Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Easy, turned out well after I did a little customization. I used more bbq sauce. I didn't use the sugar. I added some liquid and chicken bouillon during the initial cooking, then drained it, shredded it easily, and put in refrigerator til next day. When I reheated it, I added more bbq sauce. I served sliced pickles with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I have made this recipe many times, and it I'd delicious. I was unsure about the Italian dressing when I first read the recipe, but I am glad I didn't change it because it added a nice taste. Very good, wouldn't change a thing. I use Sticky Fingers Carolina sweet BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Great recipe! A nice alternative to barbecue pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Made this a while ago and i really don't have any worthwhile criticisms of this dish. Served it on some buns with spicy shredded cheese and it was a hit in our place. Definately going to do this again, possibly with some crushed dried peppers in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is delicious. Super easy. Its a healthy alternative to pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Made this last night. It is delicious and I'm looking forward to having leftovers for lunch. I took various recommendations from the reviews, including using liquid smoke. I did NOT have a problem with watery sauce and I only used 3 chicken breasts and kept all other portions equal to the original recipe. I got home from the grocery and realized I had FORGOTTEN the Italian dressing. I had no dressing in the entire house, but I remembered that another reviewer had used a balsamic vinaigrette in replace of Italian, so what I did was grab a bottle of balsamic vinegar and a bottle of olive oil and splashed them in. (I didn't measure, but I eyeballed it to be about 2 tablespoons of each.) Everyone seems to really enjoy the Famous Dave's Rich & Sassy BBQ, so that's what I used. I added about 2 cloves of minced garlic and some Montreal chicken seasoning. I cooked on high for 4 hours, shredded and let sit for another 20 minutes, and served on onion buns with red onion and sliced Claussen pickles. WONDERFUL! Although I made a lot of changes, I really think the recipe would have been just great without. (I don't think I would make it without the liquid smoke, though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Orr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I've made this a few times and everyone loves it. I didn't use Italian salad dressing. The second time I didn't use Italian dressing or brown sugar everyone loved it with no sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This is my go-to bbq chicken recipe and everyone raves about it. I make mine almost exactly following the recipe, but add 1 small chopped onion, as others have suggested. It does depend on the bbq sauce you use on whether it's sweet, tangy, or spicy. I've makes it with many types and I think most people tend to love it the most with honey BBQ sauce. I've also played around with adding honey in addition to the brown sugar and I don't think it changed it much. I put it in the crock pot for 3 hours on high, then pull the chicken with 2 forks, and then let it sit in the crock pot and soak up the sauce for another hour. You and your guest will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I tried this recipe with my favorite barbecue sauce, and my family loved it I will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Lazy, delicious, and tastes like summer. I made this in the crock pot several times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States