Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I love this recipe. My sister made it for a potluck and I snuck a few. Delish! Now I made my own and turned it into cupcakes. I made a sweet vegan icing with powdered sugar, orange juice, and cocoa powder. To. Die. For. Not too dense or sweet either like a lot of vegan cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tashana Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This is A 0 Cholesterol dessert! I used coconut oil for the oil and made a frosting with coconut oil and almond milk and Powdered sugar. I love this cake more than most choc cakes. I did up the cocoa to a half cup and added an extra tablespoon water. Yum it is soo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Zimmerman
Home Town: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A little bread like, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I just put the cake into the oven, so I haven't even tasted the finished product yet! But the batter is delicious! I almost think it's better than a regular recipe. I followed the instructions basically, though I doubled the recipe as someone else said, to make a full-sized 13" x 9" cake. I also used Balsamic vinegar, as another person suggested. OMG! This is so good, and so easy. I'm sure I'll be using this recipe again and again, whether vegan is needed or not! I'll frost the cake with Pillsbury's Vegan/Gluten-Free Vanilla Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Definitely a keeper. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
not truly vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zangief Gobalsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This vegan cake was very good. Although it was slightly on the fudge-y side, everyone enjoyed it. We cut the sugar in half, it was fine. The only problem was that the cake was not very chocolate-y. We would've added at least another tbs. of coco powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Good old 'Wacky Cake'! This is the recipe my mom used all through my childhood, and now I make it for every birthday. Fool-proof recipe, and no worries about letting little monkeys lick the bowl and spoon. I generally cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Hands down the best chocolate cake recipe I have made or had. Subs I made: whole wheat pastry flour for the flour, coconut sugar for the sugar, olive oil for the oil. I baked it in a glass loaf pan for 35 minutes at 325 degrees and it came out perfectly. Eating it warm with whipped coconut cream right now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I took it out of the oven and it looked amazing. However, while it was cooling, it collapsed and looked and tasted like a brownie. It was still delicious. I tested the baking soda that I used, and it was still good. I'm thinking that maybe I mixed it too long ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States