China - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by chanel0824

Breakfast Crisp

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I doubled everything except the sugar and used a 10*10 silicon pan. Talking about the sugar, here's what i did: I creamed 1/2 cup of brown sugar with the butter, then diced a gigantic apple and tossed with another 1/4 cup of brown sugar. The apple was folded into the oat-butter mixture as the last step before I pop the tray into the oven. It turned out great, just like a apple-cinnamon oat bar. Maybe I'll do it again if I have a lot apples to kill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanel0824

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chanel0824

Angel Food Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I only book mark "never fail recipe", this is one of them. I zested one lemon to make a lemony angel food cake and the flavor turned out great. I agree with the 350F, otherwise the cake will be too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanel0824

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant with Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I left out the sugar and pepper. I added green onions and used fresh garlic. I will try it again with the sugar and spice, just this time I knew the guests wouldn't approve. haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChinaWallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wuhan, Hubei Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chanel0824

Sausage Rolls with Maille® Dijon Originale Mustard

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I used this recipe for kids party and all the little monsters loved these!! Make sure the pastry sheet covers the whole sausage or hot dog (do not let the tip show too much) as the pastry will shrink when baking. If the dough is too sticky which will lead to a pastry too crumbly to handle, just simply put one or two more cups of flour into it ( i used whole wheat flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanel0824

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmSee

Moist Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Even without the frosting, this is super yummy. Based on what I had, I exchanged the pineapple for raisins, the nuts for pecans and it was absolutely delicious. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmSee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dongguan, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmSee

Spinach Arancini

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Munching on these right now - yum! Sorry to say we didn't have the branded goodies listed and we exchanged the wine for white wine vinegar (it was the closest thing I had!) they taste absolutely wonderful - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmSee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dongguan, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Liu

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
The first time I made it! Everyone loved it! it was the first dish that had been eaten out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jinan, Shandong Province, China
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
we really like this recipe, it's easy to make when your time is limited. It's great over rice or noodles and the leftovers reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Thompson Sparks
Home Town: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China
Photo by Lisa Liu

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I tried this few weeks ago. It was fantastic! Everyone tasted it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Liu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jinan, Shandong Province, China
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmSee

Coconut Oil Coffee

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Yum! I used a Starbucks microbrew sachet and a screw-lid blender cup. Enjoying it right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmSee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dongguan, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Three Bean Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I would have named this SWEET three bean salad. The spices were good, but it was too sweet and not vinegary enough for me. Second time I reduced sugar to 1/4 C and gave an extra splash of vinegar. This helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China

Satiny Chocolate Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great recipe for a nice fast glaze. I also did the microwave method (45 sec, stir. 45 sec stir. Pour) and it turned out great. Looks beautiful and flavor was very good, but not the best. Only substitution was artificial maple syrup instead of corn syrup (it's mostly corn syrup anyway!) because it's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venymae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chengdu, Sichuan Province, China
Photo by SkylletDreamsss

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe! My family and I really liked it. The cookies were really soft, even after the cooled. The first time I made these wasn't all that good though; because I rolled them out instead of making them into balls. The balls were MUCH MUCH better. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkylletDreamsss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Qingdao, Shandong Province, China
Photo by SkylletDreamsss

Chocolate Cupcakes

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME!!! My neighbors came over and basically ate them all because they were sooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkylletDreamsss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Qingdao, Shandong Province, China
Photo by chanel0824

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
chewy and delicious. It's different, worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanel0824

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This is REALLY easy to make, and it's fairly easy to work with. I couldn't get it to roll out right on its own so I rolled it between two sheets of wax paper. My kitchen is kind of hot so before I put the fondant on, I popped it in the freezer till it was more firm. As far as the flavor, I liked that it took salt since that gave it a little more taste than pure sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyrlys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

Aunt Kate's Strawberry Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I didn't add anything to the recipe, because all the complaints were that it was too dense and that didn't bother me. It is very bread-like, but the flavor was quite good. Not super strong flavors, which to me is a positive since you can add frosting without making it too sweet. The one thing about the cake itself is that it has a bit of a weird color. You might be able to add food coloring to help, but I haven't tried so no idea. The frosting was ok, but not great. As a filling, I used the extra mashed strawberries I had and cooked them with some cornstarch. I felt like this gave a more strawberry flavor to the overall cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyrlys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kunming, Yunnan Province, China

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Simple and effective! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy to Remember Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I always forget the ratio and have to look up a recipie every time. Thanks for making it easy to remember!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Old Boy's Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This turned out excellent and is the easiest pie filling to make! I didn't have any corn starch, so I just used all-purpose flour instead and it still turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpnewberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States