Unsloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Used italian seasoning vinegar instead of white vinegar and increased it a bit. I didn't have tomato paste so I used same amount of tomato sauce. Simmered uncovered to reduce the amount of liquid. Turned out great, would recommend adding cheese as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Fairly delicious. I added veggie ground round to give it some oo la la.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy R Keith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This is the best recipe I have used from allrecipes. No doubt. I rarely make it exactly to specifications because I just use what I have around. It is still great every time! I even made it for my non-vegetarian parents and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe was good, but it would have been better with less chili powder. I added mozzarella to the mix, which helped it stick together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
We love this recipe! The only things I change/add is to replace the tomato paste with a healthy squeeze of ketchup (just because I don't usually keep a tube of paste on hand for smaller amts) and I also add about 1 tsp salt. I do cut down a little on the chili powder, but not much since I think it adds to the whole "sloppy joe" flavor of this dish. We like to serve it with cheddar cheese and pickles on the buns...Mmmm! Super easy, super tasty, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I really liked this. We are trying to add more veggies to our diet and this recipe really kept us full for a long time. Plus we have a vegan sister-in-law and I will try this when she comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was pretty great. I did not use chili powder, but added just a light dust of cayenne. I used red wine vinegar instead (didn't have regular white), but it tasted great! I mashed the beans slightly to get a better texture, which I am glad I did! I also added a handful of monterey jack cheese to bind it together. It is a bit like veggie chili on a bun, but no complaints here! Next time I will add a little TVP for texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great recipe! Even my meat-eating family loves it! As recommended by others, I reduced the amount of chili powder and increased the amount of vinegar. I also added a sweetener (agave nectar and a touch of stevia) some prepared mustard, and salt. I also added some chicken broth one time for depth. Truly a yummy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was great. A little to much chili powder for my taste, I would cut it back to 1 instead of 1 1/2. My girlfriend and I used hoggie buns then topped it with shredded colbyjack cheese and tosted them at 450 for about 5 minutes to add a nice finish to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Wish I would have read the reviews because it was a little warm and I had already cut back on the pepper and chili pepper because I was serving it to a four an five year old. Otherwise, I loved it (and the crazy 4 year old who was fanning his tongue and saying, "oh yeah mom, I like it!"). It was very substantial and easy. I may rough chop the beans the next time to help mimic the texture of sloppy joes a bit more, but I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Nelson-Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States