Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Followed eatmedetroit's suggestions. Excellent results. Very good tasting soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miccycle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I used elk sausage instead of pork, coconut oil instead of the vegetable oil, and the rest of the ingredients from our garden. This was absolutely wonderful! I will keep this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great googly moogly. Love this recipe. Okay, so I left out the sausage, subbed golden beets (assuming red were preferred), left out the garlic and used a can of tomatoes with chilies in place of plain diced. Definitely not Ukranian by the time I got finished, but I'm sure were I to offer it to someone who spoke Ukranian, they'd be okay with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This recipe turned out well, though it took much longer than 55 min! Including peeling, shredding, and chopping everything, it took me 2 1/2 hours to prepare. It wasn't labor intensive most of the time, just waiting for various things to boil, but be aware that it will take some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was delicious! It brought me right back to when I was in Ukraine. I didn't add any sugar, but everything else I kept right with the recipe. I will definitely be recommending this to my family. On a side note, toasted and buttered sourdough bread has always been my favorite "side dish" for this soup: so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Autumn Zukewycz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is the first time I've ever tried Borscht soup. I made the recipe as is except I didn't use the tomato paste because I read the other reviews. I also chopped a big handful of fresh dill. The soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Apple Cider Vinegar is the secret to the perfect borsht seasoning. Try some in your bowl before you add it to the whole batch, the difference is amazing! Otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Super yummy! Baby loved it: blend it up or strain and give the soup juice in a cup with the veggies shreds on his tray. I didn't use meat, but used 1 t beef bullion. No sugar or tomato anything, except a squirt or two of ketchup (which is key). No garlic or garnishings needed either. Served withwarm crusty artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Delicious. I made mine with freshly roasted beets which makes a huge difference in deepening the beet flavor. Another thing I did, because I was in a hurry when I made the soup, is that I added a jar of Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage. Absolutely delicious. I am Eastern European.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
SO good & always gets rave reviews. Even better the next day. I tried using turkey sausage, but it was tasteless. Used canned beets because it was easier, used nappa cabbage because it's sweeter. Other than that, made it as written, and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States