Wisconsin Native's Beer Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I had some beer that I didn't like, so instead of tossing it, I used it in this recipe. The flavor wasn't masked, and I didn't care for the taste of the soup. So, you should probably use a beer that you like. I have made a cheese and broccoli soup from this site numerous times (no beer) that I liked much better and will stick with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I enjoyed this soup, and the recipe is basically sound. I do have some tweaks, though. As suggested, saute the diced veggies, don't boil them. After sauting, add the beer and use a blender. Heat the milk before adding to the butter/flour mixture (called a roux), and stir until it thickens. For 4C milk, it should probably be 1/2C butter and 1/2C flour. The 1-1/2C chicken broth will make this too thin. Instead, a>reduce that amount to 1/4C before adding, or b> use bullion cubes (be careful of the salt, or c> use chicken base from a jar (I used 6t) The beer shouldn't be the star here. Use Bud or Miller or Corona or any unassuming pilsner. I also added broccoli. The chopped stems went in at the start with the other veggies, and the florets were added at the last 10 minutes of cooking. If blandness is an issue, kick up the flavor enhancers: I used six cloves of garlic, and twice the hot sauce and Worchestershire. The better the cheese the better this will be. I used half 5-year-old cheddar and half pepper jack. While I get the joke of the popcorn garnish, I think croutons are a better bet. I also did all of this in one pot, but I'll leave that up to you to figure out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
First time making. Recipe is easy and tasty but I didn't think it was as creamy or as hearty as I felt it should be. I added some cubed potatoes and about 1/2 cup of parm cheese and I did add a bit extra flour to thicken up more. Served with garlic cheese croutons and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Although I've tweaked this recipe somewhat, the original is good. I used Rickards Red beer and added Franks Red Hot sauce at the end to give it an extra kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I'm a Wisconsin girl, born and raised, and I liked this soup a lot. It's not the best Beer Cheese Soup I've ever had, but it was pretty close to right. I did as others have suggested and made mine all in one pot, and sweated the veggies until they were VERY soft. I used a good sharp Wisconsin cheddar and one of my favorite Wisconsin beers - Ale Asylum's Ambergeddon - and the flavors really shone through. I skipped the popcorn entirely though, since I always prefer a soft pretzel with my Beer Cheese Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I make this every year for our St. Patrick's Day party and have to make more every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
my husband and I both loved this soup and will make again. It is great on those very cold WI winter days/night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was the first Beer Cheese soup I've ever made. It was delicious and didn't take long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The flavor is great. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I followed the advice of other reviewers and sautéed the veggies first, upped the butter to 1/2 cup, then added the flour, followed by the liquids. 4 cups of half and half seemed like a lot, so I added only 2 cups to start, and 2 cups was plenty. IMHO, the broth would have been far too runny and the flavor of the broth diluted with the extra half and half. I used Negra Modelo for the beer, and I liked it. Another reviewer mentioned adding bratwurst, which I think would be a really good addition. I would make it again with my revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States