Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
not truly vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zangief Gobalsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This vegan cake was very good. Although it was slightly on the fudge-y side, everyone enjoyed it. We cut the sugar in half, it was fine. The only problem was that the cake was not very chocolate-y. We would've added at least another tbs. of coco powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Good old 'Wacky Cake'! This is the recipe my mom used all through my childhood, and now I make it for every birthday. Fool-proof recipe, and no worries about letting little monkeys lick the bowl and spoon. I generally cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Hands down the best chocolate cake recipe I have made or had. Subs I made: whole wheat pastry flour for the flour, coconut sugar for the sugar, olive oil for the oil. I baked it in a glass loaf pan for 35 minutes at 325 degrees and it came out perfectly. Eating it warm with whipped coconut cream right now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I took it out of the oven and it looked amazing. However, while it was cooling, it collapsed and looked and tasted like a brownie. It was still delicious. I tested the baking soda that I used, and it was still good. I'm thinking that maybe I mixed it too long ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Made this for years. We call it a crazy cake. My kids and theirs have always loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atglen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mac n cheese
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
YUMMY! This cake came out tasty and moist. I am new to this vegan way of eating. I decided to take the plunge and bake this cake for my sons First Birthday Party. I was nervous how it would turn out without a trial run but I followed the reviews and changed a few things and came out wonderfully! Everyone loved it! Here's what I did differently; - I doubled the recipe to make 2 9" rounds for a two layer cake. - I used organic cane sugar instead of white sugar - I added a few pinches of brown sugar - I used Balsamic Vinegar instead of white vinegar - I used half veg. oil & half Olive oil - I added a teaspoon of cinnamon - I doubled the amount of cocoa powder - I added a small handful of vegan chocolate chips - Lastly, I only cooked for about 30 minutes (35 minutes the second time) I, originally, was going to use vegan chocolate frosting. But it came out pretty chocolaty and sweet. I thought that it would be 'too much' chocolate. So I decided on a vegan buttercream frosting. I topped with raspberries and it came out perfectly! This time I just baked another one and experimented with a little less sugar, a little less cocoa and a 1.5 cups of water and a half a cup of brewed coffee to make up for the liquid (again this is all doubled for two cakes). We will see how it turns out..I might even do raspberry preserves in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janejones81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Good cupcakes. I used balsamic vinegar and added some cayenne to half the batch. It was great. I made a vegan ganache with semi-sweet chocolate and coconut milk to frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Following the recipe for the cake batter, I tried making cupcakes instead of just one cake and even baking for 25 min was just a bit too much. I'd recommend closer to 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States