Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I have used this recipe twice- excellent. Read carefully, I have been to 23 countries. This is how I modified: No meat-to greasy. No garlic- not needed. No sugar- use aged vinegar, nice and sweet. I also added one cube chicken bullion and one can of chicken stock, no fat. Also HALF the tomato paste. FRESH dill- lots. Cooked onions in grape seed oil, high burn rate. If you follow what I suggest, you will achieve culinary greatness and Ukrainian authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
614 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Very good. I cook my beets with the skins on for about an hour in the water I will use for the soup. The skins slip right off after boiling and its easy to chop or slice them, besides it increases the nutritional value of the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
My family and I lived in Russia for 3 1/2 years, and I have looked for a borscht recipe that was the same as we had there. This one was perfect! I've never had borscht with meat in it, so I made it vegetarian. This was the real thing - especially with the sourcream, or "smeatana" on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I lived in Russia for 6 months and this is authentic! Don't overcook it or the rich magenta color will turn brick red. Delicious and so healthy. Even my three year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I tried out this recipe but added a few changes. First of all I prepared the sausage seperately and put it aside. For the veggie mix, I used a big bag of already prepared coleslaw mix since it has the cabbage and carrots already incorporated. I also used two cans of baby red beets. I prepared the vegetable mix and the onion and tomato paste mix separately and then mixed those two together. I then pureed the whole thing to give it a thicker and denser texture. I returned it to the pot and then added the sausage, salt and pepper to taste. I left out the sugar. It came out beautifully but I think the use of a whole can of diced tomatoes AND the tomato paste made this soup more tomato-y than red beet-y. In the future, I'll skip the tomato paste. Really good with crusty French bread and the dallop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this as an appetizer for Ukrainian Easter, it was really good. I wish it had a deeper beet flavor though. I added some red wine reduction in mine to give it a fuller flavor and to enhance the beets. I also made the soup a day in advance to let the flavors develop. I added some oregano to the recipe as well (I add oregano to everything) and didnt use as much tomatoes or tomato paste. I have seen a lot of borscht recipes that either involve beef or beef broth and I had always thought this was traditional (although i dont really think it is) so I used a little beef broth in replace of some of the water.. i wouldnt use too much though because it can take away from the beets. I plated the borscht in bowls that were set on top of leaves from the beets (which are edible and have a little purple coloring to them so they looked great with the soup). Overall, I would use this recipe again with a few adjustments. ...maybe more beets and less cabbage considering the cabbage doesnt add as much to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I did like this borscht a lot and found it to be very authentic, but it was a little too sweet for me with the amount of sugar called for... I should have paid more attention to the "to taste" part and added it 1/4 tsp. at a time. I also (as a few other reviewers have mentioned) served it with dill instead of parsley. The Borscht I recipe on this site is also very good, but this one seems more true to the ones I have had in Russia or Ukraine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Very good soup. I served it with a homemade crusty bread. I had never tried a Borscht before, so I didn't know what to expect. The tomato base reminds me of a old fashion vegetable soup ... just different vegetables. I didn't have fresh beets on hand so I used a pint jar of canned (that I had put up earlier this summer). I just drained the liquid and added them after the cabbage so they would not cook down to a mush. I also did not have fresh garlic so I substituted garlic power. I have no doubt that fresh garlic would taste better, but sometimes you just have to work with what you have on hand. The instructions call for a "large pot". You should use at least a 6 quart stock pot. I started out with a 4 quart and had to transfer to a larger one. I will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yanceyville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I must say that I was skeptical, but I absolutely LOVED it! We like our veggies in chunks (it's hard to shred beets without turning the counter pink!), so we diced/chopped all the vegetables, and it came out great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This dish is simple enough to make (my first soup attempt ever, and it went off without a hitch), and has an awesome old world, authentic kind of taste to it. The sausage addition makes for a hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth Amboy, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Matawan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States