Zucchini Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I made this recipe twice. Both times I followed the recipe precisely. The first time it was excellent,and truly tasted like apple pie. The second time I used more mature ( read overgrown) zucchini, and it was disgusting, we didn't even finish the pie. It was stringy, and had a very overpowering "squashy" taste. ( I know, I know, it is squash afterall...) If you're going to attempt this recipe, use very fresh, young ( not baby, but definately not anything resembling a caveman's club)zucchini. If you do, it will be a GREAT Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
This recipe was great! My little brother absolutely HATES zucchini and he thought that this was the best "apple" pie he'd ever had. This was a big hit with the rest of the family. I found that slicing the zucchini VERY thin helps to cook it completely and also to mask it as apples. I used a salad shooter, but you can also use the straight part on a grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Found this recipe when trying to find a use for all the zucchini growing in my garden. My daughters favorite pie is apple pie but she developed an allergy to apples a few years ago...when I saw this I knew we had to try it. Sam made this recipe herself (age 13) it turned out great!! She said if she didn't make it herself she would swear it had apples in it. We are going to see if we can trick dad tonight!!! We will definitly be making this again and again Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have made this several times without anyone being the wiser. HERE IS THE TRICK: Use those big zucchini from the garden, split them in half length-wise, gut the middle of all the seeds and stringy soft stuff, then each half length-wise in thirds, so they are apple-slice width, PEEL off the green, then trim the corners of each length so the end looks like an apple slice. Then USE A FOOD PROCESSOR OR MANDOLIN to cut EVEN slices. Even uncooked these look like apple slices! Then cook as directed. I fools everyone 100% of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
It was good, but I think I should have cooked the zucchini slices longer. Wasn't sure what "tender-crisp" meant. Makes me realize the flavor of apple pie must be in the spices more than the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
cookobird excellent.... used splenda for 3/4 instead of sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. used more than 2 zucchini, used deep dish pie crust and could have put in more. we found the splenda better tasting than brown sugar. hubby says it's on our list. bake them and freeze them. had a lot of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This pie is superb. Bought an excess of 6-inch zucchini. Didn't peel them just sliced them and made the recipe just as stated. It was so good I will buy zucchini in the winter just to make the pie. Probably will add a few raisins as we really like them. SUPER recipe. Thanks a lot for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Amazing... best disguise for zucchini yet. When I served it at dinner my husband asked, "what kind of apples are these?" I said. "The long, skinny, green kind from the garden!" Actually, I did slice in two apples that had to be used up, and extra flour to help with the runniness of the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
YUMMMM! I was the one to bake it, but I still thought that someone must have pulled a pie-switch on me because this tasted just like apple pie. Really a fun recipe to make for someone and then afterwards say, "oh by the way, that was zucchini." They will not believe you. In fact, it was better than apple pie because the "apples" didn't get so mushy as normal apples do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Excellent recipe!! Tastes just like apple pie - I substituted graham crackers for the bottom crust & oatmeal topping for the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States