Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
instead of shredding the veggies just chop into chunks, soooo much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Just returned from Ukraine and Belarus, where I ate Borscht soup repeatedly, using different local specialties. This recipe is GREAT and AUTHENTIC using the following modifications: fill the soup pot half way with a combination of Chicken Stock and Water; omit the sugar; substitute Red Wine Vinegar (plenty sweet and nice tangy flavor); omit the tomato products (wasn't ever in dishes I was served overseas); replace garlic with lots of fresh dill. Although pork was very common in Ukraine, we omitted the pork. Instead we poured the soup over shredded extra lean brisket, prepared separately. All of our family members loved it! Thanks to the review from "eatmedetroit" for helping me re-create a favorite culinary experience from our vacation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I thought this recipe was outstanding. It canned very well. I have to add more salt for my taste, and fresh chives add another dimension as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kao1957

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
It was terrible on my first try cause i over cooked the beets. Second attempt was excellent though :-) so my advice is to watch the beets ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
YUM! A great hearty, tummy warming soup for cold winter nights! I disagree with earlier reviews...the added ground pork does NOT make it greasy. Used Beef Broth instead of water to up flavor. Added dill as suggested by others to pump up flavor too! Served with Perogies for a VERY well liked meal. my family of 5 (three young kids) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've had borscht only a couple of times and loved it. I actually like beets. But the tomato in this recipe completely overpowers the beets. Won't be making this again. Full disclosure: I'm vegetarian and omitted the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This is the third time I made this soup, I don't ever get sick of having the leftovers for lunch all week. I just chop up all the veggies instead of grating them to make life easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I come from a Ukrainian family and grew up hating red borscht until I grew older. The first time I made it, I was already living in Austria with my husband and kids. I decided to whip it up; going on my memories, and it was a huge hit. So much so, it's become one of our fall-backs. Traditionalists will cringe when I say this: I add Tabasco to mine; a bit of balsamic vinegar and tomato juice. Why the Tabasco? At Christmastime, red borscht is a staple dish, along with mushroom-filled "Vushka" or ravioli. There is always one in the batch that is filled with black pepper instead of mushrooms. The Vushka are then used, like dumplings, in the borscht. The one to bite into the one filled with black pepper, is the winner of all that year's luck. :-) I have had -- in my 43 years -- my share of the black pepper Vushkas. To be honest, I can't imagine a borscht without a kick. That's actually when I really started liking it... Maybe I'm Mexican, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This is a great recipe!! I recommend it to anyone just as it is.To make it more like my Mother"s recipe, I cooked and added a cup of dry white kidney beans,4 tbsp fresh Dill,juice of a half lemon,2 tbsp Balsamic vinegar,and 4 Bay leaves.I would have added some beet kvas ,as that would have added some nice tartness, but you have to make that a month ahead of time. This would partner perfectly with Potato Varenyky( aka Pierogi)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
My Husband family is Ukraine, I have been making Boorsh for years, but lost my recipe-This iss not much like the classic recipt. I made a few changes.1st used pork from a roast-about a cup-cut up in small pieces[pork sausage are to greasy] make sure you cut of the fat. you do NOT need sugar. you need an can of pork N Beans. when cooking the beets should only be added for the last 10 mins, also need dill to taste-Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States