Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Vigidis
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vigidis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
We live by this brownie recipe due to egg and milk allergies;)The only change I make is I HALF the oil. They turn out much better that way:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was a great recipe! I took tips from other reviews and used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup oil instead of all oil and they had a great texture, very cakey and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I tried this recipe this weekend after reading ALL the reviews. I was skeptical because there were so many differing opinions but I think they turned out VERY well for a vegan brownie (I'm not vegan but I made them for a friend). I will point out, however, that they are very moist--the way that I like brownies. I made a full recipe and modified as follows: I used whole wheat flour. Instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 cup raw turbinado sugar and 1/2 cup honey. Instead of the 1 cup oil I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. Instead of water I used 1 cup of strong black coffee. I mixed the warm coffee with the sugar and vanilla and then added the cocoa, oil, honey and applesauce. I mixed the flour, salt and baking powder together and then added the dry ingredients to the wet mixture. I stirred in one cup of vegan chocolate chips, too but they would be great without the chocolate chips. I used a brand new, non-stick 9x13 pan and baked at 350 (my oven might run a little cold because it's older) for about 35 minutes -- I set the timer for 25 and kept adding a few minutes until the brownies "looked dry on top" -- you'll be able to tell when they are done when the top isn't shiny any more. I let them cool in the pan for over an hour and then cut and put into a Rubbermaid container in between pieces of wax paper last night to prevent sticking. We ate a test brownie at lunch today and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The reviewer who said these were the “worst brownies ever” must be on some sort of mind-altering substance, because these brownies are AMAZING. However, I recommend using less than ½ a cup of vegetable oil — 1 cup of vegetable oil is waaaay too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but they came out tasting just like vegetable oil =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Im just going vegan, from vegetarian and these brownies are honestly the best! I used all supplies from the new organic section in stop and shop. If you think about most brownie mixes from a box have the same ingredients so, give these brownies a try. They are rich and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These brownies were absolutely delicious!! I followed the directions to the letter. I did add about handful of vegan mini chocolate chips once my brownies were ready to pour into the pan. Due to variances in ovens, I had to bake the brownies about 20 minutes longer than instructed. As others have mentioned, they did crumble a little when I cut them, but I noticed that when I allowed them to cool a little more, they were fine and held their shape. Overall, they were SO good and my boys and family LOVED them. They are begging me to make them again soon! Thanks for a vegan twist on brownies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I am a try junk foodie bake-a-holic and I thought these were absolutely delicious! My batter was a tiny bit grimy and thick so I added 1tsp of coconut milk and I really think it made all the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great recipe for Nick - no dairy, no eggs. We sprinkled some chocolate chips on top. These are dense but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States