Japan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great recipe, it was a big hit! I added onion and garlic to the vegetable mixture, which I think added complexity to the flavor of bolognese sauce. After I sautéed vegetable mixture, pancetta, and beef, I deglazed the pan with red wine, then added marinara sauce. Also added about 1/4 cup of chicken stock because my marinara was really thick. The recipe does not talk about salt/pepper, but I suggest flavoring the veggies with salt and pepper, and also add a sprinkle of salt after you add the ground beef, otherwise I think the sauce would end up pretty bland. Per the suggestion from the recipe, I used orzo instead of rice, which I thought was excellent! I thought the sauce had enough flavor before I added any cream, so I added just about 2 tbsp of half and half. I think that was enough to make the sauce creamy. Definitely making again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Firecracker Fried Chicken Drumsticks

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
It was just okay for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is a very good recipe and my 21 year old daughter loved it. However we didn't really care for the peanuts so we just put only sunflower seeds. Broccoli will not wilt so easy so it is better than shredded cabbage for sure. Also I drizzled sesame oil in the end. This would give a little flavor. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Strawberry Cake II

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I should've realized that the amount of strawberries for the frosting was too much for the low amount of powdered sugar. Unfortunately, I used the rest of what I had and didn't have more to fix it. Fortunately, I had a block of cream cheese and it saved the icing and is so good! I will forever add cream cheese to this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Style Turkey Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Very moist, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCASEY816

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Ghent, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Super easy and very yummy! I had to bake mine longer than 25 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butternut Squash Soup II

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Delicious! Did not change a thing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeyet06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yeyet06

Funnel Cakes

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Easy and fast! First time trial was perfect will do it again. The kids really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yeyet06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is such a great recipe to take to the picnic, potluck etc. the key for our family is take your time to cut broccoli and culiflower to the bite sizes. Looks better and easier to eat. You can certainly add golden raisins to this recipe. It's yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
It was juicy and yummy!! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is it! The most flavorful slow cooker pulled pork recipe I have ever made or tasted. Please if you are debating between this and the rootbeer one, make this. I have made both and the other pales in comparison. I followed this recipe exactly, except used a 3lb loin roast with the fat trimmed off. Cooked high for 5 hours and kept the crockpot on warm for the rest of the day. About an hour before serving I shredded it up and threw it back in to soak up more flavor. Toasted onion rolls and topped the pork with coleslaw. Perfection! It does make a lot though so I am freezing the leftovers for another meal later this month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Zushi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Teriyaki

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I tried this last night. My n-laws were in town so I wanted to cook something tasty. I wanted to cook something similar to Yakitori which is Japanese dish. If you would put small bite size of chickens and good size of green onion chunks and put them in a skewer alternately and then glaze and cook them. I'm sure that would be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made this last night for all the family who are visiting from Texas. It was a huge hit. I made garlic mashed potatoes to go with the gravy. My husband especially loved the gravy. I put one beaten egg in the meat mixture to add the flavor and stick the meat together. I also bought heart healthy soup which reduces sodium. This is a keeper for sure. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

King Crab Appetizers

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Outstanding, very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Extra Easy Hummus

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Maybe too much garlic, but otherwise really nice. I've made this loads of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicola

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This dish was well received! I planned an Easter brunch menu for a client and included this recipe because her husband is more of a simple meat-n-potatoes man and would not appreciate the other menu selections we planned. We did a test run and the only change I made was sirloin as opposed to the chuck. Accessible ingredients, simple prep, and a great result...my kind of dish and outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These were awesome. For the last 5 minutes of baking, I covered I took off the foil, covered the top in a layer of cheddar cheese, and turned the oven to broil. It gave the potatoes a nice crispy crust of cheese on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this for my ESL students one night, and a student of mine from Mexican told me that it was a 9.5 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
These are very good. I added some minced garlic into the bag with the olive olive and I thin that gave it a nice additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astrobax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mitchell, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Living in Japan, it's hard to find a good muffin recipe that doesn't require ingredients I can't normally find in my local grocery. Not only were these simple, but a perfect snack for my two rambunctious boys. Not to mention a great way to use up all our strawberries before they go bad. I took the advice of others and added the vanilla and cinnamon. Perfection! Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States