Unsloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I could eat this every day, twice a day. I love love this recipe, it's healthy, tasty and you can store some in the freezer for another day (or for dinner!). I made it pretty bare minimum, all the ingredients fresh but no vinegar, no tomato paste, and fresh raw tomatoes, not canned. It is so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Delicious! Lightly mashing the beans gave the mixture a nice meaty texture. I also added 1T Thai chili sauce to give a little sweet to the spicy. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
next time i'm going to puree the beans so it goes better with the kids, otherwise a new favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
this is a delicious recipe! me and my friend made it, and ended up just eating it by it's self it was so good. We added some fake meat to it, which added some of the traditional texture to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
One of my all time favorite vegetarian recipes. I always make a double batch because it goes quickly, even with my husband, who normally despises vegetarian food. The first time I made this recipe, the two of us ate it in one sitting. I use a mild chili powder and 3/4 t pepper, otherwise it's way too spicy for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UmmSqueakster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This recipe was good, but nothing to write home to mom about. I like that it is really simple to make, and I had all ingredients on hand, so it's a good pantry-ready recipe (hence the four stars). I zipped my tomatoes in a blender a few seconds to make it less chunky. I left everything else the same. My chili powder must be pretty mild, or I like it more than other people, because I didn't have a problem with the amount. Definitely top with sharp cheddar (and tabasco if you like some heat). ***I still won't write home to Mom about this, but this recipe has become a staple in my home. I eat it all the time now. Thanks for a great little sandwich recipe that doesn't use faux-meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe! I too "tweaked" it a little, added more garlic, used balsamic vinegar and a little less chili powder. My husband, A huge meat eater LOVED it. I took the left over mix and used it with spaghetti the next night and that was AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doxiemom4evr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
My partner and I really enjoyed this recipe. He ate 3.5 sandwiches! We are always looking for good vegetarian recipes. I did decrease the amount of chili pepper to 1 tbsp. From reading the instructions, I plan to double the recipe next time so that I can freeze the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a wonderful spin on regular sloppy joes. Like other reviews suggested I cut back on the chili powder to 1 tsp. I just felt like 1 1/2 tbsp was a lot. I didn't add the carrots either, but I doubled the other veggies to about a cup each. I confess that I did add a lb of ground beef so that way my husband would eat it. I also added a splash of worcestershire sauce, a tbsp of soy sauce and about a 1/2 cup of ketchup. That really gave it the sweetness that it needed and helped hold it together more. BTW - It was great the next morning with a fried egg and hashbrowns on top served open face. :) Will definitely make this again. Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
As written, the recipe's flavor was not exactly what I like in a sloppy joe. The few changes I made took care of that. I increased the garlic to 2 cloves, decreased the chili powder to 1 TBS., increased the vinegar to 2 TBS., and added about 1 1/2 TBS. sugar. This took away some of the heat and acidity and created a slightly sweet and sour flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States