Unsloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
The name is deceiving. These don't taste anything like sloppy joes. They taste more like stuffed pepper filling or a vegeterarian chili. I threw the leftovers away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Way better than I expected. I halved the chili powder like everyone else, added some cholula chipotle hot sauce and smoke seasoning and toasted sourdough rolls with butter on one side and mozerella on the other...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
add more vegetables for a more zesty taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milanm25
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Everyone loved this! We are a vegan family and it is so wonderful to have a family friendly recipe that even the kids love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe! Even my carnivore sons said it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Not too bad as a vegetarian chili but definitely did not taste anything like Sloppy Joes to us. I used half of the chili powder, as suggested by other members and it still ended up being overly spicy for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These should definitely not be titled "unsloppy" haha they were fun to eat though! I also added red pepper as I read in a review, the cheese makes it stick together better, but I also think it's too juicy in the beginning I would drain the tomatoes and cook the carrots before anything else. Balsamic vinegar instead of white really tastes amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyCakes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This recipe was easy and turned out pretty well. I love the vinegar in it, it definitely gives it a "meatier" flavor. I found it a little bit uninteresting in flavor, I think it needed a little salt (maybe if you use salted beans it works out?). Anyhow, that mostly just MY salt addiction talking! It was fine- a bit like a vinegary vegetarian chili. I made a couple changes- out of necessity, I used canned black beans instead of kidney beans. I think the texture of kidney beans would have been better, but the black beans were nice, too. A also reduced the amount of chili powder as many reviewers suggested- I wish I hadn't! I kept tasting and adding more and more. Different chili powders have different levels of heat! I used a blend of two types of chili powder, one that is incredibly mild with a nice chili flavor, and an ancho chile one that is spicier. My joe mix wasn't very spicy at all... I don't know of some of the reviewers are sensitive to spice or something, because I would have had to use a pretty hot chili powder to make it too spicy to enjoy. A teaspoon of black pepper also didn't really add much heat. Anyhow, know your chili powder, and add the full amount if it is a milder one, or reduce the amount if you're using a hot powder. (And don't accidentally use Cayenne chili powder- that'll probably burn your mouth right off if you use much of it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I'm a really picky eater and didn't like this. But I'm also able to see what most people WOULD like and the other people who ate with me weren't picky eaters. To them, this was a decent recipe but nothing really special. They mentioned that they'd omitt the carrots. I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nivannah

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States