Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Of course, I used raw cane sugar as white sugar is not vegan, the cooking time and temperature will differ based on what pan and oven you use, and the batter was so thick, my mixer could barely handle it. But overall these brownies were very simple to make and tasted just as good as any non-vegan brownie mix. These are not gourmet fudgy brownies, but still satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
moist and delicious! I frosted them with creamy peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Incredible. I replaced the vegetable oil with olive oil, using 2/3 the amount listed. Also, I added half a cup of quick oats. LOVED IT Update: second time through-- I replaced the vegetable oil with 3/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup of applesauce (something I use often to replace eggs). cooked it ten minutes more than it said; still really soft inside but utterly delicious nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
There awesome I just made them and yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Yarochuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I like the flavor, but the texture was off. I measured exactly per the recipe, I tend to make it that way on the first try. But it didn't hold together, it was a bit cakey and the bottom layer kind of slipped away from the top. (A thin bottom layer stayed on the spatula as I put the brownie on a plate.) Maybe it was the cup of oil. Next time I will use some applesauce to replace some oil and use a non-dairy milk vs water. Then add in chocolate chips or chunks. But by then its NOT this recipe anymore. I think it can definitely be improved upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
These brownies were tasty, but pretty greasy and crumbly. For chocolate lovers out there I added some chocolate chips, and it really added some sweatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
These are fantastic! I subbed olive oil for the vegetable oil and added about .25 cup of coffee, poured the batter into muffin wrappers, and had great cupcakes. Definitely a staple if you avoid animal products but like baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe is great! Tastes like normal brownies, without having to use any weird ingredients. I actually had all the ingredients already so didn't have to go to the store for egg-replacements etc. Since I was making these for my anniversary, after reading some of the other comments I did decide to add a little extra flavor w/ coconut milk instead of water and also by substituting most of the oil w/ melted vegan margarine. It's great how basic the recipe is so that you can substitute whatever you feel like, and was exactly what I was looking for: basic, cheap, quick, easy, delicious. Didn't have a brownie recipe w/out some sort of egg-replacer, so this was wonderful. It did seem like a lot of sugar, maybe because I don't bake much, but kept w/ the recipe and it came out tasting like normal brownies (which I was going for, since my husband's an omnivore & choco-holic)! He loves these :) Maybe next time (as I WILL be making these again) I will get even more creative & healthy, w/in reason of course, by using some avocado in place of the oil (other people suggested applesauce which I will try too) & less sugar (maybe substituting with some banana and agave syrup), & adding some strong coffee as part of the liquid component to make it even more chocolatey. Mine wasn't very crumbly at all (didn't overbake, went just by the directions), but would like to make it a smidge more fudgey so maybe using avocado would do the trick. Great basic recipe! I love it, thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I love this recipe- thanks for posting. I add spices (like cinnamon), chocolate chips and coconut,use at least half of whole grain flour,and raw sugar (as if that would make it healthier, but one can try ;)). I think its great to remember roughly same amounts of flour, water, oil and a bit more sugar. I agree, that they crumble a bit, but I have no clue how to improve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaPa Si

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Gooey, chewy, fudgy, yummmmmm. I'm a brownie freak and these are everything a brownie is supposed to be. My "omg, these are the best brownies I've ever had" recipe when I want to wow a non-vegan and show them how completely unnecessary eggs are in modern baking. Have made this recipe at least 30 times, it never fails. I took the advice of one of the commenters and added a middle layer of (vegan, of course) dark chocolate chips, which only adds to the perfect texture of this awesome recipe. The only other difference is I usually cut some of the oil with applesauce. I've taken these brownies to work, to pot lucks, to get-togethers... all I've ever gotten is rave after rave after rave. I want this recipe on my tombstone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antonialeigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 661) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States