Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I love this dish.. I like my food spicy so I add 2 jalapeños cut in half for flavor and cilantro finely chopped.. Then I love to add fresh lemon juice just as its ready to be served.. Yumm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We pulled out the winter garden today so beets, cabbage and carrots went from the garden into the pot. It is the kind of thick soup we love. BUT, as organized as I am, the prep took 35 minutes. I made it exactly as instructed but left out the sugar and garlic. the garlic would be lost, so don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I have spent many weeks in Ukraine this year. I used this recipe during the Holidays this year and found to be as close the what I had eaten in Ukraine. If you use fresh veggies then Prep time is not 15 minutes, about 30 minutes. I want to experiment with the meat. next time I want to use pork from the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Delicious and such a great way to use that cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torval Thronberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I love this stuff. The only problem is your kitchen will be BRIGHT PINK! Wear an apron and cover surfaces you don't want stained. I have found that in particular, beet juice stains linoleum very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It was good, no surprises – actually seemd a bit on the bland side to us. I grated the beets as called for. I was out of carrots so subbed diced sweet potato. Dairy allergy so left out sour cream. All in all a good comforting soup, to go to five stars it would need another herb or two. I agree with a few other comments, if you grate/shred the beets you shouldn’t cook them so long – they lose their color and that’s part of the fun of borscht – having magenta colored food! Of course, if you don’t put them in first the broth probably doesn’t get as much beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I never added the sugar and didn't salt or pepper it, and I halved the recipe. I decided to just dump in the whole can of tomato, it didn't seem to matter. It was AMAZING. Simply amazing stuff. I read a lot of recipes and decided to give this a try, since this is my first time making borscht. It was amazing, I'm posting it to FB and bringing in the extra to work to share. FYI, I don't know where they got the idea that all of this could be done in an hour. It takes me almost 2 hours from start to finish (not including the dishes and mess it makes). Still worth every moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
We made this without the sausage and it wasn't a very big hit, but I'm not sure our usual recipe is very authentic at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I used Veggy Broth instead of the 2 quarts of water. I did not add the 3/4 cup of water. I added some basil and dill at the end and 1 Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar at the end. This is so yummy!! Perfect for the beets in our garden - this is a great recipe for that. I am going to make more of this, to freeze to have later this winter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States