Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I followed the recipe but added aged vinegar instead of sugar and used dill instead of parsley as someone suggested. This is a real winner and one I will make again and again! In addition, it is low in fat and high in fiber! This really works with my lifestyle and freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Bateman Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Very good. I added 3 Tbsp fresh dill instead of the parsley and added an extra beet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Beet borscht is one of my all-time favorite soups. I start out with short ribs, braised and then covered with water and simmered for two hours along with a chopped onion, rather than the sausage...I have added sausage to the soup later, but find it a tad fatty for a soup base. Also, I simply cannot make a beet borscht without adding a good 1/4 cup of chopped FRESH dill in the last half hour of cooking time. When I serve this soup, I add about a tablespoon of white vinegar to each bowl and a good dollop of sour cream...sounds weird, I know, but it is to die for, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANN7258

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Stonewall, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was a delicious soup! Not quite what I expected (it was more tomato-y than I remember), but very hearty and filling. Perfect for our mysteriously rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I know it may seem a bit unfair to review a recipe after making changes to it, but I think this recipe is very forgiving in that regard. So, I omitted the sausage and oil, and substituted chicken broth for the water. At the end, in place of the sugar, I poured some apple juice and because we had no parsley or dill, I threw in a bit of cider vinegar to give it a tang. With all of that, we thought it was a very good soup. We ate it cold with sour cream the first day and hot later. It may not be authentic the way I made it, but my husband (who is a dedicated beet hater) gave it a 9 and said he would definately eat it again. Oh, I also quartered and boiled the beets, carrots and potatoes in the broth and just mashed them with a potato masher instead of shredding beforehand, only because it was too much trouble to pull out the food processor. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This is different than the borscht my grandmother from czechoslovakia used to make but just as delicious. I made it without the sausage and added some beef broth in place of the water. It was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was awesome! I didn't put in the sausage, or parsley garnish (because I forgot), but it was great, especially with sour cream. It looks really cool because it's extremely red. It seems pretty healthy and alkalizing as long as you don't go hog wild on the sour cream. I'm making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I made this at my son's request he loves beets! It came out very good. I took used dill instead of parsley. I didn't use any meat and I kept all my veggies in chunks instead of shredding. I also omitted the sugar and used balsamic vinegar instead. It came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was not good. I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't taste like anything at all. I wondered when it started with water if stock should be used instead. But, I assumed that all the veggies would flavor the soup. WRONG! I had to do some serious seasoning and added almost a cup of chicken broth powder before it tasted like anything other than water. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! The only modification I make is to add more sausage for my carnivore friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States