Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These were a hit! Very easy to make! I also added a box of chocolate pudding mix to the recipe. I used an ice cream scoop to keep the cakes uniform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Very easy to make and tasty. I should have halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Mine came out really pretty, although they were huge. My fault though, I used a larger scoop. They were a big hit at the party I brought them too. The filling was very light and tasty. I read an article that said "The Whoopie Pie is the new cupcake for trendy foods". Will try them again with a smaller scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Didn't puff up at all. Couldn't use them. Tasty though. Forced to eat the whole batch on my own. ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGERLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was an instant hit with the whole neighborhood! Quick and easy to make. Most of the ingredients were on hand. I used the review suggesting 3/4 cup of water and instant pudding. They were soft and plump, easy to handle, no crumbling cakes. This is a great recipe to have on hand for when kids are around. Thanks! I will ABSOLUTELY use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I used 3/4 cup buttermilk (cuz I needed to finish it up) instead of water, made tablespoon size drops easily, and cooked for 11 minutes. I set oven @ 375 and after a minute dropped it down to 350 and mine puffed up perfectly. I bought the pudding mix to put in it, but forgot.. my batter was thick and fluffy already so it didn't need it. I didn't have time to make your filling so I mixed shortening, confectioner sugar, orange extract, and marshmallow fluff together (in no particular measurement) Yum! Can't wait to bring them to work tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This is a quick simple way to make whoopie pies! I gave the recipe 4 stars because the first time I made the recipe the cookies were very flat. After reading the reviews I made them again adding a box of chocolate pudding and 2 tbs of flour to the batter. This resulted in nice puffy cookies! They were exactly what I was looking for! I have to say that I do use a different filling recipe so this review is based only on the cookie portion. Thank you for the great way to make delicious whoopie pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I guess I made my pies slightly bigger than the original poster because I only made 9 complete whoopie pies out of this recipe--not 24 (maybe she means 24 halves?). Also, at first I followed another reviewer's suggestion that you do not need to cook the filling and was extremely disappointed with the result. The filling was like a soupy oatmeal. Sooo I scrapped that one and followed the original poster's filling and I it came out great. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
They turned out pretty good. Cake part was good but a little flat. Filling did not turn out the greatest. I don't like to use shortening so i substituted 1 cup of butter and it turned out too watery. I added some cool whip to give it a little more fluffiness and it helped a bit but still runny. I will probably try these again but do it the way the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
These are the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States