Japan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I used a bag of shredded sharp cheddar cheese and a bag of shredded Parmesan cheese. Used a food processor to make it easier. But it was hard to cut into square so I kept rolling it out and kept cutting out with a small flower cookie cutter. They came out wonderful and cheesy. But next time I will try and shred cheese on my own to see if that tastes better than a bag of shredded cheese from the grocery store. For some reason I think it will.....:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I am a huge fan of Chef John. But this was just ok to me. Did not like the thyme, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard in it. My husband said he wanted to taste more cheddar cheese. I think mustard and Worcestershire sauce overpowered it so he could not taste cheese. I am sorry but this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Sweet Corn Bread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The best corn bread ever!!! My husband loves cornbread and he gave me his thumb up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Potato Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Very basic potato soup. Too bland. But if you add chopped green onions right before you serve it tastes a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Grandmother's Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I usually don't bother to write any comments, but wow, I just wanted to thank you for sharing your recipe! It came out perfectly perfect! Crispy on top and very soft, moist and fluffy inside - can't believe I was able to do this at home! (I substituted butter to Crisco shortening and white sugar to brown suger for being health conscious.) I look forward to adding fruits, nuts and chocolate next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maikodadz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cagayan De Oro, Misamis Oriental, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Orange Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was a very good recipe but I liked Chef John's Spicy Asian Chicken Wings recipe more so I gave this recipe only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Bacon and Date Appetizer

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I loved these and so did my friend. I could not find pitted dates so I had to manually remove the pits first so I could put almonds in them. So it took a little while but they were awesome. I baked in 350 degrees oven till bacon looked crisp.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Pepperoni Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Always this dip seemts to be a hit. I think I will put it in a crock pot next time so it stays warm like some other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I dunno what I did wrong, but the sauce curdled and got kind of dry. It still tasted good, just had a different texture than I think it's supposed to. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Brunch Omelet

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very good, but I think the ingredient list is supposed to say 1 1/2 CUPS of cheese... not POUNDS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I didn't expect it to be that good cause it was too easy, lol. I didn't use red pepper flakes but it was still good. I never liked frozen broccoli but this recipe changed my mind, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiyo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Wow, my daughter was the one told me this was very good dish so I tried it when I had companies. They all raved it. One of them took a copy of this recipe before he headed home. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It was great, but I think I will take out the tablespoon of sugar. Do not overheat the onions or garlic or they will turn bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Fig Pork Roast

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Overall I enjoyed this recipe, and would really give it 41/2 stars. Like others I served with couscous, added raisins and other dried fruits to the sauce. The next time I make this I'm going to try it with bone-in, skin on chicken thighs and increase the spices. I would serve this at a dinner party if I knew the guests appreciated ethnic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Sunomono

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was awesome!!! Very easy to prepare and my husband loved it!!! Thank you very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Spicy Spaghetti Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was very good. I added half of a red pepper but I should have added half of a green pepper. Because it already has the red color from the tomatoes...I will also add cucumbers next time. I decided to change from spagetti to small shells pasta. Spagetti tends to be heavy and I really wanted this to be the side salad. I liked it that way. A lot lighter. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Chicken Enchiladas II

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was good, but I would recommend using smaller tortillas than 12 inches. They were a bit too big for the amount of chicken this recipe describes. Use smaller ones for fuller, more satisfying bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Good stuff. I think the potatoes need something a little extra, maybe more salt or pepper than I used. Also, next time I'll probably cook the carrots with the meat mixture rather than mashing them. That would make the process much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Shrimp Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
These were really good and easy! I don't have a grill, so I just sauteed the shrimp in the lime-oil mixture. Was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious - wonderful on bagels... my only complaint is that I couldn't eat it fast enough before it went bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States