Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Shirred Eggs

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was ok... i personally like cooked whites and runny yolks. This seemed to make them the other way around. Perhaps I cooked them too long- an extra 6 minutes because the whites seemed too runny. I enjoyed the flavors together, but I think I will try less baking time if I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
followed to a T, but I found it had too much thyme - will probably just leave it out next time. Wish I had read reviews or trusted my instinct about the thyme - it just isn't the flavour we want for mac and cheese, but it was very creamy and had a great topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I added a can of refried beans instead of whole beans. This casserole is yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacena Burgess

Corn Casserole I

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
It was delicious and easy. I took it to a potluck and got some compliments. I added an extra cup of frozen corn and a cup of diced colorful sweet peppers. The only problem was that it didn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pasta e Fagioli ala Weeble

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We really enjoyed this flavourful comforting soup. Followed the recipe with the exception of omitting the chili pepper. Next time I will make sure to have some on hand for this dish although it was perfectly delicious without it. I grated some fresh parmesan on top before serving… Big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Meatball Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was pretty good, tho I had to tweak it a little to use up the meatballs and sauce I had in the fridge, and I had no red wine or half and half. My husband thought at first that it was some kind of squash, maybe because I used a multi grain bread. It looked like something I'd never want to eat before I put it in the oven (think baby birds being fed), but it tasted pretty good. I thought it looked a little dry, so I garnished it with fresh cut tomatoes and fresh basil. I'll make again per the directions, and maybe it'll be five stars for us then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is now the only apple pie my son will eat. About to make it for my boys for the 3rd time. The only thing I did differently than the recipe is add cinnamon - oh, and I didn't do the lattice crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelane Chaddick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Shrimp Lo Mein

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
very nice dish! I did however use rice noodles instead of spaghetti... and i cooked too many noodles, which soaked up a lot of the sauce. my fault tho, not the recipe. next time i'll use a little less ginger, I will be cooking this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel Popcorn

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I've been making this recipe for 40 years! Passed down to me from my Grandma Alderson, who said she got it from the back of a JiffyPop bag!! When my daughter was in high school, I made several batches of this (each batch makes a considerable amount) to send with her youth group on a mission trip. Many of her friends still remember me as the 'Caramel Corn Lady'! One tip...don't use generic brown sugar. It tends to granulate more and just doesn't taste as good. I always use quality, name brand light brown sugar. Also, please, PLEASE don't use margarine for this! No reason to waste good ingredients by using margarine. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I make this all the time. I usually substitute half whole wheat pastry flour and half white whole wheat flour and it turns out great. I also add pecans. Very good, moist recipe. I don't melt the butter (I soften it) and I definitely mash the bananas up to make them sweeter rather than use cut banana chunks. Great recipe b/c of the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe

Crispy Panko Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
These are and were a huge hit at our house. The cooking process is perfect and it provides a juicy but crunchy piece of chicken. We have been using this recipe to make various other dishes, such as chicken farm, chicken dijon wraps, and just to eat plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Simple Turkey Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is really good! I also add some ketchup and a can of chili to it. I skip the water all together. I don't like runny chili. I also don't really measure the spices. Just sort of guess ;) It always turns out amazing!! My husband also likes to add Frito's to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Cates McCabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies from Mazola®

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We enjoyed these but they are not my favorite PB cookies. The texture was a little off to me and I assume that was from the oil. They felt somewhat tough to me. They were good the first day, on the second day my kids weren't as excited about them but still ate them. I prefer a more chewy PB cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Date Nut Loaf Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
When I saw a 5 stars rating I figured it must be amazing... Well it was!!! So amazing a well deserved 5 stars. The only thing I did different was I didn't put nuts (After I started the recipe I noticed I had none left!!) I can only imagine it would be that much better! I will make this over and over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe

Chocolate Applesauce Pudding

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was far from a hit at our house. The texture is very different and hard to get over. The flavor of the apple and chocolate just wasn't to our tastes and was disappointing. I was hoping the kids would like it but it was asked that I not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Cabbage-Carrot Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I added a package of diced ham to this and it was good. I am also looking for a bit more flavor, but can't think of what to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Madison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willsboro, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cheese Ball II

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
The boy helped me make this for a potluck at work and I happen to work at the high school he attends. He was a big fan of our test samples and managed to stop by a couple of times during passing period and at lunch to "sample" some more. This was a big hit with my co-workers, some of them stating it was the best cheeseball they had ever had...I certainly didn't come home with any leftovers! I followed the super-easy recipe as written and I am looking forward to making this for my family at our Christmas Eve party. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Working Mom's Hamentashen

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We were excited about making this recipe, but it's nothing like real hamentashen. It's supposed to taste like a shortbread cookie, but instead cakey. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We loved these! The only thing we did different was to add red pepper flakes to the sauce, seasoned the wings with seasoned salt, pepper, and garlic powder. We thickened the sauce slightly. We basted them while baking and placed under broiler for a few moments prior to serving. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly

Grilled Cheese De Mayo

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This is the ONLY method I use for making grilled cheese sandwiches. The bread is not near as greasy using mayo as it is with butter - and it is delicious! I used this method to make 'Pico De Gallo Grilled Cheese Sandwich' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States