Community - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Gluten-Free Upside-Down Pizza

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This was a really good basic recipe that is great as is or with different additions like any regular pizza. I agree with the other reviewer in that it definitely is lasagne-like, almost a lasagne-pizza hybrid. I followed another reviewer's recommendation in adding about a tsp of baking powder to the flour and adding more sauce. The crust was a tad on the bland side, so I think next time I may mix in 1/2 cup grated parmesan to the crust mixture before spreading. Ok, the one thing that really threw me for a loop was how liquidy the crust was! I was sure that I messed up somehow because the recipe said to spread the mixture, not pour it! I mean it was a pretty thin liquid, but somehow it bakes up nicely! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBchihuahua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwest Summer Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Somewhat bland, could use a kick of something. It was okay this hot summer evening but I doubt I'll repeat it for the all the work that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This is the best grilled tenderloin I've ever had! It's the cinnamon. So good, highly recommend you try this. Easy and tasty! Doesn't get any better than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada

Blackberry Cobbler II

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Next time I will make a crumble. Just didn't care for the topping at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I grabbed some portobello mushrooms spur of the moment on my last grocery shopping expedition. I wanted to grill them, but didn't have a specific recipe in mind. Allrecipes to the rescue, as usual. I found this recipe and followed a couple of reviewers recommendations: 1) grilling the non-gill side of the mushrooms for five minutes before adding the mixture, and 2) adding some balsamic vinegar to the mixture for added flavor. Then, I added one idea of my own, a little basil from our deck herb garden. And what a great flavor explosion it was. Excellent, and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Aunt Caroline's Stollen

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This is more like a nut cake than a true stolen. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Aunt Caroline's EASY - WONDERFUL Cheesecake. Very Creamy!

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
The easiest, best tasting cheesecake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Grandma Rita's Soft Butter Rolls

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Soft, light, and delicious! I will be making these over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by KerryT

Banana Cake Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
It amuses me when someone rates a recipe then makes a laundry list of the things they changed. It does a disservice to the original submitter, IMO. I didn't change a thing about Robin's recipe, only that I drizzled the icing on top. And these are just as good without the icing, but it tends to fancy it up! These are very easy and tasty cookies. Not overly sweet. I am taking to a party tomorrow and I know they will get devoured! By the way, one cup of mashed bananas equaled three medium bananas. Thank you Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Grilled Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Loved it. The balsamic vinegar added an excellent tang. I've tried it with a variety of seasonings and we've loved it every time. Can also do this in a saute pan (just a bit of coconut oil adds great flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Paleo Chili

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Excellent. We don't do tomatoes so I just used V8 juice and tomato paste but it was still delicious. I also used ground pork, ground chicken and ground turkey to give it more paleo cred. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan-Crusted Walleye

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Ugh. I ground the pecans and they became a clumpy sticky mess that didn't stick to the fish. One of the reviewers suggested adding flour, which I can't have so I will try adding almond flour to see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stephan's Broiled Salmon Pesto

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Easy and good! I left out the lemon. And the wine. And about half the pesto. So, yeah, I didn't follow the recipe very closely at all. I drizzled the fish with olive oil to start, then added a layer of pesto, but only enough to cover, not nearly 1/4 inch. My salmon was still a little bit frozen, so I broiled for 11 minutes, and it came out really nice. The flavors were very complimentary and not overpowering as pesto can be. Had a rice pilaf and green salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Such an easy, tasty way to make scrambled eggs when you have other items on the go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Authentic Mexican Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Good recipe. I made a few changes though. I use a quarter of a fresh onion chopped and a clove of fresh garlic instead of the seasonings. And for the water I used water flavored with 2 tsp caldo con sabor de pollo. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maria4020

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Tastes great, but the sauce never did thicken...it just pooled in the bottom of the bowl. The kids still loved it, though. I added blackberries and diced cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Mama
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Carnitas

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I had every intention of photographing this. I really did. But here’s what happened – the smell of this was driving me nuts the whole time it was cooking. I mean it. By the time we sat down to eat I could hardly stand my hunger anymore. And once we put our carnitas tacos together with locally made flour tortillas, pico de gallo, cheese (for Hubs) and sour cream, I thought I died and went to heaven. No exaggerating, this is one fine recipe. I used boneless pork sirloin chops and, with the exception of using half the amount of Kosher salt called for, I prepared this exactly as the recipe directed, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ve already told you how good this smelled and this meat, this meal as we put it together, did not let us down. The meat is SO flavorful, with a flavor all its own, so good I wouldn’t even think about messing with those seasonings. I made this in the Dutch oven as instructed, right up until the simmering. At that point I transferred everything to my slow cooker and cooked it on high for three hours. I’ve made carnitas like this before, but never took the extra step of browning the meat first. I believe this is an important step that ought not be omitted. My only criticism is with the salt. Even using Kosher salt as directed (NOT table salt) the amount called for would have ruined this. But given the heads up by other reviewers to that effect, I cannot in good conscience dock the rating for an otherwise perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Aubree Marble Clark

Tomato Zucchini Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Used mozzarella cheese and fresh basil. It was delicious! Great way to use my garden veggies. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubree Marble Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Traditional Gyro Meat

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I simply don't get the 4 and 5 star reviews--maybe jonesing for gyros and feeling desperate? I followed the recipe exactly and while it was edible, it was (a) NOTHING like the real thing and (b) simply not very good. Why so harsh? Well, first the meat is extremely bland, as a couple other reviewers noted. Additional salt would help, but.... Secondly, the consistency of the meat is most unpleasant. I'm trying to think of the right word: mushy comes to mind, but that implies that it's moist, which it isn't (and appropriately so). Maybe chalky is a better word. But whatever you call it, it was neither authentic nor pleasant. Too bad, especially considering the time invested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinade for Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Have used it on beef pork and chicken. My 3 kids love it on everything. Like others added so garlic made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorthBound

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Goderich, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States