Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is one of my favorite comfort foods. I took off a star because when I measure according to the recipe, the mixture is too runny for my tastes. I cut down on the sour cream. This freezes well, too. After refilling the potato skins, I put the potatoes on a baking sheet in the freezer until they're solid, then I wrap them in foil and package in a gallon-sized ziplock bag. Then I thaw as many as I want and bake once thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this tonight as a main dish with a side salad. I didn't follow the recipe exactly , I omitted the sour cream and bacon completely didn't feel it was necessary for my personal taste and waistline :). I made my mixture with salted butter and roasted up 2 cloves of garlic added broccoli florets, green onion finely chopped, paprika and a dash of salt and i added the milk (warmed) a teaspoon at a time until i reached the desired consistency. I topped with shredded cheddar and put back in the oven until the cheese melted then quickly turned on the broiler to get it just a bit crispy. It was amazing so full of flavour and that was mainly because of the roasted garlic which was not over powering. I also seasoned my shells before baking with an olive oil rub and some course salt. The only thing that I might change next time is halfway through the baking process is to remove the potatoes from the foil and let the skins get a bit crispier, other then that i would make it the same way with an addition of black olives on top. These were delightful and will be added to my dinner rotation, my 6 yr old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
My kids absolutely love this recipe. The leftovers are even great the next day. Although I've used crumbled bacon that I cooked the first time I made these potatoes now I take the easy way out and use precooked real bacon bits and they are just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Fantastic. These are not weight watchers approved for sure. These were a hit at the last gathering I had. Everyone loved them!! I added the potatoes to the mizer and all the ingredients and the kitchen aid mixed eerything perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Yumm is all I can say. Followed the recipe exactly. These turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I had two leftover baked potatoes, so I cut them in half, scooped out the flesh, added butter and cheese and bacon bits, and nuked. (I didn't add salt since I'd coated the potatoes in EVOO and kosher salt while they baked.) Once everything was warm, I added the sour cream and put the mixture back in the skins and baked. Great way to stretch 2 potatoes to feed 4 people...keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Perfect as is; just subbed garlic salt for the regular salt. What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Great recipe. I changed one minor thing. I deep fry the potato skins after I scoop the potato out of them. Who doesn't love fried potato skins? Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gatchya
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Added a little bit extra cheese!!! ?? I've been making these for a long time and they are delicious. I add extra cheese and sourcream. Not thinking of health on nights like these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Made these for a family dinner to go along with steak. Everyone thought they were great! and they were very easy to put together, just leave a lot of time to bake your very large potatoes (400 degrees for mine took a little over an hour). I did use a plastic bag to pipe the potato back into the shell and I did taste the filling adding just a little more salt before the second bake. Would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lathrup Village, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States