Unsloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
It was very tasty. I prefer it over rice than on a bun, though. Despite it's tastiness and health benefits, however, mine tasted nothing whatsoever like sloppy joes, hence the three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
definitely a very yummy and healthy veg sloppy joe recipe! i have used veggie "meat" and manwich sauce in the past, but i think this is WAY better because you control the ingredients (especially the sodium, which can get so high with all prepackaged food!) and i love using fresh veggies and beans. i prepared dry kidney beans instead of using canned beans(again less sodium). i also greatly decreased the black & chili pepper amount, and kept adding vinegar until i liked the taste. i added a pinch of brown sugar too. it made a bunch, so i think i might try freezing half as another reviewer suggested. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkin girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I have made this probably five or six times since discovering this recipe a little while back. This has to be one of my favorite vegetarian recipes ever. I always double the recipe because everyone fights over the leftovers. It is absolutely delicious. The only thing I do different is to use a little less chili powder, since we don't like things too spicy. I serve it with homemade bread bowls, sliced olives, shredded cheddar and a dollop of sour cream. Even my husband who insists every meal needs some sort of meat enjoys this. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was fairly easy and quick, but not my favorite. I used a food processor to chop up the vegetables, which made it easier. Next time I will add some vegetable stock to the vegetables to make sure they do so more evenly. I used cayenne pepper because I didn't have any chili powder and it was way too spicy for me, so I had to add cheese and sour cream to counteract this (which made it more palatable but considerably less healthy). It definitely needed some form of salt to counteract the spice. My boyfriend, who much prefers meat, enjoyed it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Good recipe. I added a tablespoon of agave nectar and a few tablespoons of barbecue sauce. Next time I will try it with lentils instead of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I think this recipe is fab. I've made it for a few years now and it makes a great base - I put spices out and let everyone make it as spicy or hot as they want. Cheap, nutritious, filling. Great for a cold autumn or winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton Bays, New York, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I really liked this! I agree with some of the other reviews, it's basically chili on a bun, but the flavor was more like a sloppy joe. I definitely cut out a lot of the chili powder, this calls for way too much. My only other problem was the servings. It may have filled 8 buns, but this recipe only fed three relatively petite college kids [two girls, one guy].
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Tastes fine but more or less chili on a bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Used italian seasoning vinegar instead of white vinegar and increased it a bit. I didn't have tomato paste so I used same amount of tomato sauce. Simmered uncovered to reduce the amount of liquid. Turned out great, would recommend adding cheese as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Fairly delicious. I added veggie ground round to give it some oo la la.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boy R Keith

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States