Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed other some other reviewers suggestions and added peanut butter and frosting. They turned out great! Instead of 1 cup of vegetable oil, I did 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sauce and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil. I also added in 1/4 cup of natural peanut butter to the batter. Spray the pan well with cooking spray and cook for 30 minutes. I also added frosting, which was 1 can of Pillsbury Supreme Creamy Vanilla (listed on PETA's accidentally vegan site, so 99% vegan), mixed with 1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter and 2 tablespoons of vanilla almond milk. Mix with electric beaters. Spread over brownies. Let sit in refrigerator overnight and then cut into squares. I kept them in the fridge and we ate them cold. They turned out really yummy and not crumbly at all! They almost had a fudge like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex Clem
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Really tasty with just a few improvements:roasted nuts and almonds!It gets done in about 3 minutes with the help offered by my 2 and a half little girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I changed from white sugar to Raw Sugar and 1/2 cup of dried cranberry. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut the sugar in half and used raw sugar instead of white. I also cut the oil down by 1/3 and instead used water to reach a proper consistency for baking. I sprayed my baking dish with olive oil and poured half the batter, sprinkling vegan chocolate chips on the middle, followed by the rest of the batter with more chips on top. This recipe needs approximately 15 more minutes of baking than indicated, but I used a toothpick in the center to gauge this. Close to the end of cooking, I dropped dollops of unsalted natural peanut butter on top, swirled through with a knife, and continued baking for 10 minutes. They are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We adapted this recipe into a gluten free version using Bobs Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour. Added 1 tsp zanthum gum, substituted full fat coconut milk for the water and left the rest of the recipe as is. These turned out wonderfully! Even better than our favourite brownie mix by Namaste! Just as easy and much cheaper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
These were sensational! I would have given it a 5 if it wasn't too crumbly. I made a few changes though, used brown sugar instead of white and decreased the flour by 1/2 cup and substituted the 1/2 cup with unsweetened coconut flakes. They weren't oily and tasted just perfect. Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
These brownies were soft and delicious!! I could not get enough. The only negative is that the bake time took a lot longer than 30 minutes. I baked for a little over an hour. These were so great, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent brownies! I had a guest over who was allergic to eggs so I made this for dessert. Instead of 1 cup oil, I used 2/3 cup oil and 1/3 cup applesauce and it was not oily as some others complained. Some said it was not chocolatey enough but I used Dutch cocoa and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, but in term of ingredients, but like one reviewer said, I allowed the water and flour to sit together longer for gluten to form. They were FANTASTIC squares of gooey awesomeness!!! Would make again and again until I die!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I can't say I liked these even a little but I gave three stars because my kiddos liked them, but they insisted I make the "real" ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States