Japan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was fabulous...especially on my chocolate pound cake. Like others I did add a pinch of salt and some strawberry extract. It was so good I actually saved the extra frosting, placed it in the freezer and ate it later on a spoon!! Thank you for the recipe..this is THE one if you want a strawberry frosting that is real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Easy and Delicious! When I read the recipe, 1 tsp salt sounded a little too much salt to me, so I went with my gut feeling and only added 1/2 tsp salt. I think it was perfect that way, I didn't want it to be any saltier. Second time I tried it, I added 1 tbsp sugar and 1/2 tsp salt. This version came out great too. Both times I used real buttermilk. If you have any doubts about adding a whole teaspoon of salt, my suggestion is to try making it with 1/2 tsp salt first, and then see if you want it any saltier. This is going to be my go-to recipe for pancakes from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Filling II

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Really like this filling. My mother always used tapioca in her berry pies, but I had never heard of using it in apple pies before. I did add a bit of water only because my apples were not producing much liquid. Not sure what I did wrong but it turned out great. Will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennerstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

Chocolate Macaroons I

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
delicious! Used unsweetened coconut and chocolate, but ended up adding more sugar. Very forgiving recipe - mixed all the dry ingredients before realizing I shouldn't... Whoops... But we managed by beating the egg whites with extra sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos)

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dish. One big change I made out of necessity- I had to use salsa verde in lieu of tomatillos. Since the salsa verde already had jalapenos, it was a pretty good sub. I also added oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, if you are using fresh cilantro, add it towards the end of cooking, it allows for a brighter cilantro taste. It's a good rule of culinary thumb to add dry spices at the beginning, and fresh at the end. I really suggest you eat this dish on top of cilantro lime rice, or with tortillas. Also it really does age well, so you can make this dish a day before, and let it sit in the fridge, lets the flavors mellow and really mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I was really looking forward to this one. But is was bland. Somthing seemed to be missing but I couldn't pin point of what was missing.....my husband seemed to like it just fine....but I don't think I will be making it again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made this three times now in the last month for different parties and it's been a huge hit each time! I follow the recipe to the "T". It is so fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasties II

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made these a bunch of times, the only regular changes the addition of carrot for a bit of color, butter for margarine, and an egg wash to make the crust pretty. Just like with steaks, if I've got a really good cut of meat, the simple seasoning here is fine. It's just when I've got an ordinary bit of meat that I need to up the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I tried this with the mayo and didn't notice much difference between my regular every day scrambled eggs. I have made scrambled eggs with sour cream and basil or dill mixed in and had good results......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodysan
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hummus III

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is a decent recipe, but it came out a bit dry. I would added a bit of water while blending, and it still didn't help so much. Next time, I'll try with more lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband and daughter LOVED THIS!!! I don't do seafood, but they love it. For once I made something that was a HUGE hit!!! I couldn't find Calamari tubes, so I got a calamari steak and cut it up. They ate every bit of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Kadena Ab, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Hummus

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I really like this Hummus but have made some changes to fit my needs. 1. I love spicy things so I added about a 1 tsp of Sriracha chili sauce 2. I'm also am addicted to garlic so I used 3 cloves and 3 shakes of Lawrys garlic salt. 3. I seasoned it with paprika, ground turmeric root, and homemade basil olive oil. DELICIOUS :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RadTASHIC88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I usually don't like cream cheese in my main dishes due to personal tastes but we loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZAKIAH

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Trick is not to overbake these rolls to get them nice and soft. Overbaking will dry them out. Very delish indeed. Made pizza rolls using the same dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAKIAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gombak, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: Okayama, Okayama, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GUYGLORIOUS

Banana Pancakes I

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great stuff! Followed the advice of others and added cinnamon and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUYGLORIOUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This dish was simple, and it was quick. My whole family loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCASEY816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Ghent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Unbaked Cherry Cheesecake Ever

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
perfect!!Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariko
Living In: Hamamatsu, Shizuoka, Japan

Pasta veggie bake

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and actually, everyone loved it, but I made some revisions: I had to use pre-cooked bacon because prosciutto isn't available where I live, also, I thought it would become really soggy if I put it in the butter/tomato mixture, so I just mixed the bacon and some extra minced garlic right into the veggies and pasta before tossing them with the butter/tomato mixture. Which brings me to the butter--it's too much. Next time, I will use only 1/4 cup of butter mixed with most of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Oh, I just read other reviews and realized I was not alone in thinking it was too much butter and needed some of the sun-dried tomato oil!! Anyway, it was delicious when those changes were made! Next time, I want to put in pine nuts and maybe even some pesto...definitely some fresh basil! Oh, ps, I used gluten free pasta and it worked fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Veggies

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I made this for a potluck, and actually, everyone loved it, but I made some revisions: I had to use pre-cooked bacon because prosciutto isn't available where I live, also, I thought it would become really soggy if I put it in the butter/tomato mixture, so I just mixed the bacon and some extra minced garlic right into the veggies and pasta before tossing them with the butter/tomato mixture. Which brings me to the butter--it's too much. Next time, I will use only 1/4 cup of butter mixed with most of the oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Oh, I just read other reviews and realized I was not alone in thinking it was too much butter and needed some of the sun-dried tomato oil!! Anyway, it was delicious when those changes were made! Next time, I want to put in pine nuts and maybe even some pesto...definitely some fresh basil! Oh, ps, I used gluten free pasta and it worked fine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camp Zama, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
delicious just the way it is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States