Unsloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I liked this a lot. Was easy, inexpensive and the family ate every last bite. I used French bread buns as that is what I had on hand. reminded me of a chili bowl kinda thing...but since I love those too, this hit the spot on a cool October evening. thank you for sharing....will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Used crushed tomatoes... Had to add brown sugar to sweeten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Pretty good, but I would make some changes next time. I would not use as much of the diced tomatoes, I'd use ketchup instead of tomato paste, and maybe add some mustard and increase the vinegar. The idea is really great, I enjoyed it mostly because it used beans rather than TVP or some other meat substitute. I'd cut back on the pepper, not because I can't take spicy stuff (I love it) but because cutting down on the pepper balances the flavors more. Thanks for sharing your recipe, will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Was a little bland for our taste. Next time we'll try to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Quite good; a nice change from the usual sloppy Joes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. It was quick and easy to make and tasted very good. I like that it uses everyday ingredients, nothing unusual that I wouldn't normally have on hand. I served it open-faced on half a bun to cut back on bread. My husband liked it too so I'll will probably be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLBOOTH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe to the fullest. I followed the directions, then added a bit more tomato paste based on another review. After a taste test I decided to add a bit of salt and two spoons of open pit bar-b-q sauce because I've always enjoyed the bold flavor bar-b-q sauce brings to sloppy joes. Finally, I topped it off with shredded cheese. Tasty and Filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
drain the can of tomatoes if they're stewed because it turned out more like soup i let it sit for a good 45 minutes to thicken and added cornstarch. overall very yummy with chedar cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
These were really good, however I wouldn't go into these thinking they will taste like sloppy joes. They taste like vegetarian chili, but it was still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Not bad, decent flavor and very filling have enjoyed it several times now! Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States