Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I omitted the sausage and added in some vegetable stock. I added 3 tbsp of fresh dill and 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar at the end. Exciting flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Very comforting dish! I used only 3 sausages and bought pre-shredded cabbage. Didn't think to get the pre-shredded carrots, that would have helped! For my pot I added about 2 tablespoons of salt (this was about perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
My spouse loved this soup so I gave it 4 stars. He loved the sausage & tomato in the Borscht. While I enjoyed it too, I prefer a borscht that tastes more like beets. Made the recipe exactly as stated - we both thought it needed more salt. Next time I may use a beef or chicken broth base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laur3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Half a pot or 2 quarts of water was too much and made the soup bland. Had to add more dill, soup base, salt, pepper and lemon juice then boil to reduce it. After all that, it was tasty. Will start with 2-4 cups of water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
instead of shredding the veggies just chop into chunks, soooo much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Just returned from Ukraine and Belarus, where I ate Borscht soup repeatedly, using different local specialties. This recipe is GREAT and AUTHENTIC using the following modifications: fill the soup pot half way with a combination of Chicken Stock and Water; omit the sugar; substitute Red Wine Vinegar (plenty sweet and nice tangy flavor); omit the tomato products (wasn't ever in dishes I was served overseas); replace garlic with lots of fresh dill. Although pork was very common in Ukraine, we omitted the pork. Instead we poured the soup over shredded extra lean brisket, prepared separately. All of our family members loved it! Thanks to the review from "eatmedetroit" for helping me re-create a favorite culinary experience from our vacation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I thought this recipe was outstanding. It canned very well. I have to add more salt for my taste, and fresh chives add another dimension as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kao1957

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
It was terrible on my first try cause i over cooked the beets. Second attempt was excellent though :-) so my advice is to watch the beets ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
YUM! A great hearty, tummy warming soup for cold winter nights! I disagree with earlier reviews...the added ground pork does NOT make it greasy. Used Beef Broth instead of water to up flavor. Added dill as suggested by others to pump up flavor too! Served with Perogies for a VERY well liked meal. my family of 5 (three young kids) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've had borscht only a couple of times and loved it. I actually like beets. But the tomato in this recipe completely overpowers the beets. Won't be making this again. Full disclosure: I'm vegetarian and omitted the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States