Japan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
As some other suggested, I changed the recipe a bit; adding some peanut butter, lime juice, garlic, sprouts, and using sesame oil instead of olive oil. Turned out pretty good. Very nice color, though it was thicker than I expected it to be. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margarita Slush Punch

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for a baby shower, but I revised it a bit, using the technique I saw on a video on this website: I mixed the concentrates, the powdered sugar, 2 cans of water & some (sorry, I'm not much of a measurer), Margarita mix for flavor in a bowl. Then I poured the mixture into a plastic bag that was inside a pitcher for stability (the recipe is best divided into 2 gallon size zip lock bags). Then, I put those in the freezer over night (or however long ahead you want). Then just before serving, I put the frozen mixture in a punch bowl and added two cans of lemon-lime soda and two cans of club soda and mixed it until it was all slushy. Everyone loved it and said it was very refreshing!...and I only now realized I forgot to add the garnish of thinly cut limes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Margarita Punch

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for a baby shower, but I revised it a bit, using the technique I saw on a video on this website: I mixed the concentrates, the powdered sugar, 2 cans of water & some (sorry, I'm not much of a measurer), Margarita mix for flavor in a bowl. Then I poured the mixture into a plastic bag that was inside a pitcher for stability (the recipe is best divided into 2 gallon size zip lock bags). Then, I put those in the freezer over night (or however long ahead you want). Then just before serving, I put the frozen mixture in a punch bowl and added two cans of lemon-lime soda and two cans of club soda and mixed it until it was all slushy. Everyone loved it and said it was very refreshing!...and I only now realized I forgot to add the garnish of thinly cut limes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Flan

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was looking for a gluten free but delicious dessert, so I decided to try this recipe for a baby shower and it turned out perfectly! The only changes I made were to increase the carmelized sugar to 2 batches of 3/4 cup (I increased the 2/3 to 3/4, but that still wasn't enough, so I repeated it...next time I'll do 1+ cup with some water) and to use almond flavoring instead of the vanilla. Everyone LOVED it--even people who didn't usually like flan! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Seared Tuna

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very simple and easy to make. Flavorful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basmati Rice

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
It came out really nice, but a significant portion of the rice ended up stuck to the pot. Is there a way to avoid this? Am I using the wrong kind of pot? Anyway, the rice itself was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was a really simple and easy side dish. Pretty nice, but I felt like it needed something a little more. Might try it with soy sauce next time. Overall, solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aw-some Coleslaw

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Excellent and simple. Like others I halved the sugar and it was fine. Keeps well for a few days too. Add a handful of seeds (sesame/sunflower) for a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Pork with Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Not bad. I'm going to play with this one a little bit to get it closer to what I was looking for. I ended up adding some fresh ginger to get the sauce the way I wanted it. I agree with other reviewers that it does require some more heat, I'm adding red pepper next time. I'm not a big pork eater, this has potential and worth another attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Korma

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was pretty good. I don't understand why it's cooked in the oven though, as I thought Indian curries are usually prepared in a saucepan, but it works so I'm not complaining. Anyway, it's super easy and quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Good stuff! As some other reviewers recommended, I dropped the salt from the marinade, and just added it to taste as the sauce was thickening in the final stages. A lot of the ingredients are not available in my area, so I left out the jalapeño (but threw in some habañero hot sauce), and substituted regular chili powder for the cayenne. Still came out great. My girlfriend really liked it too but she was mad at me so she wouldn't say so until the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
As an American expat living in Japan, it's really hard to find Honey Mustard in my local grocery stores. This recipe is a godsend. I had no idea it was so simple. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Dill Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent! I took away a start for needlessly complicating the recipe, simple keep it in the pot and cook like regular rice, takes about 15 minutes. No need to take up time and space in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Excellent. Here are ways to help people with the icing problem! 1. Let the cake completely cool. If the cake is warm or hot the icing will melt into a gooey mess. Keep it cool! 2. Freeze the cake slightly for easy slicing, the more cold the frosting is, the less likely it is to leak. 3. Use a nice sharp knife and quickly slice through the cake. Make sure to not put to much pressure on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Spiced Cider

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The sugar made it waay to sweet, but without it the recipe is delish! Makes the house smell like Autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lumpia (Shanghai version)

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These were good but the flavors were a little mellow the first time around. The next time, I let the filling rest in the fridge for 24 hours. This allowed the flavors in the meat to develop more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional Irish coffee

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Delicious! I'm only rating this to see if it prompts whoever review things to make it public so other users can see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Made the recipe as written. I found this was more like a bran muffin than a traditional cornbread muffin. A little on the sweet side. Not bad, just different. Trying to move more to a vegan diet. I'll play around with this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years until last night I baked this at 160 Celcius degree for 25 minutes and it came out moist. Try it. At 170, I personally think it came out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aw-some Coleslaw

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made this to go with pulled pork and it was awesome. I made this as directed except I used bagged lettuce. I used it today, for a wedding I was cooking for. Changed the serving size to 80 and it still tastes awesome. Can't wait till we eat it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States