Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Made these for a bake sale at work and they were all gone! Had several people come back and ask to order more! Followed the suggestion to add the pudding to the cake mix and it worked like a charm. Used another suggestion and made a peanut butter filling instead of the one here and it was delish! Simple & easy to make. Going to make them again in a few weeks for my 6 year old's Bday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jerzeeegirll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I used a different recipe for the cake. I only used the filling recipe because I had no confectioners sugar (which is what the other recipe required) the filling was ok, just a tad flour-y but otherwise it was sweet and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nutellapuppy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Great and easy recipe! Did not care for the shortening in the filling so I substituted 2 sticks of softened butter.....FABULOUS! Not waxy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Everything is great, but all the complaints about the cakes coming out flat etc.... here's a solution, make your own. Cake/Cookie 1/2 cup shortening 1 cup sugar 2 eggs 1 tsp vanilla 1 cup buttermilk 1/2 cup cocoa 2 cups flour 1 tsp baking soda 1 tsp baking powder 1/2 tsp salt Cream together shortening, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and buttermilk. Add the cocoa, flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. (Mixture will be VERY thick.) Put on a cookie sheet with a tablespoon. Bake @ 350 for 10 minutes. When done, lay on wax paper to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
thought the first round tasted a little floury...added some additional cocoa powder, sugar and it helped. used the peanut butter frosting recipe also on this site and they were REALLY great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I loved these. My only problems were that I felt the filling was a little Idk.. too sugary maybe. I might try one of the many other filling options I've heard of. I was expecting something very hostess and it was a bit sweet for me. Also the filling made SOOOO much. I had a bowl of filling in my fridge that I didn't need. But what a wonderful idea and i'll definetly make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
My 5 year old LOVED these!! I did add a small box of choco jello instant pudding. Also, after trying the filling recipe in this recipe I decided to try on of the other reviewers recipes. I used 2 egg white, 1 C. butter, 1 lb. confectioners sugar, 1 t. vanilla, 4 T. flour, and 4 T. milk. When I put the filling in, I rolled the cookies in sprinkles. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talulu84
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is such a simple, yet amazing recipe! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talulu84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Essentially shortening and sugar filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcosheller
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Just made these and they taste wonderful. Very easy to make. I made about 40 of them with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcosheller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States