Whoopie Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have not tried but I will try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
These were great! The only thing I could complain about, is that I don't really like chocolate cake, so I made strawberry AND chocolate whoopie pies! They were a hit with the neighbor's kids and mine, definitely will make these again! (-: :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made these and my mom went crazy! She absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
LOVED JENDP'S frosting suggestion substitute!! It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These were fantastic. I made mine a little to big, so it only made half the servings... but extremely enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I chose this recipe because it looked easy and it didn't use raw egg whites so I wouldn't have to worry about kids eating them. The cake part turned out okay. A little batter goes a long way! They do not puff up like the traditional whoopie pie though. The filling was terrible, it was like eating slightly sweetened crisco. I added a container of marshmellow creme and that helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I used the red velvet cake mix from duncan hines and the betty crocker whipped frosting instead. Family loved it and it was super easy. I used my mini cupcake pans (sprayed w/oil or pam) to create a consistent size, but you have to be careful as a small dollop can go a long way. Going to try the cookie sheet approach and see if that's easier to clean-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is great...I did add a small box of instant chocolate pudding to the mix. For the filling, I used butter flavored shortening and after it was all mixed, I added a tbsp of Baileys Irish Cream and mixed that into the filling. You can add more or less for your taste. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very good! They were easy to make and put together. One note though is that I would let the batter sit for a few minutes after mixing. It didn't seem to spread as much after putting it on the baking sheet if you let it sit. The first couple of baking sheets I did, the little cakes turned out a little thin. But as I progressed and neared the end of the bowl, they mounded up and held their shape really well. I'm having a small issue though with the tops of my cake ripping off. Maybe the cake is too moist or I should have baked it longer, but it doesn't interfere with taste obviously. I didn't have that waxy feel in the filling like some suggested. Maybe due to the fact that once I added the milk/flour mixture to the shortening and sugar, I let it beat for about five minutes. Really mixed it well. All in all, excellent recipe and I would definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I was so thrilled when I came across such a simple recipe with a decent rating. However, in the middle of just making the cakes I knew I was in for disaster. In the oven the cakes thinned out and spread together. So I had to use a cup to "cookie cut" them. Then, it took 3 different batches of the filling before I just gave up. I ended up whipping home made whipped cream. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whoopie Pies

See how to make chocolate cakes with delicious creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States