Japan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Creamy Pesto Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I dunno what I did wrong, but the sauce curdled and got kind of dry. It still tasted good, just had a different texture than I think it's supposed to. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Brunch Omelet

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Very good, but I think the ingredient list is supposed to say 1 1/2 CUPS of cheese... not POUNDS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Broccoli

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I didn't expect it to be that good cause it was too easy, lol. I didn't use red pepper flakes but it was still good. I never liked frozen broccoli but this recipe changed my mind, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiyo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Popper Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Wow, my daughter was the one told me this was very good dish so I tried it when I had companies. They all raved it. One of them took a copy of this recipe before he headed home. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It was great, but I think I will take out the tablespoon of sugar. Do not overheat the onions or garlic or they will turn bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moroccan Fig Pork Roast

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Overall I enjoyed this recipe, and would really give it 41/2 stars. Like others I served with couscous, added raisins and other dried fruits to the sauce. The next time I make this I'm going to try it with bone-in, skin on chicken thighs and increase the spices. I would serve this at a dinner party if I knew the guests appreciated ethnic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Sunomono

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was awesome!!! Very easy to prepare and my husband loved it!!! Thank you very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Spicy Spaghetti Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This was very good. I added half of a red pepper but I should have added half of a green pepper. Because it already has the red color from the tomatoes...I will also add cucumbers next time. I decided to change from spagetti to small shells pasta. Spagetti tends to be heavy and I really wanted this to be the side salad. I liked it that way. A lot lighter. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Chicken Enchiladas II

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
This was good, but I would recommend using smaller tortillas than 12 inches. They were a bit too big for the amount of chicken this recipe describes. Use smaller ones for fuller, more satisfying bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shepherd's Pie VI

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Good stuff. I think the potatoes need something a little extra, maybe more salt or pepper than I used. Also, next time I'll probably cook the carrots with the meat mixture rather than mashing them. That would make the process much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Shrimp Tacos

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
These were really good and easy! I don't have a grill, so I just sauteed the shrimp in the lime-oil mixture. Was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Lemon Curd

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious - wonderful on bagels... my only complaint is that I couldn't eat it fast enough before it went bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Strawberry Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was fabulous...especially on my chocolate pound cake. Like others I did add a pinch of salt and some strawberry extract. It was so good I actually saved the extra frosting, placed it in the freezer and ate it later on a spoon!! Thank you for the recipe..this is THE one if you want a strawberry frosting that is real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie Filling II

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Really like this filling. My mother always used tapioca in her berry pies, but I had never heard of using it in apple pies before. I did add a bit of water only because my apples were not producing much liquid. Not sure what I did wrong but it turned out great. Will use this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jennerstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

Chocolate Macaroons I

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
delicious! Used unsweetened coconut and chocolate, but ended up adding more sugar. Very forgiving recipe - mixed all the dry ingredients before realizing I shouldn't... Whoops... But we managed by beating the egg whites with extra sugar and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos)

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this dish. One big change I made out of necessity- I had to use salsa verde in lieu of tomatillos. Since the salsa verde already had jalapenos, it was a pretty good sub. I also added oregano, and used chicken broth instead of water. Also, if you are using fresh cilantro, add it towards the end of cooking, it allows for a brighter cilantro taste. It's a good rule of culinary thumb to add dry spices at the beginning, and fresh at the end. I really suggest you eat this dish on top of cilantro lime rice, or with tortillas. Also it really does age well, so you can make this dish a day before, and let it sit in the fridge, lets the flavors mellow and really mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I was really looking forward to this one. But is was bland. Somthing seemed to be missing but I couldn't pin point of what was missing.....my husband seemed to like it just fine....but I don't think I will be making it again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Buffalo Chicken Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made this three times now in the last month for different parties and it's been a huge hit each time! I follow the recipe to the "T". It is so fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasties II

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made these a bunch of times, the only regular changes the addition of carrot for a bit of color, butter for margarine, and an egg wash to make the crust pretty. Just like with steaks, if I've got a really good cut of meat, the simple seasoning here is fine. It's just when I've got an ordinary bit of meat that I need to up the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I tried this with the mayo and didn't notice much difference between my regular every day scrambled eggs. I have made scrambled eggs with sour cream and basil or dill mixed in and had good results......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodysan
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States