar to 1/4 cup to suit my taste. Going to make only this recipe and none other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Love this one!!!!! its so smooth and yummy. just couldn't stop eating this one. Topped it with loads of chocolate mousse and it was heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashwini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pune, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 69) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States