Tokyo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Ninety Minute Cinnamon Rolls

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The best quick cinnamon roll recipe that I've ever used. The best cinnamon roll recipe that I've ever used, period!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Favour

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Best Lasagna I ever had. My whole family loved it. It's diffinitly a keeper in our family for years to come. Thank you for your recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCASEY816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Ghent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Avocado, Tomato and Mango Salsa

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Hands down the best salsa I've ever made. This just adds credence to my friends' claims that tortilla chips were invented as mere vehicles for salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Favour

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Tofu Creamed Spinach

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
The concept of this dish was interesting. I found it a little bit bland. I added some tamari on top at the end. Maybe I need to play with this recipe a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Chickpea Salad II

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the taste was great. I was surprised that it didn't need salt (something I am trying to cut out). Next time, I would replace the green pepper with red pepper, and add cucumber as suggested by others. I would make this again. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is a favorite in my house. A few days before cooking, I will thaw the meat. Once it is thawed, I rub the meat with seasonings (black pepper, onion powder, garlic, etc.) I also cut little slits in the meat and insert crushed garlic in the wholes. I let it season for about a day! I sear the meat in a pan and then transfer it to the slow cooker. The meat is so much more flavorful and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan

Macadamia Nut Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made 2 batches: semi sweet dark chocolate and the other white chocolate. I experimented with 1/2 shortening 1/2 butter, but I didn't notice a significant difference from all butter. Maybe a tad lighter? 1/2 vanilla 1/2 almond extract. The butter was salted and so were the nuts so I didn't add salt. 4 stars because they were good but no magic. I make cookies and give them out as alternative to having friendly conversation, try it, it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Dreams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Ikebukuro, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This recipe is completely solid. (Not to mention delicious!) I've made it in batches big enough for upwards of 100 people and it's never failed me! Plus it's vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vintage Favour

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Beef and Vegetable Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I love this recipe. It's very flavourful! Only one thing I added was a half cup of red wine. I'm sure I will make it many times during this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sarah's Applesauce

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It's awesome! Tonight is about the fifth time I've made it and it always comes out good. I use Fuji apples since we live in Japan and I just can't rave about it enough....! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iloveavocados

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Garlic Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious! Just had it for dinner tonight...at first thought it might be too much garlic but it turned out great! Was flavorful and moist and even my husband loved it..thanks for giving us a quick easy dinner option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iloveavocados

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shibuya, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Playgroup Granola Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very good granola bar for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Snickerdoodles II

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Great! I did add about 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to the batter and that jazzed up the cookie quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pie Crust III

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This is so easy. The cold water does need to be very cold. The key is to not over handle the dough. This recipe can be frozen and used at a later time. I also refrigerated overnight and got good results. I love being able to use canola rather than butter or shortening. I also love the ease of just pushing into the pie pan rather than rolling out. When I do roll out, I find it is easiest to roll out between to pieces of plastic wrap. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~melissa~

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've been making this cheesecake several times and i made some improvisations, I use pie pastry instead of cookie crumb crust. After I baked the pie for 15 minutes, I arrange fresh strawberries on it before pouring in the cheesecake batter. Then I bake it as directions. It was a big hit and everyone loves it! When you slice the cake, the strawberries would be very decorative! I'll add the photo after this, hope you like it! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~melissa~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

Vinegar Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These cookies are wonderful. They leave you with a crisp buttery cookie. The only thing I changed was I added 1 tsp of vanilla for a sweeter taste. So easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan

Jay's Signature Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Make sure you stretch the dough out really thin, ours puffed up really thick in the oven becuase we did not stretch it out enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Apple Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Sooo delicious! I followed the recipe exactly (except for shredding the apples. I will use less brown sugar next time (but I guess it really depends on the sweetness of your apples.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic and Pepper Shrimp

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This recipe is SO good! I didn't have crushed red pepper, so I substituted it with cayenne pepper, but it came out so good. Nice spicy after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
this recipe is a SUPERB~!!! this is the 1st i'm making cheesecake and it turned out really GREAT~!! :DD I added some whole blueberries and raspberries in the batter and the whole family loves it~! thanx a Lot~ =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~melissa~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States