Hong Kong - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
My hubs and I both really enjoyed this bread. One thing I need to remember to do next time is to adjust the sugar according to the sweetness of the banana and how much banana I have. I didn't have sweet bananas so my bread was not sweet at all - which my husband actually loved more than me. I added a cup full of chopped walnuts to the mix right at the end. I would add choc chips next time. One last thing - may be it's my oven, but I would bake it a little less than 60 min as mine were slightly over-baked...only slightly. Would definitely bake this again though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great recipe for the famous adobo from the Philippines!I have my own version of chicken adobo and pork adobo (also pork and chicken adobo combo)since 1986 and this is also a great recipe. My wife is from Negros Occidental, Philippines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONNYCHIBA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Central, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthy Banana Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
We make these almost every week. My wife takes them for snacks at work and I take them as energy food for long runs. Natural sugars and unbeatable taste. They're awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAALLOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Awesome! Cut up potatoes, celery, and carrots and put'em at the bottom instead of foil balls. Seasoned chicken with steak seasoning actually and then added freshly diced rosemary, garlic powder, and onion powder. Left the chicken pieces (drumsticks, thighs) in the fridge in a plastic bag for a couple of hours. Then cooked it on high for about 5.5 hours. I turned the chicken and vegetables halfway so it cooks evenly. For the vegetables I salted and peppered it before cooking. I liked the the chicken on top of the veggies so the chicken fat fell to the bottom of the pot and seasoned the veggies even more. Man... this is def the best way to cook chicken. :) The meat was superbly tender. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Def a keeper recipe. I think it would be great exactly the way it is but I kinda made it on the spur of the moment so I just went with what I had. I used... -chicken seasoning instead of italian cuz that's what i had -I used a little bit (1/2 C) of almond milk cuz that's the only kind of milk I had -added an egg cuz I wanted to -added garlic salt only -added chili powder but not the chili sauce I baked it for about 15 min on its own and then added some tomato sauce (the ones that come in a jar) and baked for another 7 min. It was delicious. I added the sauce cuz I didn't feel like waiting. I think it would be perfect if the meatball was baked separately and the sauce cooked separately and then may be simmer with the meatballs to serve. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pizza Dough III

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I made this recipe last Sunday for my kids and they love it. The pizza crust turned out perfectly. I agreed with other reviews that need to add more of flour, I added +50-75g of bread flour and use my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix all the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Scones

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Great recipe! The scones comes out as moist and not dried up just by follow the recipe. I will definite to try again again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie

Spicy Cabbage Kimchi

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I sprinkle the salt as I layer since a lot of people said it's really salty. Then I let it sit in room temperature and mix the veggies with my hands. It only takes less than 2 hour for the water to come out. I rinse it 3 times to make sure all the salt are rinse off. Then I use fresh chopped ginger instead of ground, and I use half korean chile powder and half korean chile paste. The mix turns out really good. The only problem is...I put in container and store in my pantry for 4 days. Nice and dark and dry. On the 4th day, OMG it is sooooooo sour!!! I should of just let it sit for a day then put it in the fridge. So this batch will only use for kimchi soup. Will make another batch to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rouxless Gumbo

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Thank you!! No more gumbo mixed in a box for me. I skipped the chicken and used only chicken broth. The only thing I added for more flavor is crawfish boil seasoning (I bought the Louisiana Crawfish and Crab Boil). OMG makes a big difference! Then added some cornstarch to thicken the soup. Few dash of Louisiana hot sauce...my mouth was in heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Different Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Tried this last night, switched up chopped spinach instead of the broccoli and it turned out great. Will not top with cheddar cheese again - way too salty. Will try recipe again with mozzarella instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tung Chung, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Different Chicken Divan

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Tried this last night, switched up chopped spinach instead of the broccoli and it turned out great. Will not top with cheddar cheese again - way too salty. Will try recipe again with mozzarella instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tung Chung, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BBQ

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I made this for some friends last weekend and they said that we're not allowed to come to their place for a BBQ as there is no way it would ever match this effort. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAALLOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

Snoek Pate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Some South African friends of mine said it was the best they'd ever tasted, and they're from the capital of Snoek Pate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAALLOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
The best carrot cake that I have ever made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Delicious and easy to prepare. I don't have plain yogurt so I used 125g Yoplait strawberry no fat yogurt (from another review) and 1 ripe banana (approx 1/2cup) + 1/2cup of green smith apple. the muffins turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Loaf

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Thanks for the fantastic recipe for Orange Loaf, Carol~!! I agree that using butter is better for bringing out the orange taste. Besides, I have added an extra of 2T olive oil, as suggested by another reviewer, which made the loaf moistened beautifully. For the "glaze", it really helps to bring an additional orange flavor and helps lighten up the surface of the loaf. Great idea for the glaze!! This recipe will be used in the rest of my life, for SURE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam1128

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam1128

Peanut Butter Glaze

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe! I have never thought of making a delicious peanut butter glaze by this simple method. The thickness of the glaze can be easily adjusted by adding more/less water and peanut butter. I used an extra crunchy peanut butter and it turned out to be even more amazing!! I will certainly keep this recipe, cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam1128

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tuen Mun, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Slow Cooker Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Awesome basic recipe as it is! It is very forgiving and can easily be tweaked to your liking. Instead of adding the dried herb ingredients I added the chilli mix recipes on this site. Even the carnivores in the family cleaned up their plates. Thanks for a sharing your delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherOf3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Fantastic and delicious, everything a carrot cake should be and then some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's Cookin', Iris?

Lemon Cupcakes

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe! I baked them for the first time for a big party, and received a couple of compliments. I did adjust the recipe by reducing the sugar and the butter, each by about 10-20% (I scaled the recipe up to 40 cupcakes, but still just used 2 cups sugar and 1 cup butter) and they came out fine. It is just a personal preference as I don't like my cupcakes too fatty or sweet. I also adapted the flour by using plain flour, but adding 1 1/2 tsp of baking powder and 1/2 tsp of salt for every cup of plain flour I used. They taste fine without icing (I just topped it with chocolate sprinkles) - again, a personal preference. I was a bit worried about it being too plain, but simple is good! The lemon zest in the batter made a HUGE difference. I think next time I will consider adding poppy seeds for additional texture and flavour, or do something with lime for some variation (e.g. lime zest, lime glazing). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's Cookin', Iris?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States