Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by luckymom
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Easy, but I could not get the cookies to set well. I ended up using an embossed mini cake pan and then cutting the cakes in half to fill them. They taste great and ended up looking super cute. Unfortunately I am only giving 3 stars because the original cooking method did not work so well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kennebunk, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Awesome recipe! I used an earlier suggestion and added a box of instant chocolate pudding and they came out beautifully. Definitely a quick and easy recipe with a delicious outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mightyruby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I used a different recipe the box of cake mix 3 eggs and 1/2 cup of veg oil and 1/4 cup coccoa powder til mixed. for 10 minutes at 350. Dough was easy and delish and yummy. cakes came out very flat. Not puffy but still delish. the shortening makes anything gross. I used exact matching measurements of vanilla icing and cool whip. You can even use low fat. Whip together fill and refrigerate. Very light not over powering a great change. These were wonderful. Love the filling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Great, but I think I may have cooked them a little too long. I used the Medium sized pampered chef scoop to make the pies so they are pretty small. Only say I cooked too long because they are dry the next day.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I was away from home and wanted to make whoopie pies, which gave me a natural opportunity to try a new recipe. In general, the whoopie pies were good. The cake mix is a convenient and quick alternative, although it was easy to distinguish the "cake mix" flavor, which is expected. The whoopie pies are noticeably more sticky on day 2. The filling is quite good when butter is substituted for shortening, but I am rating the recipe as written, not as modified. I will continue to rely on my favorite recipe in the future, which provides a "sturdier" cake with a homemade taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Followed other reviewers and added 1 box of instant pudding and 3 TBSP of flour. I used a medium sized cookie scoop (OXO). I have a Kenmore electric range (circa 2005) and baked for 11 minutes to perfection. They are glossy and delicious. I used a buttercream recipe from this site (butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, salt) to fill, as I don't care for cooked frosting. I'm planning to run the edges through red sugar for a holiday touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADAMS4314
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
The batter definitely needs to stand about 10 minutes or so in order to "firm up" a bit - it will give a much better shape to the cake, otherwise it will spread too much and the ends will get too thin and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great whoopie pie recipe! Followed exactly using a Devils Food mix that already had pudding in it. As I was whisking the inside filling, I kept having to add more milk. Other than that, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
SUBLIME! Made these for a Christmas dinner party and they were a hit! You can use any flavor cake mix. I found Banana flavored cake mix and talk about insane YUM fest! I made only minor changes but worth noting. I added a small box of instant choc pudding to the cake mix and used half & half in place of milk - I needed to use it up. I baked on well buttered pans at 350 for exactly 11 minutes. Let cool for 5 min before transferring to rack. DONT BAKE ON NONSTICK TEFLON COOKIE SHEETS! One of the pans I used was a non stick and the cookies baked on that sheet were flatter than those baked on a other sheets. Filling is super good with these adjustments. I used 1/2 c milk and 1/2 c half & half in place of 1c milk. I used 2c of powdered sugar in place of white sugar. I also replaced the shortening with 1/2 butter and 1/2 butter flavor shortening and added a pinch of salt. Filling is pretty shelf stable would hold up well in heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Cakes are good and very fluffy, but only 3 stars because I didn't care for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States