Japan - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was one of the dishes at my Easter brunch, truly enjoyed by all! I did tweak slightly, added a bay leaf at the veggie saute step, made a quick seafood stock using the shrimp shells and water instead of the chicken broth, and added some cubed ham because it was Easter. Yes the roux does make it very thick, I just added more stock to loosen it back up. Next time I'll just make half the roux or just not use it all. Added this to my recipe box - excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Shells III

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
First time I've made stuffed shells! This is easier than I thought and it tastes amazing!!! Glad we have enough for left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florencia McPherson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maruca81

Peanut Butter Pie

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I get lots of recipe requests for this pie. It's so crazy, easy too. I double the miniature peanut butter cups and add a layer between the pie filling and Cool Whip as well as on top, also drizzle sugar free fudge sauce. I serve this frozen as I prefer the consistency better,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Chocolate Cobbler

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Great! I loved how it made it's own hot fudge topping. It's so simple and cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CutieKatie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Kadena, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
It was pretty good however there was not a lot of juicy glaze involved...maybe if I doubled the glaze it would have been perfect....My father-in-law and a 10 year old niece loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Brussels Sprouts in a Sherry Bacon Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I first made this 3 years ago for Thanksgiving. I have served them several times since. This is a recipe people will talk about. Simply DELICIOUS!! I didn't make any changes as it's perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Macaroni and Cheese Southern Style

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We made this for 25 boys at the West End School in Louisville, KY. This school is a free, private, college preparatory, Pre-K through Eighth school for at risk young men that are smart and have a chance to change their lives through education and high expectations. Every meal they are served is donated with the help of the community and/or donations. Many of these boys have gone hungry prior to attending the school so I made enough for 50 servings. THEY ATE IT ALL! It was so good and perfect for a large crowd. I served it with sloppy joes(also great for large crowds). They went on about how good the mac and cheese was:) It was truly a pleasure to serve these young men something they loved and appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Excellent! I didn't change a thing. Make plenty as it goes fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Caprese Appetizer

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I served these as an appetizer to my Thanksgiving meal. I followed the recipe but added a balsamic "glaze" by drizzling on it the platter prior to placing the tomato and mozzarella picks on top of it. The glaze I used is Acetaia del Casato Bertoni Crema which I purchased in Italy but there are balsamic glazes available at grocery/specialty stores here in the U.S. that are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Spiced Cranberry Apple Chutney

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Loved all the spicy flavor of this dish! I did follow others reviewers and cut the sugar in half. For me, it was perfectly sweet enough. My daughter could't get enough of this and she doesn't usually eat cranberry relish! This is excellent cold as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Really good, healthy recipe for butternut squash! I prefer fine sea salt to table salt so that was the only difference when I prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Turkey Carcass Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I tried this soup recipe and it was very good. I literally used every bit of the turkey carcass, giblets and leftover turkey meat(lots of turkey meat). I did not add the barley as I didn't have it on hand but substituted gluten free egg noodles. I added more potatoes, carrots and celery and left out the cabbage. I nearly doubled the spices, added a couple of bullion cubes and a few dashes of tobasco sauce as I like lots of flavor. I also thickened the soup with a little flour and water mixed in a cup and added it to finished soup. Took it into work and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maruca81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Brazilian Cheese Bread (Pao de Queijo)

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariko
Living In: Hamamatsu, Shizuoka, Japan

Linda's Lasagna

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My grocery store was out of Ricotta so I figured it was a good time to try a Lasagna with Cottage Cheese, I'm not a fan of Ricotta anyway. Followed the recipe exactly except for some added basil and fresh garlic. I do believe I found a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Husband and 3yo liked it, they added some raisins and raspberry vinigrette to tone own the lemon. My Brussel sprouts were smaller, so maybe that's why the lemon was a little much - but I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Namikun

Lolah's Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This Philippino recipe surely tastes awesome! Tried it today and it was a success I guess. I sprinkled some parsley during plating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namikun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Setagaya, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Namikun

Quick and Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
The result was awesome! But I lessen the ketchup and added some slices of shiitake mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namikun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Setagaya, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This chili was very good. I cooked it the night before so my husband could take it in the morning to his work for the potluck. Chicken started to lose cubed shape so if I make it ahead of time again, I will wait to put the cubed chickens till next day. It tased pretty good. Thank you for the recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My college daughter loved it and so did my husband. But I like the traditional banana bread better without chocolate chips. I guess I was never crazy about chocolate chips anyway. I think I will skip those next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

Bolognese Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Great recipe, it was a big hit! I added onion and garlic to the vegetable mixture, which I think added complexity to the flavor of bolognese sauce. After I sautéed vegetable mixture, pancetta, and beef, I deglazed the pan with red wine, then added marinara sauce. Also added about 1/4 cup of chicken stock because my marinara was really thick. The recipe does not talk about salt/pepper, but I suggest flavoring the veggies with salt and pepper, and also add a sprinkle of salt after you add the ground beef, otherwise I think the sauce would end up pretty bland. Per the suggestion from the recipe, I used orzo instead of rice, which I thought was excellent! I thought the sauce had enough flavor before I added any cream, so I added just about 2 tbsp of half and half. I think that was enough to make the sauce creamy. Definitely making again! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laneko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States