White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Sooo delicious! I followed the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. They turned out perfectly! I also substituted the almond extract with vanilla extract since I didn't have any almond extract on hand. I baked the cookies for exactly 10 minutes and pulled them out of the oven when just some of the edges were golden brown. I will definitely make these again. Update: I made this recipe again with all butter, no shortening. The cookies spread quite a bit and weren't nearly as good as when I made them with 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1076 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
So good! I read most of the reviews and was really confused as to what to expect. Half of them said the cookies came out really cakey and puffy, and the other half said they were too flat. I don't like either extremes and really wanted a cookie that was right in the middle. I got it! I followed the recipe in the basics (was going to use less flour as some of the reviews stated, but when I was adding it, they looked like they needed all 2 1/2 cups), except did 1 tsp vanilla instead of half almond, and added more macadamia nuts and white chocolate chips. Used real salted butter, and it wasn't extremely softened, which I think helped. Dropped by tablespoons instead of teaspoons because teaspoons always seem too small. Baked for 9 minutes and they came out just undercooked in the middle, which is exactly how I like them. They were perfect. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
514 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enumclaw, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
The BEST. Better than any cookie I have made yet. Made the recipe as is. Which I suggest as butter adds alot to the richness of the cookie. No problem with spreading. Do not soften butter too much. I also returned my dough to the fridge to firm it up a bit after mixing.I also did not add any almond extract. Almond is a very strong flavor and macadamia nuts are expensive. I did not want to overpower their delicate flavor.A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
I made these cookies on a lazy Sunday afternoon, they mix up quick and easy. I read other reviews talking about the cookie "spreading" so I did 2 things to prevent this. First, I made sure to allow the butter to soften on its own at room temperature, and substituted 1/2 of the butter with butter Crisco. I also only used 1/2 of the almaond extract that is called for. The results were absolutely fabulous!!! They had very nice form, and baked up perfectly on my stoneware cookie sheet. My husband labeled it "a keeper" and took some to work to "share" although I think he was selfish and kept most for himself. I will be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFMEOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
I've made these cookies four times now and they are always a tremendous hit. The last time I modified the recipe based on some of the reviews here. I replaced half the butter with butter flavored shortening and did 3/4 tsp vanilla and only 1/4 tsp almond extract. It made the almond flavor much more subtle and not so overpowering. The substitution of shortening for part of the butter helps the cookies maintain their shape and gives them a great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Some of the best cookies ever! I made them into bars, and way undercooked them so they would be soft, and a little chewy. I've been searching for this recipe for years - Got it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
These came out great, I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out just like the photo. Crispy crust and chewy insides. If your having issues with the cookies I'd recommend you check your technique, you must be doing something wrong. I'd recommend doing it all by hand, electric mixers can cause things to go wrong very quickly because the generate heat and can over mix your batter. If your cookies are running flat, it means your butter is melting before you bake. First check and be sure your using real butter, the only ingredients in it should be milk/cream, anything else and it's not butter! Your butter is ready for creaming when it's cool to the touch and when you press your finger against it, it should dent a little. Also when you pick it up it should have no trouble holding it's shape. When your creaming try not to place your hand by the bottom of the bowl, the heat from your hand can melt the butter to much. Also chilling your cookies just before baking can help it keeps it shape, but don't chill for to long, maybe a few mins. Baking soda goes to work immediately, so if you wait to long your cookies won't rise. If it's coming out cakey it's probably the shortening or too much baking soda (measure carefully!!!!) Hard/dense cookies are do to over mixing, to get that crisp and chewy texture you want to FOLD your dry ingredients in GENTLY a little at a time. Stirring or being aggressive will beat the gluten to much and change the texture of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I made these Saturday and had 2 requests for the recipe in my inbox on Monday morning. My switches: - 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortening - 1 tsp vanilla, no almond - 3/4 bag of white choc chips - parchment lined sheets - big messy drops of cookies Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
I made this recipe without the almond extract (doubled the vanilla) and they were delicious. I found these cookies to be quite sweet with the amount of sugar called for and wouldn't add any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
So good! If you want to make a powerful impression, take these cookies to a party. I put the full amount of almond extract in and it was not overpowering at all. I cut down on the flour a little bit, using 2 cups of all-purpose and 1/4 of whole-wheat pastry flour. Taking these cookies to a dinner party tonight...if they last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States