Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Found this to be way too sweet even with cutting the sugar in half as suggest in other reviews.. We all thought it tasted like pumpkin pie filling. I'll try it again with 1/4 cup sugar in the topping only and adjust my review if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We made this recipe in lieu of sweet potatoes with marshmallows which didn't seem to go over too well the past few years. The family was actually chanting "PECANNED YAMS, PECANNED YAMS," It was gone in 10 minutes! Bowl was scraped clean!! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this recipe dairy and gluten free!! I also changed it up by baking my sweet potatoes and then skinning them. I then cut them into chunks and pour the liquid mixture over the chunks of sweet potatoe. I choose to use brown sugar in the first half of the recipe and then for the crumb topping I used oat flour. I also used a butter alternative and it was AWESOME. Due to the consistency of the oat flour I had to change it in order for the crumbs to be crumbs... not goop. I looked for a way to alter this recipe for my gluten free, dairy free needs and came up empty handed so I have had to experiment. For starters I doubled the recipe because it gets inhaled! I used 1 1/2 cups of oat flour and 1 1/2 cups brown sugar with six tablespoons of butter alternative. I melt the butter and drizzle it into the dry mixture and fold the dry mixture onto the melted butter. The result is huge chunky crumbs like on cake boss!!! I also glazed my pecans so they are like candy from recipe I found. Egg white, 2 teaspoons of water, 2 tsp. of vanilla and a tsp. of salt, whipped until frothy and then add 1 cup of sugar. I chopped my pecans really small and then put them into the glaze mixture. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes, turning them over after 15 minutes. I then sprinkle them on top of the crumb topping before the marshmallows! This, my friends is heaven. I cannot eat pie anymore really so this is my dessert. I hope all of those gluten free, dairy free people enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Connell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe to adapt for diabetics! Have made it substituting Ideal brand sweetener and it tastes great. Could not find that brand this year, so I substituted a stevia blend and it also tastes great. Other than the sweetener substitution, I baked the sweet potatoes, and followed the rest of recipe as stated. Everyone enjoys these, even the non-diabetics in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Fabulous sweet potatoes! But consider that this comes from someone who doesn't like sweet potatoes and these come out almost like a dessert, doing a nice job of overpowering the potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is just like dessert! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was fabulous! My whole family loved it at our Thanksgiving dinner and they are not sweet potato fans. Recipe is a keeper and one I will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Amazing recipe! The only changes I made were from a previous rating as follows: added 1tbsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it! Creamy and rich. I cut down on the sugar because the pecan topping was sweet. Will keep this as a family recipe and will be making it for X'mas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,767) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States