Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The best Borscht ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I'd never tasted borscht before making this. I don't know if it's authentic or not, but it is absolutely delicious! I wish I'd discovered this recipe years ago. I didn't have bulk sausage on hand, so I diced Polish sausage, browned it slightly, and then followed the recipe exactly. I froze the leftovers and they're equally good. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Patti. I'll be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I love this dish.. I like my food spicy so I add 2 jalapeños cut in half for flavor and cilantro finely chopped.. Then I love to add fresh lemon juice just as its ready to be served.. Yumm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We pulled out the winter garden today so beets, cabbage and carrots went from the garden into the pot. It is the kind of thick soup we love. BUT, as organized as I am, the prep took 35 minutes. I made it exactly as instructed but left out the sugar and garlic. the garlic would be lost, so don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I have spent many weeks in Ukraine this year. I used this recipe during the Holidays this year and found to be as close the what I had eaten in Ukraine. If you use fresh veggies then Prep time is not 15 minutes, about 30 minutes. I want to experiment with the meat. next time I want to use pork from the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Delicious and such a great way to use that cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torval Thronberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I love this stuff. The only problem is your kitchen will be BRIGHT PINK! Wear an apron and cover surfaces you don't want stained. I have found that in particular, beet juice stains linoleum very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
It was good, no surprises – actually seemd a bit on the bland side to us. I grated the beets as called for. I was out of carrots so subbed diced sweet potato. Dairy allergy so left out sour cream. All in all a good comforting soup, to go to five stars it would need another herb or two. I agree with a few other comments, if you grate/shred the beets you shouldn’t cook them so long – they lose their color and that’s part of the fun of borscht – having magenta colored food! Of course, if you don’t put them in first the broth probably doesn’t get as much beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I never added the sugar and didn't salt or pepper it, and I halved the recipe. I decided to just dump in the whole can of tomato, it didn't seem to matter. It was AMAZING. Simply amazing stuff. I read a lot of recipes and decided to give this a try, since this is my first time making borscht. It was amazing, I'm posting it to FB and bringing in the extra to work to share. FYI, I don't know where they got the idea that all of this could be done in an hour. It takes me almost 2 hours from start to finish (not including the dishes and mess it makes). Still worth every moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States