Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This soup has prompted me to write my first review. We have started a yearly "Borschtfest" and this recipe went over very well. I would just use a more flavorful sausage than what I used. Plus, I sliced the beets rather than grated them - gives more substance in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I used the shredded beets and followed the instructions which said to cook them until they've lost color. I ended up with no broth or water left. I ended up with a veggie salad. Avoid this recipe unless you intend to make a lot of changes to it to make it work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I guess w/ a borscht I was expecting a dark red soup with a pronounced beet flavor. This recipe came out more like a winter vegetable soup. The flavor was of the vegetables (all of them) and the color was dark brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My partner, who is Ukrainian, says it is nothing like the one his grandmother made when he was growing up (he thinks, no potatoes...). Having said that, we both enjoyed it immensely It did the trick for me. The dill in place of the parsley is a must. This will be my contribution to my next potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
My Ukrainian mother made a soup like this but I never got her recipe. This is a very good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is a very good borsch recipe. I omit the sausage completely, and cut down the amount of garlic. To the poster that commented on borsch always having meat - actually, in Ukraine during Lent there is a Lenten menu available in almost every restaurant with vegetarian meals listed. It's common to not eat meat, at least on Fridays (though many avoid meat the entire 40 days), during Lent there. So, vegetarian borsch is quite common at this time of year. Otherwise, all borsch I came across while living there included beef, not pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Great recipe. Unique flavor that cuts across many cultures. Thanks for sharing this. My husband said it tasted exactly like it did when he traveled overseas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Well, I grew up in Ukraine till I was 19, and this recipe has not much to do with the classic.First it is with pork meat- solid, juicy, not some boiled crumbs.No pork? Then chicken.Second-"boil beets they lost color(shape and nutrition value)"-why?It takes 10 minutes to have them cooked with love, preserving color,aroma, taste.Add even some more , finely shredded! recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
We substituted stew beef for the sausage, and I did not bother cooking the onions separate. Overall it is a very good borscht recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Out of all the borscht recipes on this website, this one is the closest to authentic! Take out the meat (for sure!) half the tomato paste, and add WAY more parsley .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States