Japan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Chicken Korma

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was pretty good. I don't understand why it's cooked in the oven though, as I thought Indian curries are usually prepared in a saucepan, but it works so I'm not complaining. Anyway, it's super easy and quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Tikka Masala

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Good stuff! As some other reviewers recommended, I dropped the salt from the marinade, and just added it to taste as the sauce was thickening in the final stages. A lot of the ingredients are not available in my area, so I left out the jalapeño (but threw in some habañero hot sauce), and substituted regular chili powder for the cayenne. Still came out great. My girlfriend really liked it too but she was mad at me so she wouldn't say so until the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
As an American expat living in Japan, it's really hard to find Honey Mustard in my local grocery stores. This recipe is a godsend. I had no idea it was so simple. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Dill Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excellent! I took away a start for needlessly complicating the recipe, simple keep it in the pot and cook like regular rice, takes about 15 minutes. No need to take up time and space in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Granny Kat's Pumpkin Roll

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Excellent. Here are ways to help people with the icing problem! 1. Let the cake completely cool. If the cake is warm or hot the icing will melt into a gooey mess. Keep it cool! 2. Freeze the cake slightly for easy slicing, the more cold the frosting is, the less likely it is to leak. 3. Use a nice sharp knife and quickly slice through the cake. Make sure to not put to much pressure on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Spiced Cider

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The sugar made it waay to sweet, but without it the recipe is delish! Makes the house smell like Autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lumpia (Shanghai version)

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
These were good but the flavors were a little mellow the first time around. The next time, I let the filling rest in the fridge for 24 hours. This allowed the flavors in the meat to develop more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional Irish coffee

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Delicious! I'm only rating this to see if it prompts whoever review things to make it public so other users can see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Made the recipe as written. I found this was more like a bran muffin than a traditional cornbread muffin. A little on the sweet side. Not bad, just different. Trying to move more to a vegan diet. I'll play around with this one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years until last night I baked this at 160 Celcius degree for 25 minutes and it came out moist. Try it. At 170, I personally think it came out too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aw-some Coleslaw

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made this to go with pulled pork and it was awesome. I made this as directed except I used bagged lettuce. I used it today, for a wedding I was cooking for. Changed the serving size to 80 and it still tastes awesome. Can't wait till we eat it tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa with Chickpeas and Tomatoes

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
AWESOME!!!! Try sprinkling some crumbled feta in. Gives it a nice flavor! This one went right in my recipe box!!!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Easy to assemble and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HShanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anytime Fruit Salad

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Delicious fruit salad. I like another reviewer blend my cottage cheese in a food processor for a smooth texture and I also add marshmallows to it. I make it the night before so that the flavors blend well. I've made this to take to pot lucks and it is always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Delicious & MOIST! Followed the recipe just as is written. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Norwegian Pancakes - Pannekaken

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Not very flavorful - sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Made these for my hubby who LOVES the ones from that famous seafood restaurant chain. They came out wonderful, but as the other reviewers said, use more cheese. I also used milk in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith
Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe really does yield soft fluffy pancakes(even when they're cold). My daughter loves it everytime I make them. I added a bit of vanilla essence to give it more flavor. Will be using this recipe and this recipe only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Really 4 1/2 stars. Next time I make this I will use a variety of lentil other than red. The red ones turned too much to mush. Used kale instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread)

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
So, so, so incredibly good!!! Added raisins and used bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States