Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have always used a slightly different recipe when making this casserole. I add a couple of carrots and a turnip, while cutting back sweet potato to one med. I cook them all together and mash them together when cooked. Try it you might like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cliffmills

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Chapala, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe is wonderful. Have taken it to two Christmas gatherings and got all kinds of ooo's and aaaa's. Wonderful!!! Have had requests for the recipe and am passing them on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I have been making this exact casserole for the past few years, and there is no way my family will let me get away from making this for Thanksgiving and even Christmas. I always double or triple the recipe to take one for dinner, another for the guests to take some home, and the third one to keep it at my house. All the ingredients are the same as Tina's, with only one addition I made from the beginning. I use a 29oz can of cut yams or sweet potatoes, slice them and cover the entire surface of the sweet potato casserole, and then I add the brown sugar/pecan topping. It comes out amazing, since it gives more texture to the mashed potatoes. I can eat this hot, warm, or cold and it tastes wonderful. I see no need of roasting the sweet potatoes, as long as you don't overcook them; they have plenty of flavor as the recipe calls for. I hope you give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I've always avoided the old marshmallow yam stuff. But this was FANTASTIC. I SERVED AT Thanksgiving to 12 people and actually got calls the next day asking for the recipe and some were guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realdish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
this is almost identical to a recipe I have been making for years at Thanksgiving.there are only two differences that I can see;this recipe uses milk, and in the topping it uses flour. The recipe I have calls for evaporated milk (same amount), and instead of flour, you crush up some Frosted Flakes and mix them with the sugar and butter. This recipe really is amazing! It's gotten rave reviews from everyone who's ever tried it, and I've brought it to a lot of Holiday pot lucks! So much better than marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is similar to one my family uses. We use canned sweet potatoes, drained and mashed, leave out the milk and follow the remainder of the recipe. Even my son eats these and he hates sweet potatoes. This year, I baked them in a 8"x 8" baking dish which made the layers a bit thicker and had only a few left after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is so full of calories but once you've tried this you'll forget about it for the day!!! My friends request this all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Fleeson King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love sweet potato casserole and this is by far my favorite. I found this similar recipe using a cast iron skillet. I highly recommend using the cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I added cinnamon/nutmeg, and I used less milk but added a 1/4 cup of orange juice, pineapple juice works too.The citrus adds so much flavor. The topping is what makes this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I make a similar version but add 1/4 cup of bourbon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,757) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States