Okinawa - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Husband and 3yo liked it, they added some raisins and raspberry vinigrette to tone own the lemon. My Brussel sprouts were smaller, so maybe that's why the lemon was a little much - but I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It was great, but I think I will take out the tablespoon of sugar. Do not overheat the onions or garlic or they will turn bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious - wonderful on bagels... my only complaint is that I couldn't eat it fast enough before it went bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Macaroons I

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
delicious! Used unsweetened coconut and chocolate, but ended up adding more sugar. Very forgiving recipe - mixed all the dry ingredients before realizing I shouldn't... Whoops... But we managed by beating the egg whites with extra sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos)

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dish. One big change I made out of necessity- I had to use salsa verde in lieu of tomatillos. Since the salsa verde already had jalapenos, it was a pretty good sub. I also added oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, if you are using fresh cilantro, add it towards the end of cooking, it allows for a brighter cilantro taste. It's a good rule of culinary thumb to add dry spices at the beginning, and fresh at the end. I really suggest you eat this dish on top of cilantro lime rice, or with tortillas. Also it really does age well, so you can make this dish a day before, and let it sit in the fridge, lets the flavors mellow and really mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband and daughter LOVED THIS!!! I don't do seafood, but they love it. For once I made something that was a HUGE hit!!! I couldn't find Calamari tubes, so I got a calamari steak and cut it up. They ate every bit of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Kadena Ab, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very good... just wish there was a way to cut out some butter ;/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I used walnuts instead of pecans and Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppermint Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
NOT impressed. Peppermint stuck to the cookie sheets- what a mess! At least the crumbles tasted good. NEVER again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Dill Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent! I took away a start for needlessly complicating the recipe, simple keep it in the pot and cook like regular rice, takes about 15 minutes. No need to take up time and space in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Excellent. Here are ways to help people with the icing problem! 1. Let the cake completely cool. If the cake is warm or hot the icing will melt into a gooey mess. Keep it cool! 2. Freeze the cake slightly for easy slicing, the more cold the frosting is, the less likely it is to leak. 3. Use a nice sharp knife and quickly slice through the cake. Make sure to not put to much pressure on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Spiced Cider

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The sugar made it waay to sweet, but without it the recipe is delish! Makes the house smell like Autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Easy to assemble and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HShanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Pan-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
enjoyed by the whole family---putting it into the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

Banana Trifle

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
really really good- warning: eat right away---the whipped cream gets runny when left overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
followed recipe except used chicken tenders---was really good but needed "something"---added a few shakes of garlic salt and that did it. will be making again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Delish!!! I couldn't stop eating it. I am 6 months pregnant so I used the mild version of everything and so far so good... no heartburn. I also used lean ground beef to cut the calories/fat and diced tomatoes instead of sauce I didn't miss a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Konnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
It was alright, I followed what the other reviewers said and added peppers later. I thought the meat was far too overdone and the whole mess was watery. My husband seemed to like it. I think this recipe's heart is in the right place, I will have to play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
very good! Crispy on the outside chewy on the inside... it's like a 'professional' chocolate chip cookie. I added some white chocolate chips in to add some variety, but the recipe is great! This will now become 'My' recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Minestrone

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Best one I have found so far! Very light, just how real minestrone supposed to be. To other raters who like more tomatoes or more of a thicker soup, please go ahead and modify it. But please dont say this is not good. This recipe is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Cuadra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States